New eBooks in SWSLHD Libraries

Learn proven strategies to prepare for nursing school tests and the NCLEX® exam! 2024-2025 Saunders Clinical Judgment and Test-Taking Strategies: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX® Exam, 8th Edition provides tools to help you overcome test anxiety, develop strong study skills, and improve test scores. You'll gain insight into key nursing areas such as clinical judgment, prioritization, leading and managing, communication, and pharmacology. Student-to-Student Tips highlight real-life strategies that have helped other students successfully complete nursing school and pass the NCLEX® exam. Focus on test-taking strategies helps you develop essential clinical judgment skills and prepares you to find the correct answer to all types of test questions. Categorization of questions by beginning, intermediate, or advanced level makes this book a useful tool throughout your nursing program.

A comprehensive discussion of haematological morphology The book functions well as both a straightforward and practical bench manual and as a reference source for practicing hematologists. It has been completely updated to incorporate newly published information and 400 high-quality photographs to aid in blood cell identification. The text is comprehensive and fully supported by references. A thorough introduction to blood sampling and blood film preparation and examination, as well as performance of blood counts Blood Cells: A Practical Guide will also earn a place in the libraries of biomedical scientists working in laboratory settings. Many laboratories worldwide regard it as an essential bench book.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare offers a range of tools and topics that support and foster clinically focused nurses and other healthcare professionals to develop their leadership skills and strategies. The textbook is helpfully divided into three parts: information on the attributes of clinical leaders, the tools healthcare students and staff can use to develop their leadership potential, and clinical leadership issues. It also outlines a number of principles, frameworks, and topics that support nurses and healthcare professionals to develop and deliver effective clinical care as clinical leaders. Lastly, each chapter has a range of reflective questions and self-assessments to help consolidate learning.

This atlas describes and illustrates in detail the surgical procedures employed in laparoscopic anatomical liver resection, according to tumor location. The surgical approach and techniques are explained for each type of laparoscopic liver resection based on the involved anatomical segment, section, and hemi-liver. Attention is also drawn to potential complications and the means of preventing and managing them. Beyond anatomical liver resection, guidance is provided on non-anatomical resections that do not pay regard to segmental, sectional, or lobar anatomy. The coverage is completed by the inclusion of useful information on instruments and energy devices as well as the basic skills required for laparoscopic liver resection.

Developed by one of the most authoritative associations in neonatal intensive nursing care, AWHONN, this renowned guide provides in-depth coverage of the most common neonatal disorders and their management - focusing on the latest evidence-based practice for preterm infants, medications, and antepartum-intrapartum complications. Additionally, the concise outline format makes information easy to find as it highlights the essentials of each condition including the definition, etiology, pathophysiology, signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, treatments, and outcomes. With timely content that sets the standard for neonatal nursing practice, this trusted reference is an excellent resource for practicing nurses working in any NICU worldwide.

Edited and written by top experts and pioneers in dialysis, Handbook of Dialysis Therapy, 6th Edition, provides the entire dialysis team with a comprehensive overview of this growing field. It covers traditional and advanced procedures, what pitfalls to expect and how to overcome them, and how best to treat various patient populations--all with a practical approach that can be directly applied to patient care. This must-have resource has been updated with the latest cutting-edge technology, dialysis techniques, and complications related to various diseases for both pediatric and adult patients.

Handbook of palliative care is a comprehensive resource utilising up-to-date evidence and guidelines to support non-specialists in palliative care in both hospital and community settings Building on the success of previous editions, this new edition of the award winning handbook has a practical focus and provides the user with an approach to clinical challenges while also providing enough information to explain why this approach is suggested. The 4th edition of Handbook of Palliative Care supports non-specialists in palliative care in both hospital and community settings and focuses on holistic care and therapeutic interventions. With several new chapters and content significantly updated to reflect new evidence and practice, the 4th edition also presents up-to-date evidence, guidance in a succinct format and utilises flow charts and figures to enhance the accessibility of information.

This book describes the evolution of treatment in oncology through the lens of approximately 250 landmark clinical trials. The well-designed clinical trial is essential to the practice of medicine. There is no field that has embraced or been transformed more by the clinical trial than oncology.  Each primary cancer site has a remarkable story that can be told through clinical trials.  For example, patients who presented decades ago with soft tissue sarcoma of the extremities would invariably undergo limb amputation.  The landmark National Cancer Institute study by Rosenberg et al. randomized patients to limb sparing surgery followed by adjuvant radiation therapy compared with limb amputation.  This study helped change the standard of care by allowing most patients to retain their functioning limbs with an improvement in quality of life and no compromise in overall survival.  Such major clinical trials for common malignancies including breast, prostate, lung, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, and gynecologic cancers are discussed.  Because oncology is multidisciplinary, this book should be of interest for radiation oncologists, surgeons, medical oncologists, and other physicians interested in learning more about the landmark trials that have shaped oncology.

