The sixth edition has been fully revised in line with current practice. It is split into four parts to cover essential aspects of palliative care and include essential Palliative Care Formulary containing core information about drugs used in palliative care. New edition updates include:
Fully revised in line with current practice and the latest edition of the Palliative Care Formulary (PCF7)
Split into 4 parts to cover essential aspects of palliative care
Updated essential Palliative Care Formulary containing core information about drugs used in palliative care
Ethics chapter includes an expanded section on medically-assisted dying
Although medically oriented, there is much of use to undergraduates and graduates of other disciplines. The clinical focus is on advanced cancer, but the general principles and most of the details are equally applicable to patients dying from other incurable, progressive, life-threatening conditions
The Oxford Handbook of Palliative Care (3rd edition), maintains the concise yet comprehensive format suited to the busy practitioner for quick access to key information, and fully updated to reflect changes in the palliative care landscape.
Now in paperback, the Oxford Textbook of Communication in Oncology and Palliative Care integrates clinical wisdom with empirical findings. Written by an international team of authors, it draws upon the history of communication science, providing the reader with a comprehensive curriculum forapplied communication skills training.An essential resource, the Oxford Textbook of Communication in Oncology and Palliative Care is filled with tips and strategies for effective communication in difficult and challenging scenarios. In focusing on cancer and the end-of-life, it deals with the existential and spiritual challenges foundacross all of medicine, providing deep insights into what is at stake and how clinicians might optimally respond. This authoritative and wide-ranging book provides clinicians with state-of-the-art and evidence-based guidelines to achieve effective, patient-centred communication in the clinicalsettings of oncology and palliative care.This edition includes sections on the curriculum for nurses, the core curriculum, and an introductory section on communication science. The chapters embrace specialty issues across the clinical disciplines, from enrolling in clinical trials, working in teams, and discussing genetic risk, to talkingabout sexuality, infertility, and intercultural issues. An educational perspective is also provided, with chapters covering communication skills training, how to evaluate courses, and international models of training.
With a focus on practical acute pain management in adults in the hospital setting, this book provides health professionals with simple and practical information to help them manage patients with acute pain safely and effectively. * Combines evidence-based information with practical guidelines and protocols * Covers the pharmacology of opioids, local anesthetics, and nonopioid and adjuvant analgesic agents * Discusses management of acute pain in both surgical and nonsurgical acute pain settings including in patients with spinal cord or burns injuries and selected medical illnesses * Includes evidence-based information about management of acute pain in some specific patient groups , including the older patient, opioid-tolerant patients, and those with addiction disorders, pregnant or lactating patients and patients with obstructive sleep apnea or who have renal or hepatic impairment * Considers the role of acute pain management in the context of the current opioid epidemic and identifies possible strategies to minimise the risks. This resource will be helpful to a variety of professionals in assessing and managing acute pain.
This exhaustively comprehensive edition expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Completely revised, it discusses a wide variety of pain conditions--including neuropathic pain, pain due to cancer, and acute pain situations--for adults as well as children. An international group of the foremost experts provides comprehensive, current, clinically oriented coverage of the entire field.
Pain Management and Palliative Care by 
Chronic Pain Management by CLIN LIBRARIES
