Bankstown Medical Officer Library Survival Guide

Guiding FFICM and EDIC exam candidates through the intensive care medicine curriculum, this book provides 48 case studies mapped to eight key areas of study in the UK and European syllabuses. Cases include clinical vignettes, explanations and a list of key learning points, while also being formatted along the structure of FICM case reports. Key clinical management points are identified and linked to appropriate scientific or evidence-based research and case studies chosen reflect a general population relevant to a worldwide readership. Conditions covered are significant to large areas of clinical practice as well as more discrete specialist knowledge, making this an essential study guide for trainees preparing for exams in intensive care medicine and also a useful learning tool for candidates in related disciplines such as anaesthesia (FRCA), emergency medicine (MCEM) and surgery (MRCS).

Children in Intensive Care fulfils a unique role in supporting clinical staff during the day-to-day management of the sick child. Presented in quick reference format, and in plain English, the book offers a unique guide to the wide variety of situations that a practitioner is likely to encounter during daily practice. Rich with reference tables, algorithms, artworks and 'Alert' boxes, the book offers a wealth of information which ranges from physiology to drug dosage calculation, drug compatibility lists, reference ranges, and X-ray interpretation. New chapters include oncologic emergencies, pain management and sedation, together with the latest information on the management of sepsis, the collapsed child, and care of the child following spinal surgery. Information presented in quick reference format, with accompanying reference tables, to facilitate on-the-spot usage Advanced Life Support Group algorithms provide safe and easy-to-follow protocols to the management of emergency situations Contains input from a broad range of paediatric specialists - intensivists, anaesthetists, haematologists, oncologists, air ambulance physicians and retrieval nurses, pharmacists, specialist dieticians, and respiratory physiotherapists - to ensure full coverage and accuracy of information Contains helpful 'Quick Guide' and 'Warning' boxes to provide key information at a glance, while helpful mnemonics assist with learning Contains chapters on normal child development, safe-guarding children and young people, and patient transport Perfect for use on the wards, theatres, high-dependency units and intensive care units as well as during retrieval and A&E Ideal for newcomers and experienced staff alike, whether they be junior doctors or nursing staff Additional authorship brings the expertise of Marilyn McDougall, a Senior Paediatric Intensive Care Consultant Contains brand new chapters - oncology emergencies and pain & sedation - as well as the latest information on topics including sepsis and the collapsed neonate, and care of children after spinal surgery Comprehensively expanded cardiac chapter presents new surgical approaches as well as practical tips on pacing, care of chest drains and basic echocardiograph terminology Drug chapter now includes reversal agents, new drug profiles and an updated compatibilities chart Expanded artwork program explains clinical concepts and practical procedures

Whether you?re a newcomer to the ICU or a seasoned practitioner, Oh's Intensive Care Manual delivers the practical, expert answers you need to manage the conditions you see every day in the intensive care unit. This highly esteemed, bestselling medical reference book presents comprehensive detail on each topic, while maintaining a succinct, accessible style so this information can be seamlessly incorporated into your daily practice. "Oh's Intensive Care Manual would represent a solid addition to any anesthesia departmental library as a resource or study aid." Reviewed by Canadian Journal of Anesthesia, Apr 2015 Access everything you need to know about disease processes and their management during the course of ICU rotations. Gain valuable insight into the consensus of practice and standard of ICU care as followed in the UK, Europe, India, and Australia. Take advantage of expert advice on practical issues that will be encountered on a day-to-day basis in the ICU, as well as common pitfalls in treatment and management emphasized in each chapter. Overcome the latest challenges in intensive care medicine. Ten brand-new chapters in this edition include: Palliative Care; ICU and the Elderly; Health Care Team in Intensive Care Medicine; Preparing for Examinations in Intensive Care Medicine; Ultrasound in the ICU; ECMO for Respiratory Failure; ECMO for Cardiac Failure; Cirrhosis and Acute-on-Chronic Liver Disease; Solid Tumours and their Implications in the ICU; and Delirium. Optimize patient outcomes through an even greater focus on clinical management strategies. Quickly locate essential information with an increased number of summary boxes, tables, and charts, and a new chapter organization that expedites reference. Effortlessly search the entire text online at Expert Consult.

A popular, practical and easy-to-use guide, Oxford Desk Reference: Critical Care second edition distils evidence, therapeutics, and a growing knowledge base in to one single resource. Using their expertise, the Editors have devised an invaluable clinical guide reflecting best practice and training pathways ensuring all key information is covered. Each topic is laid out in a concise entry allowing rapid access to information. The second edition includes new chapters on tissue perfusion monitoring, paediatric and maternal critical care as well as expanded coverage of cardiovascular monitoring, myocardial infarction and respiratory therapy techniques. New self-assessment questions support FFICM and EDIC (European Diploma of Intensive Care) revision as well as CME reflection. Covering the entire discipline in an easy-to-read format, this is the definitive clinical reference for critical care, ideal for trainees, consultants, advanced care practitioners, and nurses. It is a definitive everyday reference for on the Intensive Care Units, High Dependency Units, acute medical or surgical wards, Accident and Emergency departments, and operating theatres.

Management of critically-ill trauma patients presents multiple challenges that are unique to this patient population. Optimal management of the trauma patient requires establishing priorities of care, minimizing complications, and striving to return the trauma victim to the best possible functional outcome. Yet, most books devoted to trauma focus on prehospital care, the initial assessment of trauma patients, and operative management of specific injuries. Part of the Pittsburgh Critical Care Medicine series, this book will help intensivisits involved in the care of trauma patients implement best care practices for trauma victims in the intensive care unit. Chapters address issues such as: management priorities for trauma patients in the ICU, the use of monitors and drains in trauma patients, resuscitation from hemorrhagic shock, massive transfusions and coagulopathy, ventilator management of trauma patients including patients with chest trauma, as well as management ICU strategies and solutions for specific types of trauma, including traumatic brain injury, spinal cord injury, and burn management.

The new edition of this intensive care manual brings clinicians fully up to date with the latest advances in the diagnosis and management of acute cardiac emergencies and related medical disorders. Organised by organ system, the book also covers pulmonary emergencies, stroke, endocrine and central nervous system disorders, and rheumatology. The fifth edition has been thoroughly revised to present the latest guidelines in intensive care, and provides up to date descriptions of unique presentations, differential diagnosis, and management of critical diseases and disorders. The comprehensive text is further enhanced by clinical photographs, diagrams, and tables. Key points Comprehensive guide to diagnosis and management of acute cardiac emergencies and related disorders Also covers critical care of disorders in other organ systems Thoroughly revised new edition presenting latest guidelines in intensive care Previous edition (9789350907405) published in 2014

With a focus on evidence-based, state-of-the-art information throughout, the eighth edition of Irwin and Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine offers authoritative guidance to the wide variety of specialty physicians and non-physicians practicing in the adult intensive care environment. This comprehensive textbook covers both the theoretical and practical aspects of the field, and has been completely updated to provide encyclopedic, interprofessional coverage to support practitioners in every area of this complex field. Features: Approaches intensive care from an interprofessional, collaborative perspective, encompassing anesthesia, surgery, trauma, and neurology, as well as cardiovascular and medical intensive care. Maintains a practical, clinically-oriented approach, with comprehensive sections on procedures, techniques, and ultrasound; minimally invasive monitoring; pharmacology, overdoses, and poisoning; infectious disease; transplantation; critical care consequences of agents of mass destruction; and many more. Features many new chapters, and an entirely new section on Palliative Care and Ethical Issues in the Critical Care Unit. Reflects the rising importance of point-of-care ultrasonography with five hours of expertly narrated video embedded into 23 relevant chapters, clearly depicting the ideal use of this tool for intensivists . Includes a section on ICU Design, Organization, Operation, and Outcome Measures that addresses important changes and advances regarding safety, clinical practice guidelines, decreasing the cost of care, tele-ICU, and more. Provides extensive updates reflecting advances in cardiovascular intensive care, surgical critical care, shock and trauma, and sepsis management. Includes recommendations reflecting randomized controlled clinical trials, summarized, when possible, in quick-reference tables throughout. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click