The Little Black Book of Business Writing is for everyone who writes for business purposes, in the commercial world, the private sector, the trades and the professions. Mark Tredinnick and Geoff Whyte help readers write the kinds of documents that confront them most days at work - letters, emails, web writing, reports, minutes, tenders, ministerials, board papers, media releases, newsletters, marketing documents, policy proposals, business cards, newsletters, position descriptions, job ads, notes to financial statements, instruction and safety manuals, speeches, presentations and various kinds of technical papers. The Little Black Book of Business Writing helps people write at work with economy, impact and efficiency.

This handbook has been designed to provide pragmatic, evidence-based recommendations for use in general practice, and adopts the most recent recommendations from organisations including Diabetes Canada, the American Diabetes Association (ADA) and other relevant sources. The table of recommendations include the reference or source and the grade of each recommendation. In cases where graded recommendations are not available or current, the expert advisory group has considered the results of systematic reviews and primary research studies to formulate the overall recommendation. A ‘consensus-based recommendation’ denotes a recommendation that was formulated in the absence of high-quality evidence; the RACGP Diabetes Handbook expert advisory group reached a consensus expert opinion to include the point in the resource.

Mayo Clinic Guide to Pain Relief explains how pain develops, how it can become chronic and what you can do to free yourself from chronic pain's effects. This third edition of Mayo Clinic Guide to Pain Relief includes the latest information on pain science and chronic pain management, including: The brain's role in the experience of pain How behaviors and beliefs affect pain How to shift the focus away from pain and toward a focus on living well The benefits and risks of medications, injections and other medical treatments The role of pain specialists, pain clinics and pain rehabilitation programs

Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call in the hospital. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Provides updated content and references, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Includes the latest information on headache, demyelinating diseases, infections of the central nervous system, dementia, and more. Highlights critical information, reducing the likelihood of error. Provides an updated On Call Formulary covering the most common neurologic medications. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Paediatric Handbook is a trusted guide to managing common and serious childhood illnesses and disorders. This bestselling resource provides students and practitioners across medical, nursing, and allied health fields with authoritative and up-to-date information on a comprehensive range of paediatric topics, enabling readers to make the appropriate decisions at the point of care.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) has developed evidence- and consensus-based recommendations for the use of PROMs for low back pain. These recommendations are intended to maximise the clinical usefulness of PROMs and minimise survey fatigue. There are recommended PROMs for measuring the outcomes important to people with low back pain receiving either non-surgical or surgical interventions. Patients with disability, low literacy skills or cognitive impairment, or those from diverse linguistic and cultural backgrounds may experience barriers with completing PROMs. The Commission aims to provide recommendations that are accessible. This includes identifying PROMs that have validated translations or that have been validated in specific population groups, and providing advice for using PROMs in specific groups.

Photophysics and Nanophysics in Therapeutics explores the latest advances and applications of phototherapy and nanotherapy, covering the application of light, radiation, and nanotechnology in therapeutics, along with the fundamental principles of physics in these areas. Consisting of two parts, the book first features a range of chapters covering phototherapeutics, from the fundamentals of photodynamic therapy (PDT) to applications such as cancer treatment and advances in radiotherapy, applied physics in cancer radiotherapy treatment, and the role of carbon ion beam therapy. Other sections cover nanotherapeutics, potential applications and challenges, and nanotherapy for drug delivery to the brain.

Designed to complement the highly popular Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, this companion title provides high quality pharmacology practice questions for exam revision. Focusing specifically on pharmacological principles and agents, it is tailored for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FRCA), the European Diploma in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care (EDAIC), the Fellowship of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FFICM), andthe European Diploma in Intensive Care Medicine (EDIC) examinations. Over 230 True/False MCQs and Single Best Answers help readers to test and consolidate knowledge learnt from Drugs in.Questions are arranged into 17 subject-themed chapters to focus revision. Structured questions and answers are accompanied by detailed explanations, cross-references to Drugs in where relevant, and further reading. Written by consultants and experienced trainees, SBAs and MCQs for Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care offers a true test of the reader's pharmacology knowledge, and is an essential purchase for anyone preparing for their anaesthetic andintensive care examinations.

Venous Ulcers, 2nd Edition, provides a comprehensive synthesis of evidence-based recommendations and the highest level of expertise from a leading group of doctors, which is a fundamental constituent for the appropriate management of nonhealing venous wounds in everyday practice. This book offers a fertile environment for a complete understanding of genetics and molecular and biochemical mechanisms that lead to the development and progression of venous ulcers, which is essential for elucidating the underlying pathophysiology and can be utilized for developing novel therapies and accessing previously inaccessible areas of research. Socioeconomic impact, impact on health-related quality of life, the clinical course of the disease, and diagnostic algorithms are elaborated in detail.