New eBooks in SWSLHD Libraries

Acute & Chronic Wounds, 6th Edition provides the latest diagnostic and treatment guidelines to help novice to expert clinicians provide evidence-based, high-quality care for patients with wounds. This textbook presents an interprofessional approach to maintaining skin integrity and managing the numerous types of skin damage, including topics that range from the physiology of wound healing, general principles of wound management, special patient populations, management of percutaneous tubes, and specific care instructions to program development. Written by respected wound experts Ruth Bryant and Denise Nix, this bestselling reference also provides excellent preparation for all wound certification exams.

"Breastfeeding Management for the Clinician: Using the Evidence is the perfect tool for busy clinicians who need a quick, accurate, and current reference. It focuses on the essentials of breastfeeding management without the lengthy, overly detailed explanations found in other large texts. Marsha Walker sought to create a useful and practical reference guide for lactation consultants to quickly find information to help assist their patients and infants through the various challenges (and rewards!) of breastfeeding and lactation"

This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish. Additionally, the text covers software used in research queries and provides helpful strategies for effectively using the search function when seeking information. Two complete CSRs along with new and updated examples throughout the book further aid readers in their pursuit of excellence in scholarly work.

Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading dictionary offers clear and authoritative definitions for all aspects of medical science. It features up-to-date coverage on public health medicine, medical research and general practice, and cardiology, radiology, and dentistry among other specialist areas. This new edition has been revised and updated to reflect advancements in medical research and practice,while over 250 new entries have been added, including American Medical Association, burden of treatment, gaming disorder, MERS, person-centred care, and Zika virus.

"Australia is increasingly recognised as a multicultural and diverse society. Nationally, all accrediting bodies for allied health, nursing, midwifery and medical professions require tertiary educated students to be culturally safe with regards to cultural and social diversity. This text, drawing on experts from a range of disciplines including public health, nursing and sociology, shows how the theory and practice of cultural safety can inform effective health care practices with all kinds of diverse populations. Culture, Diversity and Health in Australia is a sensitive, richly nuanced and comprehensive guide to effective health practice in Australia today.

This book provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections — covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations — means you get the equivalent of five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice.

An invaluable text for dysphagia courses in speech-language pathology programs, this book integrates the fundamentals of aerodigestive tract anatomy and physiology with objective assessment techniques and multidisciplinary treatment approaches. Contributors from speech-language pathology, otolaryngology, and gastroenterology present a variety of perspectives across domains of the professionals who serve patients with swallowing disorders. The in-depth, evidence-based assessment techniques and treatment models represent the most current dysphagia research and best practices.

Created to assist students in speech-language pathology graduate programs, this book facilitates knowledge retention and supports skill development as a companion to Dysphagia Assessment and Treatment Planning: A Team Approach-5th ed. Practical exercises and application activities, drawn from Dr. Julie Barkmeier-Kraemer's experience teaching and training graduate students and colleagues in dysphagia, are included in the workbook to increase understanding of and engagement with each chapter in the associated textbook.

Arabella Kurtz explores the use of reflective practice in the modern healthcare context. Responding to the rapidly increasing demand for reflective practice groups in healthcare and drawing on her extensive experience as a facilitator and trainer, Kurtz presents a fully developed, eight-stage model: The Intersubjective Model of Reflective Practice Groups. The book offers a guide to the organisation, structure and delivery of group sessions, with useful suggestions for overcoming commonly-encountered problems and promoting empathic relationships with clients and colleagues. Clearly and accessibly written, using full situational examples for each stage of the presented model, How to Run Reflective Practice Groups offers a comprehensive guide to facilitating reflective practice in healthcare.

Mayo Clinic on Incontinence is a helpful resource to successfully manage urinary and fecal incontinence. It explains the causes of incontinence and helpful tips to relieve symptoms to enjoy a better quality of life. Each chapter provides strategies and advice to reduce or even eliminate bothersome symptoms, both for individuals recently diagnosed with incontinence as well as those who have lived with the condition for years. Behavior and lifestyle changes, medications, medical devices, and surgeries for urinary and fecal incontinence are discussed in detail.

Fully updated for its 9th edition, McKenna's Drug Handbook for Nursing and Midwifery gives clear guidance for safe and effective drug administration. This essential handbook for students and practitioners includes over 1100 drug profiles and provides best-practice advice and information on each drug's characteristics and available forms, indications and dosages, actions, adverse reactions, interactions and contraindications, pregnancy risk categories and sports risk indicators, care considerations and patient teaching.

Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients continues to explore the concept of suffering as it relates to nursing practice in an updated new edition. This text helps practicing nurses and students define and recognize various aspects of suffering across the lifespan and within various patient populations, while providing guidance in alleviating suffering. In addition, the authors discuss ways nurses that witness suffering can optimize their own coping skills and facilitate personal growth. The Second Edition aligns with the recently updated ELNEC and AACN competencies and features three new chapters discussing advance care planning, palliative care for those with serious illnesses, and strategies for having difficult conversations with patients and families.

This book provides a detailed overview of the methodology for conducting clinical trials, including developing protocols, data capture, randomisation, analysis and reporting. Assuming no prior background, this user-friendly resource describes the statistical, regulatory, and practical components required for conducting randomised clinical trials. Numerous examples and case studies from industry, academia, and the research literature help readers understand each stage of the clinical trial process.

This practical and positive guide shows how good, effective reflection can help people to stay on track, as well as understand what is working well and what might be improved – essential skills for leaders at all levels of practice from newly qualified staff to senior managers. Supporting readers to link theory and action with reflection, the authors illustrate how practitioners can exercise their own kinds of leadership to strengthen, improve and thrive. Taking a realistic and achievable view of leadership, the book: reviews the different leadership approaches and styles that help to inform us about what makes a good leader; explores the role of emotional intelligence, appreciative intelligence and narrative intelligence in leadership, especially in complex, challenging and continually changing healthcare settings; and uses case studies and practice examples to ensure the book is relevant, current and helpful.

Sheehy's Manual of Emergency Care, 8th Edition offers complete, up-to-date coverage of the essentials emergency nurses need to know. Each condition commonly seen in the emergency setting is thoroughly addressed, from signs and symptoms, to diagnosis, treatment, developmental considerations, patient education, and more. Updated material and easy-to-reference contents make this resource a must-have for current practice.