New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library

A principles-based guide for clinicians to support parents across various stages of child and adolescent development. It uses Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT) as an axis to integrate evolution science, behaviour analysis, attachment theory, emotion-focused and compassion-focused therapies into a cohesive framework. From this integrated framework, the authors explore practice through presenting specific techniques, experiential exercises, and clinical case studies.

This textbook explores issues central to the provision of recovery-orientated care based on ethical principles and human rights perspectives. Written by academics and nurse practitioners, this comprehensive text draws together theory, research and practice to map the landscape of Advanced Practice in Mental Health Nursing (APMHN) in Europe. Underpinned by a rights- and relational- based approach to care, the textbook is organized around six themes: theoretical and historical perspectives; foundations for collaborative working; therapeutic engagement in different contexts; beyond the clinical dimension of the APMHN role; advancing the evidence-based practice agenda and emerging issues and challenges.

Becoming Mum is a truly unique self-help book. It is the first book written to support women, all women, through the psychological passage to motherhood, empowering them to become the kind of mother they wish to be.

Christine A. Padesky's extensive experience as a CBT innovator, clinician, teacher, and consultant is reflected in 100+ pages of compelling therapist-client dialogues that vividly illustrate core CBT interventions and management of challenging dilemmas. Fully updated, the book offers research-based guidance on the use of MOM2 to treat anxiety disorders, depression, anger, guilt, shame, relationship problems, and personality disorders.

Provides a comprehensive, evidence-based approach to understanding symptoms and risk factors of depression, anxiety, and posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) in perinatal women, which are common complications of childbirth. To effectively intervene, health professionals must be aware of these conditions and ready to identify them in mothers they see

Provides a comprehensive and evidence-based approach to understanding the assessment for treatment and treatment of postpartum depression. Depression, anxiety, and posttraumatic stress disorder are common complications of childbirth that result in adverse health outcomes for both mother and child. It is vital, therefore, that health professionals be ready to help women with these conditions in the perinatal period

Type 1 diabetes is a challenging, frustrating and relentless condition to manage. Diabetes Burnout provides clear information on what burnout is, quotes from people who have experienced burnout, and self-assessment tools for people living with diabetes to identify the symptoms they may be facing. The booklet offers readers practical tools to understand what their own triggers are, what action they can take to improve their symptoms and what they can do to reduce the chance of experiencing burnout again. In addition, the booklet highlights the support available and provides helpful links to sources and organisations where patients can go for further information on type 1 diabetes. An ideal resource for people living with type 1 diabetes and their healthcare team, including clinical psychologists, specialist nurses, endocrinologists and general practitioners.

Boredom and boredom avoidance drive the behaviours of inattention, impulsivity, and hyperactivity - the diagnostic criteria of ADHD. This is the first ADHD resource to thoroughly explore the connection between the two. Full of innovative approaches, the book introduces a wide range of strategies for professionals working in clinical, educational and therapeutic settings to help those with ADHD beat boredom and engage with tasks and goals they want or need to achieve.

Imagine a world where young people don't feel held back by their bodies. Where we appreciate each other for who we are and what we do rather than what we look like. Body image, and the associated issues of weight, food and physical activity, are hot topics in our families. How did we get to this place of constant criticism about our own bodies, and how can we get out of it?

Readers gain a thorough view of clinical supervision as they explore central themes from a variety of mental health professions, as well as the important topics of supervision models and modalities, administrative issues, and professional concerns. The 6th Edition includes additional coverage of multicultural supervision and competence, emerging supervision models, use of technology in supervision, new sections on group work and ethics, increased attention to client outcomes, and a significant focus on supervision beyond training.

These Guidelines aim to provide alcohol and other drug (AOD) workers with evidence-based information to assist with the management of co-occurring AOD and mental health conditions. They represent an update and revision of the second edition of these Guidelines, published in 2016. It is a recommendation of these Guidelines that all clients of AOD treatment services be screened and assessed for co-occurring mental disorders as part of routine clinical care.

Learn the essential skills of psychological first aid from the experts--the creators of the Johns Hopkins RAPID PFA method. Psychological first aid, or PFA, is designed to mitigate the effects of acute stress and trauma and assist those in crisis to cope effectively. PFA can be applied in emergencies, including disasters, terrorist attacks, and the COVID-19 pandemic. In the second edition of this essential guide, George S. Everly, Jr., and Jeffrey M. Lating draw on their experiences in Kuwait after the Gulf War, in New York City after the September 11 attacks, and during the COVID-19 pandemic to describe the principles and practices of PFA in an easy-to-follow, prescriptive, and practical manner.

Comprehensive resource describing guidelines for safely reducing or stopping (deprescribing) antidepressants, benzodiazepines, gabapentinoids and z-drugs for patients, including step-by-step guidance for all commonly used medications, covering common pitfalls, troubleshooting, supportive strategies, and more.

olistic overview of mental health for nurses in a practice setting. All nurses play an important role in supporting mental health as part of holistic care provision. This book is designed to help students and novice clinicians to develop the knowledge, skills and attitudes they need to care for people across a wide range of specialist and non-specialist practice settings.

Discover simple yet powerful steps you can take to overcome emotional distress--and feel happier, calmer, and more confident. This life-changing book has already helped more than 1,300,000 readers use cognitive-behavioral therapy--one of today's most effective forms of psychotherapy--to conquer depression, anxiety, panic attacks, anger, guilt, shame, low self-esteem, eating disorders, substance abuse, and relationship problems.

This book makes the full spectrum of psychiatric nursing easier to understand and equips students with a confident grasp of the skills and concepts essential to their success in clinical practice. This 9th Edition has been extensively revised throughout, reflecting the latest evidence-based perspectives and practices while maintaining a strong foundation in the nursing process.

Focusing on the practical skills needed to establish rapport with patients and gain valuable clinical insights, The Psychiatric Interview, 5th Edition, offers a practical, concise approach to improving interviewing skills. Noted psychiatrist and award-winning mental health journalist Dr. Daniel J. Carlat uses a proven combination of mnemonics, specific techniques for approaching threatening topics, and phrasing examples to illustrate the nuances of the interviewing process, making this easy-to-digest text essential reading for trainees and practitioners in psychiatry, psychology, nursing, social work, and related fields.

Long established as the preeminent source in its field, the eagerly anticipated fifth edition of Dr Stahl's essential textbook of psychopharmacology is here! With its use of icons and figures that form Dr Stahl's unique 'visual language', the book is the single most readable source of information on disease and drug mechanisms for all students and mental health professionals seeking to understand and utilize current therapeutics, and to anticipate the future for novel medications. Every aspect of the book has been updated, with the clarity of explanation that only Dr Stahl can bring. The new edition includes over 500 new or refreshed figures, an intuitive color scheme, fourteen new uses for older drugs and eighteen brand new drugs, coverage of Parkinson's Disease Psychosis, behavioural symptoms of dementia, and mixed features in major depressive episodes, and expanded information on the medical uses of cannabis and hallucinogen assisted psychotherapy.

Featuring a wealth of clinical examples, this book facilitates implementation of Trauma-Focused Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy (TF-CBT) in a range of contexts. It demonstrates how assessment strategies and treatment components can be tailored to optimally serve clients' needs while maintaining overall fidelity to the TF-CBT model.

* Fills a gap in the literature for helping professionals who work with clients experiencing grief related to infertility and reproductive loss * Written by three counselor educators who have personally experienced infertility and reproductive loss * Utilizes the literary framework of The Hero's Journey to provide strategies, tools, and easily remembered suggestions for practitioners, supervisors, and counselor educators