Paediatrics LibGuide

The AAP Textbook of Pediatric Care was created by a distinguished editorial team led by Thomas K. McInerny, MD, FAAP. Featuring contributions from experienced clinicians worldwide, this textbook addresses clinical issues faced by physicians who care for children: screening, diagnosis, treatment, and management for both common and uncommon diseases. Priorities for the 21st century, including the practice of evidence-based medicine, electronic health records, and continuous quality improvement, are also addressed. There is fully integrated coverage of mental health topics, in keeping with the AAP mission, and enhanced discussion of the family-centered medical home, including important topics such as health literacy.

This update includes a number of new monographs and other changes. Some that may be of interest include: new monographs for bictegravir with emtricitabine and tenofovir alafenamide, elexacaftor with tezacaftor and ivacaftor, moxifloxacin, ustekinumab; a monograph for combined oral contraceptives has been added to facilitate online linking through to AMH for comprehensive information about contraception; the IV dose of salbutamol for life-threatening asthma has been amended; despite established use for many years, the evidence base behind the dose in children is sparse and practice varies (see Arch Dis Child 2014;99(9):873–7 for a good discussion of the issues)

Applied Mindfulness: Approaches in Mental Health for Children and Adolescents starts from the premise that mental health clinicians must have their own mindfulness practice before teaching the tenets and techniques of mindfulness to others, including young people. To that end, the book offers readers clear instructions on how to first practice mindfulness in their own lives and then extend their personal practice outward to others. Once this knowledge is internalized, the clinician can focus on mindfulness in terms of its application to specific clinical diagnoses, such as anxiety and depression, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, and substance abuse. Because many mental health professionals work in multiple settings, such as in schools, in clinics, and online, the contributors, representing a wide range of creative and authoritative voices, explain how to skillfully tailor mindfulness interventions for effective application across diverse contexts.

A concise, yet comprehensive source of current information on the medical problems of children --- from birth through adolescence  A Doody's Core Title for 2019!  * A practical, up-to-date well-referenced guide to the diagnosis and treatment of the most commonly seen medical conditions in children * Excellent coverage of The Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics (COMSEP) curriculum used in pediatric clerkship * 46 chapters cover a wide range of topics, including neonatal medicine, child development and behavior, emergency and critical care medicine, and diagnosis and treatment of specific disorders according to major problems, etiologies, and organ systems * A wealth of tables and figures provide quick access to important information, such as acute and critical care procedures in the delivery room, the office, the emergency room, and the critical care unit; anti-infective agents, drug dosages, immunization schedules, differential diagnoses, and developmental disorders * Includes detailed descriptions of diseases as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures * Complete with handy guide to normal laboratory values 

This handbook offers a comprehensive review of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) for working in integrated pediatric behavioral health care settings. It provides research findings, explanations of theoretical concepts and principles, and descriptions of therapeutic procedures as well as case studies from across broad conceptual areas. Chapters discuss the value of integrated care, diversity issues, ethical considerations, and the necessary adaptations. In addition, chapters address specific types of pediatric conditions and patients, such as the implementation of CBT with patients with gastrointestinal complaints, enuresis, encopresis, cancer, headaches, epilepsy, sleep problems, diabetes, and asthma.

This acclaimed work describes a range of counseling and therapy approaches for children who have experienced loss. Practitioners and students are given practical strategies for helping preschoolers through adolescents cope with different forms of bereavement, including death in the family, school, and community. Grounded in research on child therapy, bereavement, trauma, and child development, the volume includes rich case presentations and clearly explains the principles that guide interventions. Eleven reproducible assessment tools and handouts can also be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size.

Nelson's Neonatal Antimicrobial Therapy is your go-to reference for treating neonates with infectious diseases. This handy reference provides evidence-based recommendations from leading experts in antimicrobial therapy for the treatment of infectious diseases in neonates. Get expert advice on: Dosing for neonates, including low-birth-weight newborns Drug selection for bacterial, fungal, viral and parasitic pathogens Drug Stewardship And more

The revised and updated second edition covers practical approaches to caring for healthy and high-risk infants. The book covers maternal and fetal health, care of the newborn after delivery, breastfeeding, follow-up care, common congenital anomalies, the newborn with a heart murmur or cyanosis, neurologic findings, primary care issues relating to infants requiring intensive care, and health and developmental outcomes. More than 40 chapters cover step-by-step recommendations on what to do, when to admit, and when to refer. Recommendations and lists detailed references within each chapter. New in the second edition: 8 new chapters added including: Prenatal Diagnosis Fetal Interventions Optimizing Nutrition for the Preterm, Very Low-Birth-Weight Infant After Discharge From Neonatal Intensive Care Newborn Immunizations and Immune Prophylaxis Balancing Safe Sleep and Other Newborn Recommendations Vascular Anomalies Endocrine Disorders Presenting in the Newborn Period Shared Decision Making Around Home Technologies

