Paediatrics LibGuide

This book is unique in that it caters for undergraduate students through to postgraduate trainees in paediatrics or general practice, and the working GP or consultant. Clinical vignettes to highlight key learning points Over 90 case scenarios sprinkled throughout the book with clinical pearls, interpretation of investigations and pitfalls to avoid for each scenario List of key points to be obtained from a consultation to support doctors in the clinic All key procedures in neonatology and paediatrics are covered Problem-solving practice to test knowledge Section 4 hosts unique chapters not least safe practice, dealing with uncertainty, the avoidance of errors, ethical dilemmas, ECG and laboratory interpretation of results, neonatal and paediatric procedures and critical journal reading High-quality clinical pictures, cardiac pictures, ECGs and radiology images to support learning Content suitable for students, GPs and specialists
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This textbook provides an overview of child and adolescent mental health. The text covers all core aspects on the subject, from the importance of knowing why mental health in children is important, to how to assess, formulate and treat a variety of presentations seen in children and young people. Beginning with an overview of conditions and the background to emotional and behavioural problems, the book examines the different models and tools used to assess and treat children and young people and provides an outline of the practitioners working to help this population. Chapters consider the many diverse identities and groups within the population, addressing specific problems encountered in children, young people and their families from different cultural backgrounds.

Children with Disabilities is the gold-standard text on working effectively with children and families. Now this authoritative resource is in its eighth edition, enhanced with new chapters on critical topics, the latest evidence-based practices, updated instructor materials, and guidance on working with a wide range of professionals to address every aspect of child health and well-being. This new edition is an unparalleled compendium of information about developmental, clinical, family, education, and intervention issues, from birth through adolescence. Every chapter has been meticulously peer-reviewed, and content has been updated throughout to reflect important new research and developments in diverse fields. Comprehensive coverage of contemporary issues makes this volume an indispensable reference for practicing professionals, and the student-friendly features and multimedia instructor materials make it the ultimate textbook for courses on disability.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

Clinical Guide to Paediatrics enables rapid reference to the common paediatric conditions, symptoms, and practical concerns seen in day-to-day practice. Focused on making differential diagnoses in acute settings, this comprehensive resource offers step-by-step guidance on clinical decision-making, investigations, and interventions. Junior doctors and medical students are provided with a clear and up-to-date evidence base supported by numerous diagnostic algorithms, diagrams, tables and bullet points throughout. Organised into systems-based sections, the guide covers paediatric history taking, examination techniques, pharmacology, safeguarding, and a range of different diagnoses for presenting complaints in cardiology, infection and immunology, neurology, gastroenterology, accidents, poisoning, and more. Succinct chapters are logically structured to allow easy access to important concepts, key clinical details, and plans of investigation.

Clinical Manual of Pediatric Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry offers a comprehensive guide for mental health clinicians, trainees, and students to pediatric consultation-liaison psychiatry (CLP), a specialized area of psychiatry whose practitioners have particular expertise in the diagnosis and management of psychiatric disorders in complex physically ill children and adolescents. Patients commonly fall into one of three descriptive categories: those with comorbid emotional and physical illnesses that complicate each other's management; those with distressing somatic symptoms plus abnormal thoughts, feelings, and behavior in response to these symptoms; and those with psychiatric symptoms that are a direct consequence of a physical illness and/or its treatment. The text, authored by two luminaries in pediatric psychiatry, thoroughly explores the challenges faced by these patients and pediatric practitioners and mental health professionals who together care for them, addressing, in a concrete and practical manner, the wide variety of issues encountered in the pediatric hospital. These concerns range from how to address treatment nonadherence in children to how to conduct a psychosocial assessment of a solid organ transplant recipient.

Updated to include an expanded chapter on telehealth and also two completely new chapters on pediatric consultation liaison psychiatry examine the history, clinical practice models, scope of interventions, and pharmacological considerations that are relevant to treatment of medically ill children and those seen in primary care. This book includes the depth and breadth of knowledge needed to treat children and adolescents effectively.

Imagine a world where young people don't feel held back by their bodies. Where we appreciate each other for who we are and what we do rather than what we look like. Body image, and the associated issues of weight, food and physical activity, are hot topics in our families. How did we get to this place of constant criticism about our own bodies, and how can we get out of it?

Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 23rd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the most widely used and most recognized pediatric reference worldwide—an indispensable resource for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

This sixth edition of the acclaimed and award-winning 'Sunflower book' comprehensively covers the undergraduate curriculum in paediatrics and child health. Topics are made accessible with numerous colour images, diagrams and case studies, and revision is facilitated by key points and summary boxes. Case studies to explain important or complex clinical problem Key learning points: the editors identify the most clinically relevant facts. Summary boxes to aid revision.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School.

The new fifth edition of Hoffnung’s Lifespan Development takes students on an engaging physical, cognitive, and social journey of the human lifespan. After comprehensive consultation and research, this edition has been refreshed with the latest research, data and discussions, such as the impacts of COVID-19, expanded and current presentation of gender identities and cross-cultural and Indigenous issues specific to Australia and New Zealand
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This new edition of a classic text is the go-to reference for anyone concerned with the developmental progress of pre-school children. It provides the knowledge required for understanding children's developmental progress with age and within each developmental domain. Including new sections on atypical development for each of the core domains of development and additional material on the development of attention and self-regulation, this fifth edition integrates findings from the latest research throughout. Fully aligned with current child development philosophies and practices, Mary Sheridan's From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress is designed to support the wider group of practitioners - including those from health professions, social work and early years - that are now required to take steps for promoting children's development as part of their assessment and management plans.

Concise, readable, and up to date, this 9th Edition, provides the must-know information you need in pediatrics. Covers normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders. Contains new coverage of COVID-19, Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C), and Vaping-Induced Lung Injury.

Provides a solid foundation in the assessment and treatment of respiratory disorders in children. Clear, full-color coverage simplifies the concepts of respiratory care while emphasizing clinical application. Reflecting the changing face of this profession, this edition unpacks care strategies with coverage of the newest treatment algorithms, interventions, mechanical ventilation technologies, and more.

Both an ideal learning tool for students and a superb resource for patient education, the uniquely aesthetic and accurate artwork is accompanied by up-to-date text contributed primarily by physicians at the prestigious Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, all designed to work together to help you diagnose and care for children with common clinical conditions.

Paediatric Handbook is a trusted guide to managing common and serious childhood illnesses and disorders. This bestselling resource provides students and practitioners across medical, nursing, and allied health fields with authoritative and up-to-date information on a comprehensive range of paediatric topics, enabling readers to make the appropriate decisions at the point of care.

Paediatrics Lecture Notes covers the core aspects of caring for children in clinical practice, offering concise yet detailed information on examination, emergency care, nutrition, immunisation, infant and adolescent health, and more.   Designed for medical students and junior doctors alike, this compact and easy-to-use textbook guides readers through each essential aspect of paediatric care, from normal and abnormal childhood development, to cardiology, gastroenterology and metabolic disorders. Throughout the text, key points, practice questions, treatment guides, learning logs and self-assessment tests help prepare readers for paediatric rotations and clinical examinations. 
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Providing authoritative, everyday guidance in the diagnosis and management of children with congenital and acquired heart disease, Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners is the go-to reference of choice for pediatricians, family practitioners, NPs, and PAs-as well as medical students, residents, and fellows. The 7th Edition of this core text comprehensively covers every aspect of pediatric cardiology in an easy-to-read, practical manner for the non-specialist, bringing you completely up to date with all that's new in this fast-changing field. Covers everything from history and physical examination through preventative treatment and the management of special problems. Incorporates all of the latest concepts and most recent developments in pediatric cardiology.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

With complete, concise coverage of prevention, indications, diagnosis, and treatment, Pediatric Allergy, provides current, clinically-focused content in the rapidly changing field of allergies and immune-mediated diseases in children. This highly regarded reference fully covers immunology and origins of allergy, growth and development, pregnancy, infancy, and early, middle, and late childhood-all with a new, practical, clinical focus.

Using a practical, case-based presentation, Pediatric Diagnostic Medicine helps you develop diagnostic skills, gain further knowledge through interesting cases, and improve critical thinking to reach a correct diagnosis. This unique case collection is an invaluable resource for pediatricians, residents, hospitalists, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and anyone who provides care to children. Uses case-based teaching to develop higher-level medical thinking, based on James P. Keating's concept of pediatric diagnostic medicine. Teaches how to think about a patient's symptoms, dissect the issues, think backwards, and arrive at the correct diagnosis. Presents notable clinical cases starting with the presenting symptoms and then discussing vital signs, patient and family history, lab results, consults, differential diagnoses, and the ultimate diagnosis, finishing each case with teaching points. Includes additional relevant information on each case, such as why one diagnosis was chosen over another, or why certain tests were not run.
Donated by UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Pediatrics: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review is the perfect way for students to assess their knowledge of pediatrics for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. It includes 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. Readers will find vignette-style questions and updates on the latest treatments and therapies for infants, children and adolescents. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

Pediatric Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of pediatrics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This vibrant fully illustrated children's storybook is written for children aged 5-9, and is an accessible, fun way to talk about anger, with useful tips about how to 'tame the red beast' and guidance for parents on how anger affects children with Asperger's Syndrome.

