New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library

Presents key studies that have shaped the practice of medicine. Selected using a rigorous methodology, the studies cover topics ranging from dieting to cardiovascular disease, insomnia to obstetrics. For each study, a concise summary is presented with an emphasis on the results and limitations of the study, and its implications for practice. Brief information on other relevant studies is provided, and an illustrative clinical case concludes each review. A

For more than 80 years this unique short atlas has been the go-to guide to the examination of patients with lesions of the peripheral nerves and nerve roots - appreciated by generations of students and experienced practitioners alike.

An easy to follow step-by-step guide to the most useful surgical skills from knot tying to simple procedures. Illustrated with colour photographs and video clips to demonstrate techniques, this book makes these practical skills as clear and easy to follow as possible. Including coverage of surgical instruments, wound management and suturing, and minor surgical procedures, it also explains how to use these essential surgical skills to make the most of a surgical placement.

Latest version of a classic text in medical genetics. With newly covered disorders and cutting-edge, up-to-date information, this resource remains the most crucial reference on the management of genetic syndromes in the field of medical genetics for students, clinicians, caregivers, and researchers.

This highly practical text on gynecologic emergencies includes sonographic findings and laparascopic investigations and management for point-of-care assessment. Gynecologists, emergency physicians, and other providers will find this an invaluable resource for information on what to do in a crisis.

This thoroughly updated textbook describes the pathophysiology and clinical features of the most frequently encountered conditions in the major specialties of adult medicine, and explains how to recognise, investigate, diagnose and manage them.

One of the masterpieces of Tolstoy's late fiction and the first major fictional work to be published by the author after his crisis and conversion to Christianity. The story of the life and death at the age of forty-five, of a high court prosecutor in 19th-century Russia, it is an intense and moving examination of loss and the possibilities of redemption, in which Tolstoy explores the dichotomy between the artificial and the authentic life. The nine other stories in this new collection include "Hadji Murat" which has been described by Harold Bloom as 'the best story in the world'.

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013.

Essentials is intended as an easy-to-access revision reference that provides important information for doctors on the ward, including normal values, medical emergencies, useful websites, abbreviations and a dictionary of terms. This best-selling book has been fully updated and is accessible, coherent and concise, making it an essential companion for medical students, doctors and health professionals in the UK and around the world.

The second edition of this well-received text advocates for a transformational change in the way doctors protect their mental health, look out for their colleagues, co-create a kinder, more humane work culture and lead health system reform. Offering practical strategies and real solutions, based both on medical literature and the wisdom of experienced doctors, the new edition reimagines health care, where every doctor is encouraged and supported to: prioritise psychological wellbeing and physical protection promote healthy workplace cultures, fairness and safety build strong relationships by sharing challenges save lives through medical co-leadership rediscover the joy in medicine

Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases.

For five decades, Junqueira's Basic Histology has been considered the hands-down best overview of human tissue structure and function. Accessible yet comprehensive, this trusted classic provides everything you need to know about cell biology and histology, integrating the material with that of biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology, and physiology. With coverage of all tissues, every organ system, organs, bone and cartilage, blood, skin, and more, Junqueira's is a valuable foundation for subsequent studies in pathology.

Concise, clearly written, and vibrantly illustrated, Langman's Medical Embryology, 15th Edition, makes complex embryology concepts approachable to help you build the clinical understanding essential to your success in medical practice, nursing, or other health professions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations clarify the stages of embryonic development with rich detail, and engaging learning features, clinical examples, and online review questions ready you for the challenges ahead on your exams and in clinical practice.

Dr. William Herring's Learning Radiology: Recognizing the Basics, 5th Edition, remains the leading introductory radiology text for medical students and others who are required to read and interpret common radiologic images. Using an easy-to-follow pattern recognition approach, this clearly written, highly illustrated text teaches how to differentiate normal and abnormal images of all modalities.

Most of us have a conversation we're avoiding. It might be a disagreement with a co-worker, or concern about a friend. It might be about something as important and inevitable as death. There are moments when we must talk, listen and be honest with each other. Why do we so often avoid these conversations outright, or feel they haven't gone as we had hoped? By bringing together her lifetime experience working in healthcare and psychological practice, Kathryn Mannix explores the conversations that matter most and how having them better can profoundly improve our lives.

Widely known and well-respected, The Little Black Book of Neurology has been a thorough yet portable reference in this complex field for more than 30 years, presenting definitions, classifications, and guidance on diagnosis and management for a wide range of neurological disorders.

This text has been designed as a supplement to the Textbook of Surgery to assist readers in their preparation for examinations and to test their knowledge of the principles and practice of surgery.

MIMS’ Medical Microbiology and Immunology has thorough yet easy-to-follow coverage of microbiology, infectious diseases, and immunology as a dynamic interplay between microbes and host. Covering the fundamentals of these closely linked disciplines, MIMS’ takes a systems approach to elaborate on epidemiology, clinical presentation, pathogenesis, and diagnostic approaches, as well as treatment and infection control considerations, supplemented by case-based examples. Complex scientific and clinical concepts are explained clearly and simply with the help of illustrations and a range of accompanying online content.

Written by a team of leading international experts, Neonatology at a Glance provides a concise and easy-to-read overview of neonatal medicine. Each topic is clearly explained over a two-page spread, aided by numerous diagrams and illustrations. It has been extensively updated to include recent advances in perinatal medicine, genetics, respiratory support, therapeutic hypothermia, antimicrobial stewardship, and family integrated care.