This all-new clinical resource provides valuable point-of-care decision support tools based on AAP policy for nutrition of newborns and infants.   A variety of the most important and practical tables, guidelines, and algorithms in the new eighth edition of the AAP policy manual Pediatric Nutrition is collected here for easy reference in an enlarged, expanded, colorized format.   The chart is presented in a spiral-bound "calendar" format, organized by handy, color-coded tabs.   Tools include   Breastfeeding Support Formula Feeding Parenteral Nutrition Nutrition (Enteral) in Special Circumstances Complementary Feeding Food-Drug Interactions Vitamin and Mineral Deficiency Daily Reference Intakes and Upper Limits And more...

Taking a child-centred approach to the subject, the book provides comprehensive coverage of areas such as neonatology, surgery, genetics and congenital malformations, along with the treatment of childrenin the community, the psychological effects of illness on the child and family, child safeguarding, and ethical and legal issues, all in a user-friendly and succinct style. All chapters have been updated for this new edition, which now includes a new chapter comprehensively covering allergies, with new dedicated chapters on audiology, ophthalmology, and rheumatology. Child safeguarding has been thoroughly revised in line with latest guidance, with a new topic on manslaughter by gross negligence.

Paediatric Handbook is a trusted guide to managing common and serious childhood illnesses and disorders. This bestselling resource provides students and practitioners across medical, nursing, and allied health fields with authoritative and up-to-date information on a comprehensive range of paediatric topics, enabling readers to make the appropriate decisions at the point of care.

The new eighth edition of this bestselling AAP policy manual on pediatric nutrition has been significantly updated and includes many new contributing authors. This valuable reference covers how nutrients influence and direct growth and development, as well as immediate and long-term health, from birth through adolescence. This evidence-based manual reflects the current policies and practices recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics Committee on Nutrition. New in the eighth edition: New chapter on Pediatric Global Nutrition Other chapters have been completely reorganized, based on new information from publications in nutritional science and new evidence based guidelines recommending changes in practice. New policy statement on sugary drinks, and new clinical reports on food insecurity, fruit juice consumption, non-nutritive sweeteners, fish and shellfish consumption, and use of donor human milk for the preterm infant Updated growth charts for preterm infants after birth including BMI.

With contributions from the leading experts in the field, Pediatric Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery for Primary Care provides primary care pediatricians and other professionals who care for children comprehensive coverage of both common and rare congenital and acquired pediatric conditions.   More than 16 chapters offer guidance on when to treat and when to wait, on the timing of corrective surgeries in pediatric patients, and on and surgical strategies and complications. Includes more than 200 full-color photos and images.   Nonsurgical management and brief descriptions of how corrective procedures are performed are also discussed, which is helpful to primary care pediatricians in counseling patients and conducting long-term patient follow-up.   TOPICS INCLUDE Cleft lip and palate repair Burns and surgical repair Vascular anomalies Bite wounds Scars and scar management Hypertrophic scars and keloids Gynecomastia Cleft hand and surgical repair Facial palsy Breast anomalies And more

The revised and updated fourth edition of Practical Endocrinology and Diabetes in Children offers a practical, highly clinical and up-to-date handbook of paediatric endocrinology and diabetes. The book is written in clear terms and offers a user-friendly format that is designed to be concise, yet comprehensive.. The international panel of expert contributors explore the range of endocrine disorders in children including growth, thyroid, adrenal and problems related to puberty.

The fourth edition of this best-selling Red Book® image companion aids in the diagnosis and treatment of more than 160 of the most commonly seen pediatric infectious diseases. This edition features Zika virus, chikungunya, serious bacterial infections caused by Enterobacteriaceae, Moraxella catarrhalis, human parechovirus, rhinovirus, staphylococcal food poisoning, Staphylococcus aureus, coagulase-negative staphylococcal infections, Ureaplasma urealyticum, and Ureaplasma parvum.   Streamline disease recognition and clinical decision-making with hundreds of finely detailed color images, combined with updated step-by-step guidelines.   Concise text descriptions walk the reader through the diagnosis, evaluation, and management essentials for each condition. Clinical manifestations Epidemiology Diagnostic tests Etiology Incubation period Treatment Contents include: Adenovirus Infections Bacteroides and Prevotella Infections Bartonella henselae (Cat-Scratch Disease) Candidiasis Cystosporiasis (formerly Isosporiasis) Diphtheria Epstein-Barr Virus Infections (Infectious Mononucleosis) Giardia intestinalis Infections (Giardiasis) Human Herpesvirus 6 (including Roseola) and 7 Lyme Disease (Lyme borreliosis, Borrelia burgdorferi Infection) Plus much more...

This resource offers an overview of the rare genetic disease SCID, and how families affected by it cope. Chapters cover the effects of early hospitalisation on children, children's perceptions of illness and health, the psychosocial effects on the family, and much more.

Paediatric emergency medicine can be a challenging and difficult area for doctors. Children cannot always communicate their problems verbally, while parents are anxious and the possibility of a missed diagnosis is ever present. Although the principles in managing paediatric patients are the same as adults there are significant differences in patterns of illness and response. In addition, the therapies available vary widely between adult and paediatric practice. Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine provides clear, concise and comprehensive coverage of all the major topics that present within paediatric emergency medicine.

The new edition of this comprehensive book provides clinicians with the latest advances in the diagnosis and management of paediatric infectious diseases. Divided into ten chapters, the text begins with discussion on general topics relating to infectious diseases, and diagnosis and management. Each of the following chapters covers a different type of infection - systemic, bacterial, viral, protozoal, parasitic and fungal; and emerging infections. The increasing concern of resistance to treatment is discussed in depth, as are infections in immune compromised patients, guidelines and protocols, and vaccines and immunisation. The second edition of this detailed reference is highly illustrated with clinical photographs, diagrams, boxes and tables. The book concludes with appendices on intravenous fluid therapy and drug dosage. Key points Fully revised, second edition providing latest advances in paediatric infectious diseases Covers numerous common and more complicated infections Includes appendices on intravenous fluid therapy and drug dosage Previous edition (9789350903773) published in 2013

Offering multidisciplinary guidance to all health care practitioners who provide clinical care for children and adolescents, extensively revised to keep you up to date in this complex field. You'll find comprehensive coverage of the full spectrum of medical and surgical approaches to common and uncommon problems - everything from infants with vulvar rashes, to the child with early or late onset of puberty, to adolescents and young adults with ovarian cysts or STDs. 19 new chapters, including all-new content on working with LGBTQ teens; transgender adolescents undergoing surgical/hormonal transition; gynecologic cancers; abuse, violence, and human trafficking; caring for athletes; bone health; gastrointestinal issues; surgical techniques, vaginoscopy, and laparoscopy, as well as new videos on surgical procedures.

Long considered the gold standard comprehensive reference for diagnosing and managing emergent health issues in children, an essential resource for clinicians at all levels of training and experience. The revised eighth edition has been updated from cover to cover, providing practical, evidence-based content to help you meet any clinical challenge in the emergency care of pediatric patients.

Written by residents for residents and medical students, filled with must-know information for the pediatric surgery rotation. In a concise, easy-to-reference format, it covers management of the pediatric surgical patient, pediatric trauma surgery, common pediatric surgical problems, and pediatric surgical oncology. Chapters on surgical problems clearly present historical background, relevant anatomy, epidemiology and etiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, surgical management, and postoperative care. Additional chapters cover evaluation and examination, pediatric anesthesia, common pediatric drug dosing, and more.

Complete, expert coverage of normal musculoskeletal development and the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of the entire range of abnormalities, with emphasis on evidence-based decision making in treatment selection. New chapter on Pain Management in Pediatric Orthopaedics and newly consolidated chapters on neuromuscular disorders and early-onset spine deformities. More contributing authors from outside North America , as well as new editor Dr. Haemish Crawford from Starship Children's Hospital in Auckland, New Zealand.

Continues to be the premier reference that offers comprehensive coverage of this challenging area for the radiation oncologist in training or practice, medical radiation physicists and dosimetrists, as well as pediatric oncologists and others interested in understanding childhood malignancies. This definitive text has been completely updated to reflect recent advances in the field. Synthesizes data on pathogenesis, pathology, diagnostic workup, staging, treatment approaches (particularly radiation therapy--indications, doses, volumes, and treatment planning), and toxic outcomes, as well as guidance on decision making when data is lacking.

This award-winning text is the single most comprehensive reference on the biology and genetics of childhood cancer, its diagnosis and multimodal treatment, and long-term management. Covers all aspects of the breadth and depth of childhood cancer, including basic science, diagnostic tools, principles of treatment, and clinical trials, as well as highly detailed, definitive coverage of each pediatric malignancy. Includes updates to current treatment approaches based on the results of recently completed and published clinical research.

With contributions from experts in orthopaedic surgery, the latest edition of this comprehensive resource presents up-to-date technical procedures for treating a wide range of fractures in children and adolescents.

Filled with pearls and wisdom from experts in the field, provides practical advice on how to deal with commonly seen issues as well as those that are less common but that pose grave threats to the patient.

Virtually all aspects of the pathology in children are unique in pathogenesis and histogenesis from the moment of conception to adolescence whose range includes developmental anomalies to dysembryonic neoplasms. This book provides encyclopedic but very usable coverage of this complex subspecialty, detailing all major aspects of the pathologic anatomy of childhood disorders ranging from chromosomal syndromes and infections to forensic pathology.