Clinical assessment is at the heart of medicine. This book teaches the reader how to gather clinical information effectively, accurately and safely even when time is at a premium. Using a focused and evidence-based approach, it provides step-by-step assessment strategies for common and important clinical scenarios, particularly those that require 'lateral' and holistic thinking, such as falls in the elderly, weight loss, 'tired all the time' and assessment of diabetic or homeless people. This second edition of The 10-Minute Clinical Assessment is fully updated in line with the latest guidelines and includes brand new general chapters on focused clinical assessment, red flags, and useful consultation tools. It covers a wide range of common and important topics, including cardiovascular, respiratory, haematology, musculoskeletal, neurology, mental health, gynaecology, obstetrics, urology, ophthalmology and ear, nose and throat. This new edition also includes sections on undifferentiated and miscellaneous presentations, on paediatrics and adolescent health; and on problems in older people.
Surface palpation is a valuable method for clinicians in detecting and treating a variety of injuries and medical conditions. A Clinical Guide to Surface Palpation, Second Edition With HKPropel Online Video, is a comprehensive guide that will help both students and health care professionals become proficient in these techniques so they can successfully assess and treat their patients. Using a simple step-by-step approach, A Clinical Guide to Surface Palpation, Second Edition, provides concise explanations of palpation techniques, organized by regions of the body. A brief overview of skeletal and muscle anatomy is offered for each region--including coverage of bony tissue, soft tissue, and neurovascular structures--to facilitate a better understanding of the relationship between structures and how they function together, leading to improved clinical examination skills. Tips for palpating bony landmarks are also discussed. Formerly titled A Clinical Guide to Musculoskeletal Palpation, this second edition has been expanded to include information on visceral palpation. One of very few textbooks that teaches readers how to examine the abdomen and pelvis, it recognizes the profound effect these structures can have on the function of the neuromuscular system. The visual aspect of the second edition has also been significantly upgraded. Anatomical overlays have been added to the numerous photos depicting proper technique to provide a clear view of the exact structures lying beneath the surface. More than 50 related online video clips, delivered through HKPropel, have also been added to showcase real demonstrations of common clinical palpation techniques. The skills are demonstrated in a step-by-step format to help readers understand the nuances of difficult techniques. This text also includes several learning aids to enhance anatomical knowledge and clinical skills. Clinical Pearls and notes throughout the text offer clinically relevant guidance alongside information on body structure identification and assessment. Each chapter concludes with a case study presenting a common clinical condition as well as review questions that prompt readers to apply their new understanding and proficiency. The most comprehensive resource of its kind, A Clinical Guide to Surface Palpation, Second Edition, fosters a strong foundation in anatomical knowledge to optimize the development and execution of palpation skills. It is a must-have for all practitioners, instructors, and students in the manual therapy professions. Note: A code for accessing the online videos is included with all new print books.
Logically organized around the 36 most common presenting complaints - 80% of what you're likely to encounter in daily practice - Differential Diagnosis of Common Complaints, 7th Edition, uses a practical, clinically oriented approach to help you master the differential diagnosis of common symptoms. Using a clear, consistent format, it walks you through the problem-solving process that most physicians use to make a diagnosis. This book is the ideal reference for the beginning student and the busy clinician. Find information quickly thanks to an alphabetical organization by sign/symptom/disorder and a format that mimics the diagnostic decision-making process in clinical practice. Develop the clinical reasoning and critical thinking skills that are essential for physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and animations, designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. Stay up to date with evidence-based practice with increased evidence added to each chapter and thorough updating throughout, including the latest clinical and diagnostic studies. Clearly visualize key points in problem solving with new clinical algorithms and updated figures and images.
Fully updated from cover to cover, incorporating over 200 new studies on the evidence-based approach to diagnosis, the 4th Edition of Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis remains your go-to resource for guidance on interpreting physical signs, enabling you to determine the most appropriate physical finding to confirm a diagnosis. Internationally renowned author Dr. Steven McGee puts the most current evidence at your fingertips, allowing you to quickly compare all physical signs for a given diagnosis, understand their significance, and then select the most accurate ones. Includes a unique evidence-based calculator online that enables you to easily determine probability using likelihood ratios. Features a reader-friendly outline format, including dozens of "EBM boxes" and accompanying "EBM ruler" illustrations. Provides new evidence on the scientific value of many physical findings, including Cheyne-Stokes respirations, subclavian stenosis, fever of unknown origin, porto-pulmonary hypertension, localization of stroke, and many more. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW two-color format improves readability and helps you find essential information faster. NEW Key Teaching Points at the beginning of every chapter, ideal for teachers of bedside medicine.
Evidence-based Practice across the Health Professions is a contemporary guide to modern evidence-based practice. It provides a foundation to help you to better ponder what clinical questions to ask, know ways to efficiently find research that answers those questions, know how to decide whether the results of research are believable, important and applicable and use good evidence with patients to provide healthcare as responsibly, effectively and collaboratively as possible.
The book covers basic theories, basic knowledge and basic skills on clinical diagnosis, basic requirements for doctors' ethical conduct, clinical reasoning and documentation of medical records during the process of making a diagnosis. It consists of six parts, including 'Symptoms', 'History Taking', 'Physical Examination', 'Supplementary Examination', 'Common Clinical Diagnosis Techniques', and 'Diagnostic Process and Clinical Reasoning'. A vocabulary index is included for easy reference at the end of the book. This book is compiled by authors of 14 Chinese medical schools and universities, whose years of experience in clinical diagnostics, rich overseas learning and working experiences. This book is included in the first round of English textbooks series for clinical medicine major of China's higher medical colleges; and is among "13th Five-Year" planning textbooks of National Health Commission of the People's Republic of China. It is also an ideal textbook for MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery) student It is a co-publication book with People's Medical Publishing House (PMPH). The ISBN of PMPH version in China is 978-7-117-23852-6.
This handy guide is packed full of information to support medical students, junior doctors and other health professionals in making an accurate diagnosis in relation to different presenting complaints. Now in its fifth edition, the Pocketbook takes the reader through the key steps of narrowing a differential diagnosis, including history, examination and investigation findings. It has been fully updated to cover the full range of common presenting problems facing clinicians today. This book is easy-to-read and logical, making it useful for all clinicians within a variety of settings, from the classroom to emergency department and primary care. This Fifth Edition covers 125 common presenting problems in both medicine and surgery in a consistent format
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.
Advanced health assessment and differential diagnosis : essentials for clinical practice by 
Differential Diagnosis and Treatment in Primary Care by 
Taylor's Differential Diagnosis Manual by