Perfect for residents, generalists, medical students, nurses, and other healthcare professionals who need a practical, working knowledge of gastroenterology. Up-to-date coverage of the full range of digestive diseases-including gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition- keeps you current with the latest information in the field.

Through five highly regarded editions, Ophthalmology, by Drs. Myron Yanoff and Jay S. Duker, has remained one of the premier texts in the field, providing authoritative guidance on virtually any ophthalmic condition and procedure you may encounter. The fully revised, 6th edition of this award-winning title continues to offer detailed, superbly illustrated content from cover to cover, with extensive updates throughout to keep you current with the latest advancements and fundamentals throughout every subspecialty area in the field. An easy-to-follow, templated format, convenient single volume, and coverage of both common and rare disorders make this title a must-have resource no matter what your level of experience.

The well-loved Oxford Handbook of General Practice is a lifeline for busy GPs, medical students, and healthcare professionals. With hands-on advice from experienced practitioners, this essential handbook covers the entire breadth and depth of general practice in small sections that can be located, read, and digested in seconds. Now in its fifth edition, the Handbook has been fully revised to reflect the major new developments shaping general practice today.

At the age of twenty-eight, with his Beijing-based science communications business doing well and a new relationship blossoming, Ben Bravery woke from a colonoscopy to be told he had stage 3 colorectal cancer. During eighteen long months of treatment, including aggressive chemotherapy, Ben felt scared, overwhelmed, sometimes invisible and often alone. As he recovered, it struck Ben that after everything he'd been through he couldn't go back to his former career. He needed a change - and he wanted to make change. He wanted to become a doctor.

Designed for easy portability and quick reference, Pocket ICU, Third Edition, provides essential information that intensivists, residents, and nurses need daily in the ICU. Helmed by Drs. Gyorgy Frendl and Avery Tung and written by an expert team of contributing authors, this fully updated volume in the popular Pocket Notebook series provides a concise and focused review of all areas of critical care in one easy-to-navigate, pocket-sized notebook.

This comprehensive handbook serves as a clear and concise reference text for Obstetrics and Gynaecology (O&G). It is organised using a clinical approach framework with hands-on practical advice on the diagnosis, management and treatment of O&G conditions.

Part of the successful PreTest series, the new edition of PreTest Emergency Medicine has been heavily revised to reflect all the critical new information to succeed on the Emergency Medicine rotation and on the shelf exam. It features hundreds of high yield questions, along with clear, targeted answers explaining both correct and incorrect answer choices.

The Registrar offers a rare insight into the world of a surgeon-in-the-making from one who has survived it. Told with compassion, skill and emotional heart, this gripping and moving novel goes behind the headlines to reveal the human experience of being both doctor and patient in a medical system at breaking point.

Quickly master what you need to know in all subspecialty areas of ophthalmology, including the latest information on today’s standard diagnostic techniques, medical treatments, and surgical options. Review of Ophthalmology, 4th Edition, is designed to maximize easy retention and quick recall, distilling key information into highly relevant and easy-to-digest bullet points. This bestselling review tool offers an efficient, convenient way to grasp complex material and prepare for your exams with confidence.

Crash Course Rheumatology and Orthopaedics directs you to the most fundamental aspects of rheumatology and orthopaedics, helping you focus on crucial concepts, test yourself, and bridge any knowledge gaps effectively. This portable guide will help you get the concise, targeted assistance you need for passing medical exams.

With 1,500+ test questions, this companion to the landmark pediatrics text Rudolph's Pediatrics, 23rd Edition provides the focused practice you need to ace your certification exam.

For half-a-century, no other text has provided such a solid grounding in basic science, anatomy, operative techniques, and more recently, professional development and leadership training, as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery. Written by the world's foremost surgeons, this landmark reference offers distinctly modern and all-encompassing coverage of every important topic in general surgery.

Today’s echocardiography continues to be a widely available, minimal-risk procedure with the potential to yield a vast amount of detailed, precise anatomic and physiologic information. Dr. Catherine Otto’s Textbook of Clinical Echocardiography, 7th Edition, clearly outlines how to master the core principles of echocardiographic imaging in order to make an initial diagnosis and integrate this data in clinical decision making for patients with a wide range of cardiovascular diseases

The unique and award-winning Unofficial Guides series is a collaboration between senior students, junior doctors and specialty experts. This combination of contributors understands what is essential to excel on your course, in exams and in practice – as well as the importance of presenting information in a clear, fun and engaging way. Packed with hints and tips from those in the know, when you are in a hurry and need a study companion you can trust, reach for an Unofficial Guide. Written by registrars who understand just what you need, The Unofficial Guide to Obstetrics and Gynaecology is designed to help you pass the O&G finals with ease. It contains clear summaries of the core topics, followed by more than 300 multiple choice questions and fully explained answers. High quality images, clinical cases and engaging content make it enjoyable to read. The guide will help you navigate a difficult specialty, which combines medicine and surgery. It is a book that you can come back to time and again during your study, and later when you are working on the wards.

Westmead Anaesthetic Manual has been assisting anaesthetists and intensive care nurses to save patient lives and improve patient safety care for the past 20 years. The publication provides a step-by-step guide to anaesthetic practice and reflects current best practice in the management of anaesthetic emergency.

Now in its seventh edition, Wheater's Functional Histology is designed to give students a working knowledge of histology, including the basic histological structures, tissue types and organ systems. The book shows you how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter.