New Resources in Bankstown- Lidcombe Hospital Library

This widely used reference shows you step by step how to perform more than 70 of the most common diagnostic and treatment-related procedures in today's primary care and specialist settings. You'll find clear, concise coverage of the skills you need to know, including new and advanced procedures and new procedure videos. Covers patient preparation, the proper use of instruments, and potential dangers and complications involved in common procedures, as well as nonprocedural issues such as informed consent, standard precautions, patient education, and procedure documentation. Includes new chapters on Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Ring Removal, as well as 34 new procedure videos. Features significantly revised content on cryosurgery . injection techniques . arterial puncture . shoulder/finger subluxations . sterile technique . outpatient coding . casting and splinting . blood cultures . standard precautions . and more. Contains more than 200 high-quality illustrations, including updated images of office pulmonary function testing and wound closure. Uses a consistently formatted presentation to help you find information quickly. Reflects the latest evidence-based protocols and national and international guidelines throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Learn to manage cultural and ethnic diversity and deliver health education results with this leading resource Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion, 3rd Edition extensively covers a host of crucial topics on the subject of health education and promotion to various cultural and ethnic groups. The authors provide concrete strategies and practical advice for those seeking to maximize the health-related results they achieve from their education efforts. The significant updates in this newest edition of Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion include: Updated and expanded demographic information on select groups based on the most up-to-date census data The use of universal design for diverse populations Examples of programs to increase health literacy among diverse groups Including updated case scenarios and new, innovative health programs, the 3rd edition of Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion represents an unprecedented leap forward for this already celebrated series. It's perfect for any health educator who deals with an ethnically or culturally diverse population.

Epidemiology of Healthcare-associated Infections in Australia is Australia's first peer-reviewed, evidence-based assessment of the epidemiology of HAIs using publicly available data from hospital-acquired complications (HACs), state-based surveillance systems and peer-reviewed and grey literature sources. This important work has been compiled by some of Australia's leading infection control professionals and researchers.

The 2nd edition of Skills in Clinical Nursing provides a primary Australian resource, preparing undergraduate nursing students to become skills-competent nurses, as well as providing practicing nurses with a highly relevant reference. The text acts as a visual manual, helping students learn to link theory to practice, developing their clinical skills and underpinning industry requirements.

This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionalsInformation about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grantsFoundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnershipsImportant information on the Patient-Centered Research InstituteGuidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementationUpdates on electronic submissions and web resourcesNew coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardeeInstructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finishDelivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficultiesIncludes examples and underlying principles for each guidelineProvides real-life examples from actual grant applicationsHelps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals

Family group conferences (FGCs) are a strengths-based approach to social work practice, empowering families to take responsibility for decision-making. It is a cost-effective service, which is currently used by the majority of local authorities.This collection discusses the origins and theoretical underpinnings of family led decision making and brings together the current research on the efficacy and limitations of FGCs into a single text.This insightful book also covers topics such as the use of FGCs in different areas of children and families social work, uses case studies to illustrate current practice, and explores whether FGCs should become a mainstream function of children and families social work.

"Does IQ define our destiny? In his groundbreaking bestseller, Daniel Goleman argues that our view of human intelligence is far too narrow. It is not our IQ, but our emotional intelligence that plays a major role in thought, decision-making and individual success. Self-awareness, impulse control, persistence, motivation, empathy and social deftness: all are qualities that mark people who excel, whose relationships flourish, who can navigate difficult conversations, who become stars in the workplace. With new insights into the brain architecture underlying emotion and rationality, Goleman shows precisely how emotional intelligence can be nurtured and strengthened in all of us.

The second edition of this well-received text advocates for a transformational change in the way doctors protect their mental health, look out for their colleagues, co-create a kinder, more humane work culture and lead health system reform. Offering practical strategies and real solutions, based both on medical literature and the wisdom of experienced doctors, the new edition reimagines health care, where every doctor is encouraged and supported to: prioritise psychological wellbeing and physical protection promote healthy workplace cultures, fairness and safety build strong relationships by sharing challenges save lives through medical co-leadership rediscover the joy in medicine Brimming with poignant and hopeful stories and quotes from a diverse array of doctors from many different specialities and at all career stages, the book is a celebration of the growing global interconnectedness and the changing face of the medical profession. An invaluable support and companion for those in the early years of medicine, Every Doctor is a must-read for all doctors across all specialties and wherever they practise in the world, because exemplary care of patients, peers, profession and self is a lifelong journey.

Self-Care for New and Student Nurses presents self-care practices that must be learned and used consistently and in multiple settings to prepare new nurses for the clinical stressors to come. Filled with methods, tips, and exercises, this will book will guide new and student nurses to prioritize their own health needs in order to avoid burnout and premature exit from the nursing profession.

How to Promote Wellbeing is a timely resource designed to help all healthcare practitioners promote and protect their own and their patients' wellbeing and mental health. Focusing on practical strategies and guidance, this much-needed book explores approaches for reducing burnout, managing stress, coping with pressure in healthcare settings, recognising signs of impaired decision-making, and much more. Written specifically for busy healthcare practitioners, the book offers focused and succinct chapters on topics ranging from behaviours to improve resilience and mindfulness, to approaches for maintaining work-life balance when confronted with excessive workloads and organisational pressures. Throughout the text, evidence-based tools and techniques are provided to improve the practitioner's health and facilitate the delivery of high-quality care. Covering a wide range of clinical situations and important issues, this book: Examines global, organisational, and individual problem factors affecting mental health and wellbeing Discusses the impacts of chronic stress, burnout, technological and environmental factors, work-associated trauma, and sources of wellbeing strain Identifies factors that negatively affect patients' wellbeing in hospital, clinic, and outpatient settings Offers guidance for emergencies and available resources for those in personal crisis Includes a mental health and wellbeing toolkit, including assessments and strategies How to Promote Wellbeing is indispensable reading for doctors, nurses, dentists, therapists, counsellors, and other clinicians and health professionals.