LibGuides: New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library: New Books: April 2024

New Books

These new books and e-books were added to the collection in April 2024 at the Campbelltown Hospital Library and are now available.

Interested in a specific print title? Click on the title or cover image to link into the Library catalog and then on 'Reserve' We will then find the book and you will be emailed when it is available for collection. Contact the Library for assistance, we are here to help!

Interested in an ebook? Just follow the links. You will need to use an Athens account to login on a personal device.

Not a member of the Library? If you are a member of staff or a student on clinical placement fill in a membership request form

Suggestion for purchase? Fill in a Resource recommendation or contact the Library.

New books

Acceptance and Commitment Therapy by Koa Whittingham; Lisa Coyne
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780128146699
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
A principles-based guide for clinicians to support parents across various stages of child and adolescent development. It uses Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) as an axis to integrate evolution science, behaviour analysis, attachment theory, emotion-focused and compassion-focused therapies into a cohesive framework. From this integrated framework, the authors explore practice through presenting specific techniques, experiential exercises, and clinical case studies.
Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Easy by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781496359162
Publication Date: 2017-08-16
No need to feel stressed over anatomy and physiology--grasp all the basic terms and concepts, with the fully updated Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Easy! , 5th Edition. Using humor and friendly guidance, this colorful text gives you the pure-and-simple clarity you need to understand the basic structure and functions of all major body systems, while also guiding you through genetics, nutrition, reproduction, and more.
Becoming Mum by Koa Whittingham
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780992272609
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
Becoming Mum is a truly unique self-help book. It is the first book written to support women, all women, through the psychological passage to motherhood, empowering them to become the kind of mother they wish to be.
Critical Care Nursing by Linda D. Urden (Editor); Kathleen M. Stacy (Editor); Mary E. Lough (Editor)
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780323642958
Publication Date: 2021-03-11
Prepare for success in today''s high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings! Critical Care Nursing: Diagnosis and Management, 9th Edition helps you understand and apply critical care nursing principles and concepts to clinical assessment, diagnostic procedures, and therapeutic management.
DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer Principles and Practice of Oncology Review by Ramaswamy Govindan; Daniel Morgensztern
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781975151881
Publication Date: 2021-10-29
Based on DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology, Eleventh Edition, this comprehensive review book covers the entire specialty of oncology, including new or expanded coverage of molecular biology; epidemiology and etiology; screen and prevention; genetics; clinical trials; and immunotherapy.
Disability, gender and violence over the life course: global perspectives and human rights perspectives by edited by Sonali Shah and Caroline Bradbury-Jones
Call Number: WA 308/10
ISBN: 9780367590710
Publication Date: 2018
This edited collection explores the intersections of gender, disablement and violence, and does so with attention to the ways in which violence is experienced globally and across the life course. Disabled women’s experiences remain largely hidden in mainstream violence literatures and this collection seeks to address that invisibility.
The Effective Hiring Manager by Mark Horstman
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781119574323
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The only thing worse than having an open position is filling it with the wrong person. The Effective Hiring Manager offers a proven process for solving these problems and helping teams and organizations thrive.
The Elephant in the ADHD Room by Letitia Sweitzer
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781849059657
Publication Date: 2014-06-21
Boredom and boredom avoidance drive the behaviours of inattention, impulsivity, and hyperactivity - the diagnostic criteria of ADHD. This is the first ADHD resource to thoroughly explore the connection between the two. Full of innovative approaches, the book introduces a wide range of strategies for professionals working in clinical, educational and therapeutic settings to help those with ADHD beat boredom and engage with tasks and goals they want or need to achieve.
Embrace Kids by Taryn Brumfitt (Contribution by); Zali Yager (Contribution by)
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781761046575
Publication Date: 2023-01-01
Imagine a world where young people don't feel held back by their bodies. Where we appreciate each other for who we are and what we do rather than what we look like. Body image, and the associated issues of weight, food and physical activity, are hot topics in our families. How did we get to this place of constant criticism about our own bodies, and how can we get out of it?
A History of Westmead Hospital - in 3 volumes by Tessa Milne and Graeme Stewart
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780645710908
Publication Date: 2023
This set of three volumes aims to capture much of the detail and colour of the history of Westmead Hospital as an extraordinary institution -- 55 years from conception and after 45 years of providing service to the people of western Sydney and beyond.
Interview Preparation Set Your Career Path by George Zafiropoulos
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781704026930
Publication Date: 2019-10-30
The following work has been carried out to provide aid to students and professionals who wish to follow Medicine or any other Healthcare Studies profession in preparing for interviews in their field as well as offer guidance in their development so that they are in the best position to present themselves.
Introduction to Healthcare Knowledge and Library Services by Geoff Walton (Editor); Frances Johnson (Editor); David Stewart (Editor); Gil Young (Editor); Holly Case-Wyatt (Editor)
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781783305933
Publication Date: 2024-03-01
The range of roles in healthcare knowledge and library services are many and varied. From 'traditional' librarian roles to those that break new ground, including clinical, embedded and outreach librarians and knowledge management, they are a vital ongoing support for this important sector. This book provides a comprehensive, practitioner focused introduction to all aspects of knowledge and library work in the health sector with a focus on the NHS, UK.
JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods by Edward H. Livingston; Roger J. Lewis
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781260455328
Publication Date: 2019-11-29
The world-renowned experts at JAMA® explain statistical analysis and the methods used in medical research. Written in the language and style appropriate for clinicians and researchers, this book provides explanations and expert discussion of the statistical analytic approaches and methods used in the medical research reported in articles appearing in JAMA and the JAMA Network journals. To provide concrete examples, the explanations in the book link to research articles that incorporate the specific statistical test or methodological approach being discussed.
Just one thing : how simple changes can transform your life, by Michael Mosley.
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780733648229
Publication Date: 2022
Based on the popular BBC programme and podcast, Just One Thing, this book brings to life Dr Mosley's mission to find things you can introduce into your daily routine which will have a big impact on your mental and physical health. Did you know that eating chocolate can help your heart, that singing can give you a natural 'high' and that having more house plants can improve your mood and boost your productivity?
Leadership Roles and Management Functions in Nursing by Bessie L. Marquis; Carol Huston
Call Number: WY 105/11 Bowral and other Libraries
ISBN: 9781975139216
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
From managing conflict and working collaboratively to organizing patient care and staffing, students vicariously experience the responsibilities of mid- and top-level nursing managers and hone their critical-thinking, problem-solving and decision-making skills before entering high-stakes clinical settings.
Management of Tuberculosis: a guide for clinicians by TB Forum
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780648137979
Publication Date: 2017
While TB is an uncommon disease in Australia, it is essential that Australian clinicians deliver expert and careful management to the cases that do arise, especially as our population of new Australians increases, and our tourism industry flourishes, bringing with it more opportunities for exposure to TB. Fortunately, TB is a disease treatable with antibiotics, but its successful management requires informed clinicians.
Mind over Mood by Dennis Greenberger; Christine A. Padesky; Aaron T. Beck (Foreword by)
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781462520428
Publication Date: 2015-10-15
Discover simple yet powerful steps you can take to overcome emotional distress--and feel happier, calmer, and more confident. This life-changing book has already helped more than 1,300,000 readers use cognitive-behavioral therapy--one of today's most effective forms of psychotherapy--to conquer depression, anxiety, panic attacks, anger, guilt, shame, low self-esteem, eating disorders, substance abuse, and relationship problems.
MRCOG Part One by Alison Fiander (Editor); Baskaran Thilaganathan (Editor)
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781107667136
Publication Date: 2016-10-13
Edited by experienced RCOG examiners and written by contributors to the RCOG's revision course, this comprehensive textbook provides extensive coverage of all curriculum areas covered by the Part 1 examination (the basic sciences which are vital to the clinical practice of obstetrics and gynaecology).
Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep 2023-2024 by Kaplan Nursing
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781506280264
Publication Date: 2023-04-04
The NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan's Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep 2023-2024 will help you leverage your nursing knowledge and face the exam with confidence.
The Original Australians by Josephine Flood
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781760527075
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Everything you'd like to know about Indigenous Australia past and present, presented in an accessible, authoritative and straightforward style. An updated edition of a national bestseller.
Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes - 3rd edition n 2 volumes by edited by John A.H. Wass and others
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780198802327
Publication Date: 2022
Now in its third edition, the Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes is an up-to-date, objective and comprehensive text that covers the full scope of endocrinology and diabetes. It contains wide ranging and pragmatic advice on diagnosis and clear guidelines for recommended management, while also covering the scientific principles that underlie the medical practice in this important field.
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs by Frances M. Wedge
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781284226157
Publication Date: 2022-05-26
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Fourth Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions.
Robbins and Cotran Atlas of Pathology by Edward C. Klatt
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780323640183
Publication Date: 2020-11-09
More than 1,800 outstanding illustrations that vividly depict the most common diseases covered in pathology courses and USMLE exams. Covering all major topic areas in organ system pathology and incorporating the latest understanding of pathophysiology and molecular medicine, it is a quick visual reference or review for students and professionals alike.
Rosai and Ackerman's Surgical Pathology by John R. Goldblum; Laura W. Lamps; Jesse K. McKenney; Jeffrey L. Myers; Lauren Vedder Ackerman; Juan Rosai
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9996120082
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
A dynamic new author team ensures that this classic text retains its signature anecdotal style, while revising the content to bring you fully up to date. Widely used for board exam preparation, as well as for everyday reference in practice, this leading resource equips you to effectively and efficiently diagnose the complete range of neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities.
Statistics: Unlocking the Power of Data by Robin H Lock and others
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781119570837
Publication Date: 2017
The second edition of Lock’s Statistics: Unlocking the Power of Data continues to utilise these intuitive methods like randomisation and bootstrap intervals to introduce the fundamental idea of statistical inference. These methods are brought to life through authentically relevant examples, enabled through easy to use statistical software, and are accessible at very early stages of a course. The program includes the more traditional methods like t-tests, chi-square texts, etc. but only after students have developed a strong intuitive understanding of inference through randomisation methods.
Statistics for Laboratory Scientists and Clinicians by Anne McDonnell Sill
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781108708500
Publication Date: 2021-07-08
Understanding the underlying principles of statistical techniques and effectively applying statistical methods can be challenging for researchers at all stages of their career. This concise, practical guide uses a simple, engaging approach to take scientists and clinicians working in laboratory-based life science and medical research through the steps of choosing and implementing appropriate statistical methods to analyse results.
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Examination and Board Review by Susan B. Promes
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781260025941
Publication Date: 2023-03-16
More than 800 case-based Q&A combined with the authority of the field's leading text make this the best review for any Emergency Medicine examination All answer options, both correct and incorrect, are keyed to Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition, the field's most authoritative and trusted text.
Trauma-Focused CBT for Children and Adolescents by Judith A. Cohen (Editor); Anthony P. Mannarino (Editor); Esther Deblinger (Editor)
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781462504824
Publication Date: 2012-05-30
Featuring a wealth of clinical examples, this book facilitates implementation of Trauma-Focused Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT) in a range of contexts. It demonstrates how assessment strategies and treatment components can be tailored to optimally serve clients' needs while maintaining overall fidelity to the TF-CBT model.