Paediatrics LibGuide

The prescribing of medication for ADHD has been a hot topic of discussion in Australia in recent years, with data revealing significant differences in ADHD prescribing across the country, raising questions about medication choice, dosages, and recipient criteria. Developed by AADPA, the ADHD Prescribing Guide For Australian Healthcare Professionals aims to assist qualified healthcare professionals in navigating the world of ADHD medication.

This text reinforces the course developed by the Advanced Life Support Group and utilises their tried and tested method of treating children in the event of a life-threatening illness or injury. Adapted specifically for Australia and New Zealand, this edition is a trusted resource used by qualified medical professionals dealing with emergencies involving paediatric patients. With a clear layout and straightforward style, this text can be used as a functional tool both for training and in the event of an emergency. In this seventh edition you will find descriptions of both common and uncommon paediatric emergencies which may be encountered in clinical practice, along with their causes, and how to best treat them during the first hours after presentation.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

After more than a decade of stability or improvement, the mental health of adolescents plunged in the early 2010s, with rates of depression, anxiety, self-harm, and suicide rising sharply. He presents more than a dozen mechanisms by which this rewiring of childhood has interfered with children's social and neurological development, covering everything from sleep deprivation to attention fragmentation, addiction, loneliness, social contagion, social comparison, and perfectionism. He explains why social media damages girls more than boys and why boys have been withdrawing from the real world into the virtual world, with disastrous consequences.

This guideline and related documentation can also be found online. This clinical practice guideline is for the identification, diagnosis, and treatment of people with ADHD.It outlines a roadmap for ADHD clinical practice, research and policy, now and in the future, with a focus on everyday functioning and quality of life for people who are living with ADHD and those who support them.

Clinical Guide to Paediatrics enables rapid reference to the common paediatric conditions, symptoms, and practical concerns seen in day-to-day practice. Focused on making differential diagnoses in acute settings, this comprehensive resource offers step-by-step guidance on clinical decision-making, investigations, and interventions. Junior doctors and medical students are provided with a clear and up-to-date evidence base supported by numerous diagnostic algorithms, diagrams, tables and bullet points throughout. Organised into systems-based sections, the guide covers paediatric history taking, examination techniques, pharmacology, safeguarding, and a range of different diagnoses for presenting complaints in cardiology, infection and immunology, neurology, gastroenterology, accidents, poisoning, and more. Succinct chapters are logically structured to allow easy access to important concepts, key clinical details, and plans of investigation.

AWHONN's Core Curriculum for Maternal-Newborn Nursing, 6th Edition, the definitive resource for nurses taking certification examinations, provides the most up-to-date, accurate information available on today's maternal-newborn nursing practice. Its concise outline format covers concepts of reproduction, fetal development, normal pregnancy, intrapartum and postpartum periods, the normal newborn, complications in the mother and newborn, and ethical issues.

Explore the intricate world of pediatric nursing. With a focus on directing students toward a profound comprehension of critical concepts, this edition surpasses mere repetition of medical-surgical content by expanding upon the foundation of students' prior knowledge. Recognizing the unique intricacies of caring for children, this comprehensive text underscores simpler, fundamental concepts that pave the way toward mastering more complex problem-solving scenarios. Notable additions in the 5th edition include phonetic spelling of difficult-to-pronounce key terms, updated growth and development guidelines, expanded diversity and inclusion content, and COVID-related insights to ensure that students receive the most relevant and up-to-date information in the field of pediatric nursing.

Newborn babies are examined at around 6 to 72 hours after their birth to rule out major congenital abnormalities and reassure the parents that their baby is healthy. This practical text is a step-by-step guide for all practitioners who undertake this clinical examination. Examination of the Newborn encourages the reader to view each mother and baby as unique, taking into account their experiences preconceptually, antenatally and through childbirth.

Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 23rd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the most widely used and most recognized pediatric reference worldwide—an indispensable resource for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

The new fifth edition of Hoffnung’s Lifespan Development takes students on an engaging physical, cognitive, and social journey of the human lifespan. After comprehensive consultation and research, this edition has been refreshed with the latest research, data and discussions, such as the impacts of COVID-19, expanded and current presentation of gender identities and cross-cultural and Indigenous issues specific to Australia and New Zealand
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This new edition of a classic text is the go-to reference for anyone concerned with the developmental progress of pre-school children. It provides the knowledge required for understanding children's developmental progress with age and within each developmental domain. Including new sections on atypical development for each of the core domains of development and additional material on the development of attention and self-regulation, this fifth edition integrates findings from the latest research throughout. Fully aligned with current child development philosophies and practices, Mary Sheridan's From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress is designed to support the wider group of practitioners - including those from health professions, social work and early years - that are now required to take steps for promoting children's development as part of their assessment and management plans.

What makes this book great? Full of practical guidance drawn from the real life examples of young women. Adapted specifically to resonate with Australian parents and children. Thoroughly researched and medically accurate content vetted by some of Perth's leading gynaecologists. Used by over 25,000 schools globally.

Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 22nd Edition, brings you fully up to date with everything from rapidly changing diagnostic and treatment protocols to new technologies to the wide range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems faced by children today. Features a user-friendly format with short chapters and subchapters that allow you to quickly find the information you need. Includes more than 60 new chapters on topics covering the impact of social factors on children's health, the impact of genetic discoveries on understanding diagnosing and treating childhood diseases, updating of current evidenced based diagnostic and therapeutic approaches to childhood diseases, and more.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Provides a solid foundation in the assessment and treatment of respiratory disorders in children. Clear, full-color coverage simplifies the concepts of respiratory care while emphasizing clinical application. Reflecting the changing face of this profession, this edition unpacks care strategies with coverage of the newest treatment algorithms, interventions, mechanical ventilation technologies, and more.

Both an ideal learning tool for students and a superb resource for patient education, the uniquely aesthetic and accurate artwork is accompanied by up-to-date text contributed primarily by physicians at the prestigious Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, all designed to work together to help you diagnose and care for children with common clinical conditions.

Paediatric Handbook is a trusted guide to managing common and serious childhood illnesses and disorders. This bestselling resource provides students and practitioners across medical, nursing, and allied health fields with authoritative and up-to-date information on a comprehensive range of paediatric topics, enabling readers to make the appropriate decisions at the point of care.

Paediatric Nursing in Australia and New Zealand introduces nursing students to the care of infants, children, young people and their families in a range of clinical and community settings across Australasia. This third edition includes New Zealand content and an increased focus on families. New chapters cover health services available for Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Maori children, the transition to parenthood for new families, children's sleep patterns and behaviour, and paediatric health in school settings.

Paediatrics Lecture Notes covers the core aspects of caring for children in clinical practice, offering concise yet detailed information on examination, emergency care, nutrition, immunisation, infant and adolescent health, and more.   Designed for medical students and junior doctors alike, this compact and easy-to-use textbook guides readers through each essential aspect of paediatric care, from normal and abnormal childhood development, to cardiology, gastroenterology and metabolic disorders. Throughout the text, key points, practice questions, treatment guides, learning logs and self-assessment tests help prepare readers for paediatric rotations and clinical examinations. 
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Unique resource on medication administration to support students and nurses. This handy new guide offers concise and specific information for nurses on preparing and administering medications for children in Australia and New Zealand. Unlike other medication administration textbooks, Paediatrics and Medications provides comprehensive information, tips and evidence-based strategies directly related to paediatric patients. Focusing on the ‘how to’ of safe medication administration for paediatric patients, this resource also includes a focus on health literacy considerations, techniques in play and other unique elements specifically related to children and their caregivers. This book is perfect for students undertaking paediatric nursing units of study, and is also highly clinically relevant across broader nursing practice.

Paediatrics Lecture Notes covers the core aspects of caring for children in clinical practice, offering concise yet detailed information on examination, emergency care, nutrition, immunisation, infant and adolescent health, and more. Designed for medical students and junior doctors alike, this compact and easy-to-use textbook guides readers through each essential aspect of paediatric care, from normal and abnormal childhood development, to cardiology, gastroenterology and metabolic disorders.

Providing authoritative, everyday guidance in the diagnosis and management of children with congenital and acquired heart disease, Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners is the go-to reference of choice for pediatricians, family practitioners, NPs, and PAs-as well as medical students, residents, and fellows. The 7th Edition of this core text comprehensively covers every aspect of pediatric cardiology in an easy-to-read, practical manner for the non-specialist, bringing you completely up to date with all that's new in this fast-changing field. Covers everything from history and physical examination through preventative treatment and the management of special problems. Incorporates all of the latest concepts and most recent developments in pediatric cardiology.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Pediatric Physical Examination: An Illustrated Handbook, 4th edition teaches the unique range of skills that Nurse Practitioners and primary care providers need to assess children of all ages. Spiral-bound for quick reference in clinical settings, this photo-rich, step-by-step guide to physical examination prepares you to expertly examine children from birth through adolescence. Body system chapters begin with fetal development and take you through the key developmental stages of childhood. This edition features new sections with Telehealth Tips and Considerations for Special Populations in many chapters, as well as expanded coverage of maltreatment, mental health, and social disparities of health. Expert guidance for the pediatric physical exam employs the "quiet-to-active" approach, starting with the listening parts of the physical exam and moving on to the hands-on components, the physical assessment approach that yields the best results in the pediatric age group.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Pediatric Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of pediatrics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Rudolph's Pediatrics, 23rd edition, Self-Assessment & Board Review provides the focused practice you need to ace your certification exam. This companion to the landmark pediatrics text has been fully revised to match the current content outline of the American Board of Pediatrics for the pediatrics board certification and recertification exams. More than 1,500 test questions focus on topics including epidemiology, pathophysiology, presenting symptoms, clinical decision-making, therapeutics, and prognosis of different pediatric disorders. Complete explanations are provided for the answers to each question.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The most comprehensive and practical guide available for caregivers of children who have seizures and epilepsy, now completely updated. For more than 30 years, parents, caregivers, and health care providers have trusted Seizures and Epilepsy in Children to provide comprehensive, science-based information and practical answers to the most common questions about these conditions. This new edition, completely revised and updated, offers guidance on: * diagnostic testing and the latest treatments * recommendations for the best devices, apps, and websites * driving, health insurance, and playing sports * navigating school and other environments * mental health issues and counseling * coping with disability * side effects from medications This new edition also features dedicated chapters on diet, complementary and alternative medicine, and rescue medicines.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This is an indispensable companion to the 'Sunflower book' - the highly acclaimed Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics (6th Edition). It is essential for those who wish to test or improve their learning, or for exam revision for undergraduate or early postgraduate speciality exams. It includes high quality questions, some including images or diagrams, on  important topics covering the paediatrics and child health curriculum. Explanations about both correct and incorrect answers are provided. The authors are highly experienced examiners and question writers, ensuring that the questions are similar to those encountered in exams or help explain difficult topics. Over 250 Single Best Answer questions Over 200 question stems for Extended Matching questions Explanations provided not only of the correct but also of incorrect answers Clinical photographs included to ask questions about clinical signs.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

"This leading text is essential reading for all those working in the paediatric emergency medicine setting who require concise, highly practical guidance that incorporates the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines. The Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine provides clear, concise and comprehensive information to support clinicians in what can be a challenging area to provide care. It not only covers diagnosis and management of all common presentations, but it also includes practical tips on communicating with both patients and their families. As a companion book to Cameron's Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine, this volume is specifically tailored to the educational needs of emergency medicine trainees, but is also expected to benefit others working in the emergency setting including paramedics and emergency nurse specialists." -- Publisher.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.