Bankstown Medical Officer Library Survival Guide

Are you a student or resident taking a gastroenterology rotation, a fellow in gastroenterology training, or a practitioner approaching GI recertification? Do you need a rapid-reference, essential guide to help refresh your clinical knowledge? Essentials of Gastroenterology provides students, residents, and gastroenterologists, especially those in training, with a highly practical, concise guide to the GI system and its major diseases.  Full color throughout, the book covers all conditions encountered during GI training and education programs and in the clinical setting.  With a strong focus on the clinical aspects of GI disease, it highlights the specific scenarios you will be presented with when managing your patients on the wards. Each section looks at a particular area of the GI tract, with each disease-related chapter examining the following: overview of normal function physiology and pathophysiology clinical presentation differential diagnosis diagnostic tests treatment/management options In addition, there is a section dedicated to the most common symptoms that patients present with, as well as a picture gallery of common GI conditions such as peptic ulcers and inflammatory bowel disease.  Drs. Sitaraman and Friedman have ensured that the key emphasis throughout is on providing easy-to-assimilate, rapid-reference information on each GI condition, achieved through the use of color-coded text features such as key facts, potential pitfalls, and practice tips.  Packed with multiple choice questions and specific clinical case studies, the book also draws upon the guidelines and recommendations of the world's leading gastroenterology societies - the AGA, ASGE, ACG, BSG, WGO, and UEGF.

This revised and updated second edition of the popular and comprehensive guide to the study of gastroenterology The revised second edition of Essentials of Gastroenterology provides a highly practical and concise guide to gastroenterology. The text covers every major disorder likely to be encountered during both GI training and in clinical practice. It also offers a handbook for preparing for Board examinations (e.g., USMLE and Internal Medicine Board examinations) as well as a handy clinical consultation tool. Fully updated to reflect the latest scientific information and practice guidelines, each section of the book covers a specific area of the gastroenterology tract and follows a standard outline: general information, normal physiology, etiology and pathophysiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, differential diagnosis, complications, prognosis, and treatment. The text provides easy-to-assimilate information on each disorder and includes the key facts, concise, bulleted paragraphs, and a structure that lends itself to accessibility and point-of-care use in a busy clinical setting. In addition, Internal Medicine Board-style multiple choice questions allow users to self-assess their knowledge, a photo gallery provides a great visual element, and clinical cases throughout allow readers to identify with real-life clinical scenarios. Essentials of Gastroenterology is the hands-on guide that: *    Covers the whole of gastroenterology in one highly practical volume *    Presents updated pedagogic features to help achieve rapid clinical understanding, such as case studies, practice points, key weblinks and potential pitfalls boxes *    Includes more than 100 Internal Medicine Board-style multiple choice questions ideal for self-assessment *    Contains comparison of major society (BSG, ASG, ACG, UEGF, etc.) guidelines for all main GI conditions Designed for us by gastroenterologists and GI trainees, Essentials of Gastroenterology is therevised and improved edition of the popular manual that is filled with up-to-date information on all the GI disorders. Trainees will learn the essentials of their specialty, as well as providing the seasoned gastroenterologist with a useful refresher tool.