Presented in full color, the Twenty-Third Edition provides an up-to-date, in-depth survey of pediatric medicine unmatched by any other text. With its algorithmic approach to pediatric systems, the book facilitates the diagnosis and treatment of both common and uncommon pediatric illnesses; and it reflects new technologies and advances in molecular medicine that continue to evolve with current thinking about normal childhood development and pediatric disease processes.

The most comprehensive and practical guide available for caregivers of children who have seizures and epilepsy, now completely updated. For more than 30 years, parents, caregivers, and health care providers have trusted Seizures and Epilepsy in Children to provide comprehensive, science-based information and practical answers to the most common questions about these conditions. This new edition, completely revised and updated, offers guidance on: * diagnostic testing and the latest treatments * recommendations for the best devices, apps, and websites * driving, health insurance, and playing sports * navigating school and other environments * mental health issues and counseling * coping with disability * side effects from medications This new edition also features dedicated chapters on diet, complementary and alternative medicine, and rescue medicines.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

This is an indispensable companion to the 'Sunflower book' - the highly acclaimed Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics (6th Edition). It is essential for those who wish to test or improve their learning, or for exam revision for undergraduate or early postgraduate speciality exams. It includes high quality questions, some including images or diagrams, on  important topics covering the paediatrics and child health curriculum. Explanations about both correct and incorrect answers are provided. The authors are highly experienced examiners and question writers, ensuring that the questions are similar to those encountered in exams or help explain difficult topics. Over 250 Single Best Answer questions Over 200 question stems for Extended Matching questions Explanations provided not only of the correct but also of incorrect answers Clinical photographs included to ask questions about clinical signs.
Donation from Western Sydney University Macarthur Clinical School 2023.

"This leading text is essential reading for all those working in the paediatric emergency medicine setting who require concise, highly practical guidance that incorporates the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines. The Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine provides clear, concise and comprehensive information to support clinicians in what can be a challenging area to provide care. It not only covers diagnosis and management of all common presentations, but it also includes practical tips on communicating with both patients and their families. As a companion book to Cameron's Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine, this volume is specifically tailored to the educational needs of emergency medicine trainees, but is also expected to benefit others working in the emergency setting including paramedics and emergency nurse specialists." -- Publisher.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

The new edition of this best-selling title from the popular 100 cases series explores common paediatric scenarios that will be encountered by the medical student and junior doctor during practical training on the ward, in the emergency department, in outpatient clinics and in the community, and which are likely to feature in qualifying examinations. The book covers a comprehensive range of presentations from cough to constipation, organized by sub-specialty area for ease of reference. Comprehensive answers highlight key take home points from each case and provide practical advice on how to deal with the challenges that occur when practising paediatric medicine at all levels.

Advanced Paediatric Life Support is the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care, written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group.  This edition has been adapted specifically for use in Australia and New Zealand, with the latest procedures, medications and clinical best practice to match the guidelines of the Australia and New Zealand Resuscitation Councils. Using their structured approach, a tried and tested practical method of treating children during the crucial first few hours of a life threatening illness or injury, Advanced Paediatric Life Support is used by doctors, nurses and allied health professionals dealing with emergencies in children. Its clear layout and straightforward style make it a highly practical tool both for training and in the event of an emergency.

This book is a top secret guide to all of the hidden social rules in life that often seem strange and confusing to young people with Asperger syndrome. The Asperkid's (Secret) Book of Social Rules offers witty and wise insights into baffling social codes such as making and keeping friends, blending in versus standing out from the crowd, and common conversation pitfalls.

Examining children presents unique challenges for trainees and new doctors in paediatrics. Paediatric patients vary greatly in age and development, often find it difficult to describe their symptoms, and can behave unpredictably in clinical settings. Clinical Examination Skills in Paediatrics helps MRCPCH candidates and other practitioners learn effective history taking and fundamental examination techniques. Clear and concise chapters-with contributions from a team of paediatric specialists-demonstrate the clinical examination and questioning techniques used in daily practice. Emphasis on the intellectual processes involved in decision making assists both trainees preparing for a formal examination as well as new clinicians faced with a difficult diagnostic problem. Topics include cardiovascular and respiratory examination, examining a child with a neuromuscular disorder, musculoskeletal examination, and taking history from a child with diabetes and a rheumatological condition.

