Bankstown Medical Officer Library Survival Guide

This book is a comprehensive guide to caesarean section for practising obstetricians. Divided into four sections, the text begins with an overview of anatomy and physiology in childbirth, followed by discussion on diagnosis in clinical obstetrics and use of a partograph to record key data on both the mother and baby during labour. Section three covers the complete process of caesarean section, describing indications for the operation, anaesthesia, and the actual procedure. A chapter is dedicated to perimortem and post-mortem caesarean delivery. Postoperative recovery and potential complications are also explained. The final section of the book examines alternatives to caesarean section surgery. With a highly experienced team of authors, this practical guide is further enhanced by more than 300 illustrations and tables. Key points Comprehensive guide to caesarean section for practising obstetricians Covers complete procedure, from indications and anaesthesia, to operating techniques and complications Includes chapter on perimortem and post-mortem caesarean delivery Final section covers alternatives to caesarean section surgery

With more than 50 real-world cases, Clinical Cases in Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Womenâs Health 3e covers a range of obstetric and gynaecological problems likely to be encountered by busy junior doctors and general practitioners. Written by experienced obstetricians and gynaecologists and following the core medical school curricula in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, this pocket-sized book is an invaluable resource for medical students and clinicians.

Each case presents a problem-based clinical learning scenario and then encourages readers to think about how they would take appropriate histories and examine, investigate and treat their patients. Using these techniques, students and early career doctors are guided through diagnosis and management of common and important conditions and complications. This learning is then reinforced with more than 100 multiple choice questions and answers for self-assessment.

The definitive reference in the field for more than 35 years, Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine provides today's MFM practitioners with authoritative, comprehensive guidance on every aspect of this fast-changing field. The fully revised 9th Edition brings you up to date with the latest evidence-based guidelines and research as well as the fundamental scientific foundation needed for effective practice, helping you minimize complications and ensure the best possible outcomes for your patients. Renowned experts in obstetrics, gynecology, and perinatology provide valuable information in every area of complex obstetric care, highlighting the most commonly encountered anomalies and providing clear guidelines for obstetric and neonatal management. Offers comprehensive updates on rapidly changing topics, including extensively revised genetic content throughout.  Includes two new chapters: maternal and fetal viral infections, including COVID-19; and sexually transmitted disease, covering the epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of individual infectious diseases that may complicate pregnancy.  Contains user-friendly features such as numerous diagnostic and treatment algorithms for quick access to current protocols; key points at the end of each chapter; and counseling pearls with practical guidance on patient consultation.  Features a comprehensive imaging section, including a video library to aid in everyday diagnosis.  Shares the expertise of a renowned editorial team-including new co-editors Drs. Lorraine Dugoff and Judette M. Louis-who lead authors representing top institutions from around the globe.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 

Rising numbers of Cesarean sections and maternal obesity and associated health risks have resulted in increasingly complex Cesarean deliveries and outcomes, requiring today's surgeon to stay attuned to evolving best practices and master new surgical techniques. This first-of-its-kind reference provides step-by-step, highly illustrated guidance on managing challenging Cesarean sections with a focus on the challenges of abnormal placentation and strategies to manage it. In a concise, readable format, this text is designed to help surgeons anticipate intraoperative and postoperative challenges and optimize outcomes for mother and baby.   Focuses on avoiding and managing surgical pitfalls and complications, providing safeguards and practical, hands-on guidance for surgeons at all levels of experience. Reviews the physiology of abnormal placentation (placenta accreta spectrum) and management of pre-delivery diagnosis, intraoperative and emergent abnormal placentation. Covers preparation and decision-making regarding type of incision, anesthesia, uterine conservation, management of acute post-procedure hemorrhage, intraoperative uterine artery catheterization and occlusion, and transarterial embolization. Includes special chapters on Peripartum Hysterectomy, Urologic and Gastrointestinal Injuries, Prerequisites for the Operative Suite, and two important imaging chapters on Diagnostic Imaging in Abnormal Placentation and the Role of Interventional Radiology.

The handbook covers the full scope of disease management in a concise and accessible format. Its compact size allows it to be easily taken with the busy practitioner on the ward or in the clinic. Clear illustrations that reinforce key concepts and essential algorithms for diagnostic techniques help clinicians to a quick and accurate diagnosis. Evidence-based practices for managing gynecologic cancers are emphasized throughout the handbook including for surgical care, and for all adjuvant therapies including chemotherapy, biologics, targeted therapies, immunotherapies, and combination radiation therapy. Detailed sections on survivorship care, palliative care, and management of reproductive function and other comorbid medical conditions round out the books comprehensive scope.

This comprehensive analysis of critical care obstetrics concepts offers summary of research findings and top-notch clinical expertise. Made for perinatal clinicians who provide care to pregnant women with high-risk or critical care conditions, this is the expert guidance you need to navigate complex patient conditions and promote safe, effective perinatal care.

Major source for medications that affect mother and child in pregnancy.

This is a comprehensive and empowering guide to facilitating a positive pregnancy and birth experience, and ensuring lasting emotional and physical health for mother and baby. Countering increasingly medicalized attitudes towards pregnancy and birth among many healthcare providers, this research-based book discusses the benefits of a more natural approach. It reveals the often undisclosed effects on a child's long-term development of accepted medical practices, such as induction, C-section, surgical interventions and pain-relief medications. It offers advice on how these practices can be avoided, for example with techniques to encourage optimal fetal positioning, by optimising the birth environment, and through drug-free pain management methods. Ultimately, it enables practitioners to support parents in informed, confident decision-making by giving a balanced account of the complex array of options available throughout pregnancy and birth. With invaluable contributions from midwives, doulas, mothers, and doctors, and tried-and-tested advice on sleep, exercise, diet and therapies, this will a very useful reference for anyone working with women and babies. The information will also be relevant to prospective and new parents.