New Resources in Bankstown- Lidcombe Hospital Library

Introduction to Basic Cardiac Dysrhythmias, Fifth Edition, uses clear, accessible language to explain how the heart functions and how to interpret ECGs. Designed for use by the spectrum of EMS, nursing, and other healthcare professionals, the Fifth Edition provides users with the critical knowledge needed to interpret dysrhythmias and determine the appropriate treatment.The Fifth Edition includes:* Coverage of the 2015 ECC and CPR guidelines* New content on basic 12-lead ECG interpretation* Real-life ECG strips to demonstrate each concept * A variety of review tools, including 200 additional practice rhythm strips, 22 case studies, and perforated review flashcards* Numerous review quizzes with a variety of question formats, as well as dysrhythmia practice strips and crossword puzzles* A new, modern design with the same familiar, easy-to-follow feel

Nurses must deliver up-to-date, clinically effective, evidence-based care across a range of settings and develop nursing services to meet changing demands. The revised and expanded Oxford Handbook of Cardiac Nursing 3rd edition is tailored to provide the essential knowledge nurses need; at their fingertips when they need it. This handbook will guide the reader systematically through the care of patients with a wide range of cardiac problems. Each chapter contains the up to date evidence-based guidelines for cardiac conditions and treatments. It now includes new topics such as stroke, genetics, computed tomography coronary angiogram. Valvular heart disease has been expanded, as well as the chapter on congenital heart disease and inherited cardiac conditions. Providing key summaries of common problems and essential issues, it will provide both an invaluable reference for cardiac nurses, as well as a precise, targeted guide for nurses from other specialties caring for patients with cardiac problems.

Starting Medical School can be incredibly daunting, and the transition to being a medical student can be enormously challenging. Medical School at a Glance is an accessible guide to help give you confidence and to gain a running start to your medical school training. Covering core areas such as medical training, developing effective learning strategies, understanding common principles, learning how to behave in the clinical setting and how to interact with patients and peers, this book will help to demystify the process and prepare you as you embark on your medical career. Providing an insider's view of useful information to build a solid basic foundation for your learning, Medical School at a Glance is essential for those considering studying medicine or are in their first years of study.

Fundamentals of Microbiology, Twelfth Edition is designed for the introductory microbiology course with an emphasis on the health sciences. It consolidates the important concepts and ideas necessary for mastery by students entering the health care field as a nurse or other allied health professionals.

Medical students and doctors in training will find essential guidance to taking a full history, examining a patient and interpreting the findings. They will learn the art of understanding, contextualising, communicating and explaining, with the doctor-patient relationship firmly at the centre of their practice. These skills remain essential for every doctor, in addition to modern investigative methods. The book covers basic principles, different patient groups and all the main body systems

. Estimates say that 20 to 80% of women experience them throughout life, and are the most common form of benign cancer in childbearing age. Various surgical and medical options are currently available to manage symptomatic uterine fibroids. The choice of the appropriate therapeutic approach for UFs depends on several factors, including women's age, parity, childbearing aspirations and wish to preserve fertility, extent and severity of symptoms, size, number and location of myomas, risk of malignancy and proximity to menopause. This book reviews the diagnoses, management and treatment of uterine fibroids.

The definitive guide to women's reproductive health from conception to old age. Obstetrics and Gynaecology: an evidence-based guide is the ideal resource for anyone working in the field of women's health, including medical students, junior doctors, midwives, nurses and general practitioners. Expertly written and packed with the most relevant, up-to date evidence; this obstetrics and gynaecology textbook covers all aspects of women's health from conception to puberty and from pregnancy to old age. Obstetrics and Gynaecology: an evidence-based guide addresses common areas of everyday practice. It details how to take an obstetric or gynaecological history, manage abnormal uterine bleeding and provide antenatal care. In addition, it highlights less common but equally important issues in women's health, such as gynaecological malignancies and managing multiple pregnancies. Written by an editorial team comprising an obstetrician, gynaecologist and sonographer, the content in this obstetrics and gynaecology textbook is balanced and chronologically arranged from from birth to end of life. Provides guidance in applying evidence to medical care. Obstetrics and gynaecology OSCEs with a detailed answer guide. Multiple-choice questions aligned to chapters and practice OSCEs featuring scenario, suggested history, examination and management.

Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention delivers a logical, systematic approach to hands-on orthopedic treatment. This new edition offers the perfect balance in its coverage of the continuum of care, emphasizing the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of multiple adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. Aided by decision-making algorithms, this comprehensive guide covers anatomy, biomechanics, examination, and treatment of each joint and region and features. Evidence-based and written by a prominent practicing therapist, this is an essential resource for physical therapy students and practitioners. Features 1,200+ photos and illustrations depict orthopaedic techniques NEW videos on testing and method techniques available on AccessPhysiotherapy NEW information on balance, pain assessment, gait, and concussions Incorporates the APTA Practice Patterns to address certain dysfunctions

Clinical Guide to Paediatrics enables rapid reference to the common paediatric conditions, symptoms, and practical concerns seen in day-to-day practice. Focused on making differential diagnoses in acute settings, this comprehensive resource offers step-by-step guidance on clinical decision-making, investigations, and interventions. Junior doctors and medical students are provided with a clear and up-to-date evidence base supported by numerous diagnostic algorithms, diagrams, tables and bullet points throughout. Organised into systems-based sections, the guide covers paediatric history taking, examination techniques, pharmacology, safeguarding, and a range of different diagnoses for presenting complaints in cardiology, infection and immunology, neurology, gastroenterology, accidents, poisoning, and more. Succinct chapters are logically structured to allow easy access to important concepts, key clinical details, and plans of investigation. Designed to complement the doctor-patient interaction in clinical practice, this valuable guide: Covers the most common presenting complaints encountered in acute paediatrics Provides evidence-based information on symptoms, disorders, and issues faced in paediatric medicine Addresses topics from the perspective of presenting complaints to provide a unique, highly practical approach to the subject Includes access to a companion website containing images and clinical photos, audio podcasts, clinical case studies, and self-assessment exercises Clinical Guide to Paediatrics is essential reading for junior doctors, medical students, nurses and specialist trainees working on paediatric wards or emergency departments.

Brimming with practical insights and strategies, this unique Fast Facts resource delivers concise, quick-access information about caring for patients with common physical complaints who also have a psychiatric diagnosis. It is the first book written for non-psychiatric nurses in multiple clinical settings to address the needs of patients with comorbid diagnoses, and it facilitates the integration of skills and strategies that support recovery for patients diagnosed with mental illness

"This book provides a comprehensive and balanced coverage of health psychology from an Australian and international perspective. With coverage across all mainstream health topics with analyses and evaluations of contemporary issues, the authors present issues then introduce theory and research evidence to assess the relevant interventions. The vast rural and regional areas, indigenous populations, and the high immigrant population, all present particular challenges to our health system that are important to understand and address. The overall aim of this book is to provide a comprehensive Australian textbook which is firmly grounded in both theory and empirical evidence." -- Publisher

This text aims to be useful and relevant for student nurses from all backgrounds withnbsp;a range of professional aspirations.nbsp;It demonstrates the importance of psychology in both the nursing role and in health care in general.

100 Cases in Radiology presents 100 radiological anomalies commonly seen by medical students and junior doctors on the ward, in outpatient clinics or in the emergency department. A succinct summary of the patient's history, examination and initial investigations, including imaging photographs, is followed by questions on the diagnosis and management of each case. The answers include a detailed the diagnosis on each topic, with further illustration where appropriate, providing an essential revision aid as well as a practical guide for students and junior doctors.

Thoroughly revised and updated with the latest therapies and management, including a dedicated section on COVID-19.The comprehensive practical text on respiratory medicine, ideal for the ward, clinic or exams. Covers the required theory for level one thoracic ultrasound competency."

Stoma Care is a comprehensive and authoritative guide for all nurses and health care professionals with an interest in bowel conditions that may lead to stoma formation. It explores the anatomy and physiology of the urinary and gastrointestinal system, and looks at topics including familial adenomatous polyposis, continence issues, nutrition, and conditions leading to stoma formation, complications, fistulae and intestinal failure. It also discusses the role of the nurse in surgery and in pre-and post-operative care.

Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice. In no other reference will you find such a diverse roster of esteemed editors and authors who deliver expert insights into every type of toxicologic emergency, whether due to substance abuse or exposure to toxins.