This practical guide to child development offers a succinct study of Childhood Development Paediatrics, with practical applications for helping the child and family through all areas of the developmental process. It combines physical and psychological problems in the development of children, which might be already present at birth or apparent later in life. The book covers diverse topics like developmental delay, learning difficulties, attention deficit disorders, autism, Asperger syndrome, behaviour difficulties, language disorders, emotional difficulties, neurological impairments that affect development (examples being cerebral palsy and brain injury) and motor coordination problems. In addition there is a chapter on legal issues, which is helpful for doctors with no training in law. The book also offers online case scenarios on autism, ADHD, school refusal and truancy, cerebral palsy and child abuse and neglect.

The all-in-one resource for maternal-newborn and pediatric nursing skills Designed for both the nursing student and the practitioner, Clinical Skills Manual for Maternity and Pediatric Nursing can serve as both a text companion and an essential reference for step-by-step procedures in clinical settings. Showcasing more than 150 skills commonly performed on childbearing women, newborns, and children, this portable reference guides the reader through protective methods, pain assessment and management, administration of medicine and irrigation, physical assessment, and other information crucial to nurses using full-color photographs and rationales. Throughout the manual, boxes and tables highlight important safety issues, growth and development considerations, teaching for families, and clinical tips. Appendices provide information on growth grids and calculation of body surface area for medication administration.

Examination of the Newborn is essential reading for students and practitioners involved in neonatal examinations. New and expanded topics include history taking and the examination of the newborn, midwifery professional issues, the use of pulse oximetry, and the importance of observing maternal and infant attachment during examination. Standards of clinical practice Includes contributions from a multidisciplinary team of specialists, covering cardiovascular and respiratory assessment; examinations of skin, head, neck and eyes; chromosomal and genetic problems; newborn behavioural aspects, and more.

Examination Paediatrics is an essential guide for medical trainees undertaking paediatric clinical examinations.  Aligned with current practice and examination format, this new edition provides guidance on history taking, examination procedure, relevant investigations, and management for the majority of chronic paediatric clinical problems encountered in paediatric hospital practice and community paediatric practice. Extended cardiology focus with over 50 colour images Catchy mnemonics to aid recall 5 new long cases, including hypopituitarism, neurofibromatosis type 1 and Rett syndrome 8 new short cases, including lymphadenopathy, ataxia and nystagmus Tips on body language, attitude and the motivation needed to pass your clinical exams

Welcome to the 21st Edition of Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics - the reference of choice among pediatricians, pediatric residents, and others involved in the care of young patients. This fully revised edition continues to provide the breadth and depth of knowledge you expect from Nelson, while also keeping you up to date with new advances in the science and art of pediatric practice. Authoritative and reader-friendly, it delivers the information you need in a concise, easy-to-use format for everyday reference and study. From rapidly changing diagnostic and treatment protocols to new technologies to the wide range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems faced by children today, this comprehensive 2-volume reference keeps you on the cutting edge of the very best in pediatric care. Includes more than 70 new chapters, including Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS), Rare and Undiagnosed Diseases, Approach to Mitochondrial Disorders, Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems, Zika, update on Ebola, Epigenetics, Autoimmune Encephalitis, Global Health, Racism, Media Violence, Strategies for Health Behavior Change, Positive Parenting, and many more.

In paediatrics, clinicians and parents sometimes disagree about the appropriate medical treatment for a child. Parents can prefer an option that differs from the clinician's recommendation. When should the parents' decision about their child's medical treatment be overridden?This book explores ethical decision-making when clinicians and parents disagree about medical treatment for a child. It develops and explores a concept called the zone of parental discretion: an ethical tool that aims to balance children's wellbeing and parents' rights to make medical decisions for their children. Written by experienced clinical ethicists and paediatric clinicians, this book offers ethical analysis and practical guidance based on real-life clinical cases. It aims to assist doctors, nurses, allied health professionals and clinical ethics staff to deal with these ethically challenging situations.The book is divided into five parts: 1. An ethical tool: the zone of parental discretion 2. Roles of doctors and parents in decision-making 3. Clinicians encountering parental refusals 4. Clinicians encountering parental requests for treatment 5. Clinicians encountering parental requests for interventions on healthy childrenFor more information visit: