New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library

This book summarizes the branch tracing method for bronchoscopic diagnosis. Cytopathological and histopathological diagnoses are essential to making prognoses and selecting appropriate treatment for peripheral pulmonary lesions, notably lung cancer.

This highly practical text on gynecologic emergencies includes sonographic findings and laparascopic investigations and management for point-of-care assessment. Gynecologists, emergency physicians, and other providers will find this an invaluable resource for information on what to do in a crisis.

A practical and structured overview of some of the most commonly used and easily available cognitive screening instruments applicable in the outpatient clinic and bedside setting. It now includes additional chapters on AD8 and also methodological aspects of systematic & cognitive screening instrument assessment from the Cochrane Dementia and Cognitive Improvement Group. Expert authors from around the world equip the reader with clear instructions on the usage of each screening instrument, its strengths and weaknesses, and the time required for administration.

Will help practitioners and surgeons learn and understand how best to diagnose and treat dysphagia. It provides a complete picture of dysphagia through the experiences of leaders who cover the latest techniques and evidence-based outcomes in the field. Coverage includes recent advances in the diagnosis and treatment of the disease processes that cause dysphagia, gastric problems, and surgical intervention.

Invasive ventilation is a frequently used lifesaving intervention in critical care. The ERS Practical Handbook of Invasive Mechanical Ventilation provides a concise "why and how to" guide to invasive ventilation, ensuring that caregivers can not only apply invasive ventilation, but obtain a thorough understanding of the underlying principles ensuring that they and their patients gain the most value from this intervention.

The ERS Practical Handbook of Noninvasive Ventilation provides a concise "why and how to" guide to NIV from the basics of equipment and patient selection to discharge planning and community care. Editor Anita K. Simonds has brought together leading clinicians and researchers in the field to provide an easy-to-read guide to all aspects of NIV.

This practical textbook comprehensively covers all the equipment used in the operating theatre and intensive care unit, including why it is used and any related safety concerns. It has been fully updated in its sixth edition to include new technologies introduced during the Covid-19 pandemic. This is ideal as the main text for all trainees undertaking the primary FRCA exams and is also suitable anyone who works with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners.

Provides a comprehensive survey of artificial intelligence concepts and methodologies with real-life applications in cardiovascular medicine. Authored by a senior physician-data scientist, the book presents an intellectual and academic interface between the medical and data science domains. The book's content consists of basic concepts of artificial intelligence and human cognition applications in cardiology and cardiac surgery. This portfolio ranges from big data, machine and deep learning, cognitive computing and natural language processing in cardiac disease states such as heart failure, hypertension and pediatric heart care.

**WARNING: Please be aware that practices in the Hospitals change all the time and it is your responsibility to ensure that you are following current correct procedures. Do not rely on the specific information in this book which may have changed since it was published or reflect local practice different from where you are.**
Reviews: "something special, out-of-the-ordinary ... I wish I had had a manual like this one at that stage of my career. I would have found the multitude of templates and lists a godsend ... an accessible, entertaining work about 'life in medicine'." "As a doctor who has recently completed her internship, on reflection, there are so many things I wish I knew before starting."

In Navigating the Challenges of Concussion, expert clinicians and researchers in the fields of neurology and neuropsychology teamed together to provide up-to-date and evidence-based information for patients and families affected by concussion or those at increased risk of sustaining concussions. Topics covered include how concussion is different from other forms of brain injury, what to expect after a concussion, and what to do if symptoms are persisting.

This new edition of an acclaimed text reviews the evidence for best practice in obstetrics to present the reader with the right information, with appropriate use of proven interventions and avoidance of ineffectual or harmful ones. The information is presented in the right format by summarizing evidence succinctly and clearly in tables and algorithms. The aim is to inform the clinician, to reduce errors, and "to make it easy to do it right."

The concise and rapidly accessible guide to general pathologic principles, and the pathology behind common and important conditions across all the major medical and surgical specialties. Uses the best-selling Oxford Handbook format to cover macroscopic and microscopic features alongside immunohistochemical and molecular pathology in a succinct and practical style. This edition is fully illustrated and now includes over new 50 full colour images and staging information for major malignancies to aid the reader and to explain the pathology of common conditions.

Quick access to key information, and fully updated to reflect changes in the palliative care landscape. Featuring an increased emphasis on non-malignant diseases such as dementia, this authoritative text combines evidence-based care with the bedside experience of experienced palliative care professionals to give the reader a complete overview of the physical, emotional, and spiritual aspects of care for the end-of-life patient.

Designed to provide concise information on rehabilitation aspects of long-term medical conditions affecting adults. The book has two sections, one on clinical symptom-specific approaches and another on condition-specific approaches. The clinical approach section outlines the management of common symptoms encountered in rehabilitation settings. The section on specific conditions provides information that will enable the reader to put the symptoms in context with the condition and provide direct management in a comprehensive and holistic manner. As the practice in rehabilitation goes beyond dealing with condition specific symptoms and is more focused on problem solving, the handbook provides a solid grounding in managing common practical problems in functions such as mobility, cognition, sex, relationships and work productivity.

This Monograph provides the clinician with an up-to-date summary of the substantial evidence in our understanding of pleural disease. It covers key aspects relevant to clinicians, including mechanisms, pathophysiology, epidemiology, diagnostics, relevant experimental models and interventions. Although broad in scope, readers will be able to reach into individual chapters to gain a focused summary of specific areas relevant to their clinical or scientific practice.

Careful monitoring of at-risk patients, early intervention, and timely escalation to the critical care unit from a general ward has been shown to improve patient clinical outcomes. The first text of its kind in this important area, designed to help you recognize the fundamental signs of deterioration in patients on medical wards and ensure that transfer is made to the ICUbefore the development of adverse clinical outcomes.

The Manual has been split into two volumes for better portability. Volume I, Basic Laparoscopy and Endoscopy covers the fundamentals and procedures performed during surgical residency. Volume I will be the first volume used by students, residents, and allied healthcare professional trainees. Material has been added to these fundamentals and procedures that will also be of interest to experienced surgeons.

The much-anticipated revision of the second edition of The SAGES Manual: Fundamentals of Laparoscopy, Thoracoscopy, and GI Endoscopy, has been completely restructured, reorganized, and revised. Volume II, Advanced Laparoscopy and Endoscopy covers more advanced procedures, generally taught during fellowship. All of the sections have been reorganized with a critical eye to the needs of the modern minimal access surgeon.

This book provides detailed information on the nosology, pathology, pathogenesis, clinical presentation, diagnosis and treatment of fibro-inflammatory disorders, rare diseases that often display systemic organ involvement. Among the conditions considered are IgG4-related disease, sclerosing cholangitis, Hashimoto's and Riedel's thyroiditis, retroperitoneal fibrosis/chronic periaortitis, mediastinal fibrosis, Erdheim-Chester disease, gadolinium-induced fibrosis, and sclerosing mesenteritis.

Thoracic ultrasound is now considered an essential bedside tool in respiratory medicine. Despite this, several aspects are yet to be studied and assessed, and international consensus remains limited. With this in mind, the Guest Editors of this Monograph have selected a broad range of authors who are recognised experts, represent different specialities and use thoracic ultrasound in different settings. The result is that each chapter not only reflects expert opinion at a single site in Europe, but provides a multidisciplinary and multicentre view.

A companion to the Unofficial Guide to Radiology. This book teaches systematic analysis of Orthopaedic X Rays. The layout is designed to make the book as relevant to clinical practice as possible; the X-rays are presented in the context of a real life scenario. The reader is asked to interpret the X-ray before turning over the page to reveal a model report accompanied by a fully colour annotated version of the X-ray. Uniquely, all cases provide realistic high quality X Ray images, are annotated in full colour, and are fully reported, following international radiology reporting guidelines.

The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age.

This unique and comprehensive atlas by an expert practioner provides an innovative pictorial guide to flexible bronchoscopy, one of the most exciting and challenging procedures in respiratory medicine today. A step-by-step guide to the use of bronchoscopic techniques, interpretation of images and differential diagnoses.

Incorporates both medical knowledge and clinical judgement to help you achieve the best possible results on practical exams. This carefully compiled study resource provides more than 165 relevant cases covering every aspect of the field: optics/refraction, neuro-ophthalmology/orbit, pediatrics/strabismus, external disease/adnexa, anterior segment, and posterior segment. Large photos highlight each case, enhancing your knowledge and reinforcing key aspects of diagnosis.

This invaluable little pocketbook takes the reader through the basics of chest X-ray examination and interpretation. It covers the range of conditions clinicians are likely to encounter on the wards, and guides the reader through the diagnostic process based on the appearance of the abnormality shown.

This fourth edition continues with the role-play style of the highly regarded previous editions. Inspired by real-life patient presentations, the cases allow learners to practise their clinical examination skills. Each case includes instructions for the exam candidate, role-playing patient and case facilitator.

Offering a strong focus on investigative methods and action strategies for diagnosis of musculoskeletal issues, Clinical Diagnosis in Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation: Case by Case is a must-have resource for quick reference during daily rounds, as well as a handy study and review tool for oral boards.

Comprehensive guide for the consultants, private practitioners, medical teachers, and postgraduates. Quick reference book for the beginners and veterans alike. All information related to medical disorders in pregnancy with practical points. Easy reference in day-to-day practice.

The care that a patient receives in the first hours after surgery is crucial to minimizing the risk of complications. The recovery room staff must manage both comatose and physiologically unstable patients, and deal with the immediate post-operative care of surgical patients. The Complete Recovery Room Book, Sixth edition, provides nurses, surgeons, and anaesthetists with up-to-date guidance and practical tips on the post-operative management of patients.

A concise overview of the common dermatological conditions most likely to present in general medicine. Published in association with DermNet New Zealand.

Based on DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology, Eleventh Edition, this comprehensive review book covers the entire specialty of oncology, including new or expanded coverage of molecular biology; epidemiology and etiology; screen and prevention; genetics; clinical trials; and immunotherapy.

Spanning a wide range of medical specialties and practice settings, Diagnostic Ultrasound, 6th Edition, provides complete, detailed information on the latest techniques for ultrasound imaging of the whole body; image-guided procedures; fetal, obstetric, and pediatric imaging; and much more. This thoroughly revised, two-volume set, edited by Drs. Carol M. Rumack and Deborah Levine, remains the most comprehensive and authoritative ultrasound resource available. Up-to-date guidance from experts in the field keep you abreast of expanding applications of this versatile imaging modality and help you understand the "how" and "why" of ultrasound use and interpretation.

Master the evaluation and treatment of swallowing disorders! This book provides the information you need to diagnose and manage dysphagia in patients of all ages. Emphasizing evidence-based practice, this complete resource covers topics from esophageal disorders to respiratory and iatrogenic disorders. This edition adds a new Aging and Dysphagia chapter and is updated with the latest research and advances in dysphagia management.

Authored by current and former physicians at the Mayo Clinic, Faust's Anesthesiology Review, 6th Edition, is an invaluable review source for success on exams and in practice. It covers a broad range of important and timely topics in a succinct, easy-to-read format, providing the essential information you need to master the latest advances, procedures, guidelines, and protocols in anesthesiology.

Accessible writing style, basic CTG interpretation, use of correct terminology, common pitfalls associated with equipment usage, underlying pathophysiology, clinical trial data and relevant clinical scenarios - new features include an expanded author team to provide an international perspective, the latest guidelines from NICE and FIGO, new and expanded information on clinical assessment and medical litigation, and a new chapter on competency testing in CTG interpretation prior to practice.

Authored and reviewed by experienced GPs and medical editors these books focus on helping GP trainees prepare for their clinical exams. They are recommended for GP trainees studying for the RACGP Clinical Competency Exam (CCE). Volume 1 includes 37 ten-minute “short” clinical cases designed to be practised via video conferencing to help prepare for the CCE and 23 nineteen-minute “long” clinical cases designed to help hone in on your clinical practice and exam performance techniques. Volume 2 contains 42 additional clinical cases for study and exam preparation.

Authored and reviewed by experienced GPs and medical editors, this new second edition focuses on helping GP trainees prepare for their written exams. The book contains details about how to prepare for the written exams, tips and advice for success, how to answer an AKT question and a KFP case, 27 AKT single best answer practice questions, 2 AKT extended match questions, 30 KFP practice cases.

Get Through MRCOG Part 1, Second Edition, provides a selection of questions covering the basic and applied sciences relevant to the clinical practice of obstetrics and gynaecology and mapped to the RCOG Knowledge Areas in the MCQ style. With appropriate explanations of the answers and references to the relevant guidelines, this is a definitive resource for those taking the MRCOG Part 1 examination.

The field's most trusted and comprehensive pocket guide to treating common and rare problems in newborns. A true essential for nearly three decades, this streamlined pocket reference provides logically organized, quickly retrievable information on basic and advanced management techniques for the neonate. disorders, and pharmacology.

Habif's Clinical Dermatology provides superbly illustrated, easy-to-follow guidance on skin conditions commonly seen in practice. This bestselling manual helps you identify, treat, and manage even hard-to-diagnose skin disorders and provides state-of-the-art answers on every aspect of dermatologic care.

Provides evidence-based approaches to the specific technical aspects of delivering radiation treatment. Easy to read and relevant to general practice, this popular pocket-sized manual leads radiation oncology trainees and clinicians through the basics of radiotherapy planning and delivery for all major malignancies in a step-by-step manner.

An indispensable review and study guide for anyone preparing for the challenging FRACP exam. This up-to-date resource fully aligns with the current FRACP core training curriculum, containing a wealth of MCQs as well as extended-matching questions (EMQs).

A new edition of Cautionary Tales that builds on Professor Murtagh’s four decades of experience with a new co-author Sara Bird. Originally based on Murtagh’s own practice in rural Victoria, these cautionary tales are authentic cases in clinical practice and the mistakes and problems that GPs can encounter. Each story is an engaging example of the common mistakes which can occur in general practice and provides the reader with valuable insights.

John Murtagh's General Practice is widely recognised as the gold standard reference for general practice and primary health care. Its emphasis on the importance of clinical reasoning, early diagnosis and treatment makes this the essential reference for medical students, trainees and general practitioners. Presented in alphabetical order and in a convenient pocket-sized format, John Murtagh's General Practice Companion Handbook 8e summarises key content from the main book. It is an accessible, trusted and portable source of information for medical students and experienced professionals.

Concise, clearly written, and vibrantly illustrated, Langman's Medical Embryology, 15th Edition, makes complex embryology concepts approachable to help you build the clinical understanding essential to your success in medical practice, nursing, or other health professions. Hundreds of full-color illustrations clarify the stages of embryonic development with rich detail, and engaging learning features, clinical examples, and online review questions ready you for the challenges ahead on your exams and in clinical practice.

Now fully revised, Macleod’s remains the textbook of choice for medical students, junior doctors, nurses and allied health practitioners who understand that excellence in clinical examination is integral to good practice. The fifteenth edition will teach you how to take a history and carry out proficient clinical examination, in order to elicit the key clinical symptoms and signs of disease. It covers general principles, relevant history, examination and investigations for all the major body systems – and how to effectively apply these skills to specific clinical situations and prepare for assessment.

While TB is an uncommon disease in Australia, it is essential that Australian clinicians deliver expert and careful management to the cases that do arise, especially as our population of new Australians increases, and our tourism industry flourishes, bringing with it more opportunities for exposure to TB. Fortunately, TB is a disease treatable with antibiotics, but its successful management requires informed clinicians.

Murtagh's Practice Tips is a collection of basic diagnostic and therapeutic skills that can be used in the offices of general practitioners throughout the world. The application of these simple skills makes the art of the profession more interesting and challenging, in addition to providing rapid relief and cost-effective therapy to patients.

For students and clinical professionals who are learning anatomy, participating in a dissection lab, sharing anatomy knowledge with patients, or refreshing their anatomy knowledge, the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy illustrates the body, system by system, in clear, brilliant detail from a clinician's perspective.

The definitive reference for quick access to frequently used drugs in all phases of care for cardiac patients. Updated to include the latest guidelines and evidence-based implications, it offers clear and concise explanations and pertinent clinical facts for all classes of cardiac drugs, as well as all the latest clinical trial results and evidence for the pharmacologic treatment of heart disease.

The well-loved Oxford Handbook of General Practice is a lifeline for busy GPs, medical students, and healthcare professionals. With hands-on advice from experienced practitioners, this essential handbook covers the entire breadth and depth of general practice in small sections that can be located, read, and digested in seconds. Now in its fifth edition, the Handbook has been fully revised to reflect the major new developments shaping general practice today.

Now in its third edition, the Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes is an up-to-date, objective and comprehensive text that covers the full scope of endocrinology and diabetes. It contains wide ranging and pragmatic advice on diagnosis and clear guidelines for recommended management, while also covering the scientific principles that underlie the medical practice in this important field.

The Oxford Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology is an up-to-date, objective and readable text that covers the full speciality of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. This comprehensive and rigorously referenced textbook will be a vital resource in print and online for all practising clinicians.

Offering rapid, portable access to key concepts and principles of pathology from Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition, this up-to-date Pocket Companion makes it easy to locate essential information on the go. The condensed, at-a-glance format, organized to parallel the parent text, is ideal for quick review-anytime, anywhere.

This book is both a personal review of experience in the diagnosis of child abuse and its differential diagnosis, intended to instruct beginners, and a reliable source of information for the more experienced health care provider. Emphasis is placed on normal findings that simulate abuse, true and false diagnoses of metabolic bone disease as the cause of fractures, abusive head trauma, and the problem of zealous abuse-denying "experts."

More than 1,800 outstanding illustrations that vividly depict the most common diseases covered in pathology courses and USMLE exams. Covering all major topic areas in organ system pathology and incorporating the latest understanding of pathophysiology and molecular medicine, it is a quick visual reference or review for students and professionals alike.

A dynamic new author team ensures that this classic text retains its signature anecdotal style, while revising the content to bring you fully up to date. Widely used for board exam preparation, as well as for everyday reference in practice, this leading resource equips you to effectively and efficiently diagnose the complete range of neoplastic and non-neoplastic entities.

SBAs and EMQs for MRCOG Part 2 is an up-to-date revision guide designed to help candidates prepare for MRCOG Part 2 examination. Carefully mapped to the latest RCOG exam syllabus, the book contains 300 single-best-answer (SBA) questions and 300 extended matching questions (EMQ) with explanatory answers and directions to further reading.

Textbook of Surgery is a core book for medical and surgical students providing a comprehensive overview of general and speciality surgery. Each topic is written by an expert in the field. The book focuses on the principles and techniques of surgical management of common diseases. Great emphasis is placed on problem-solving to guide students and junior doctors through their surgical training.

More than 800 case-based Q&A combined with the authority of the field's leading text make this the best review for any Emergency Medicine examination All answer options, both correct and incorrect, are keyed to Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Eighth Edition, the field's most authoritative and trusted text.

Now in its fourth edition, the Toxicology Handbook is Australia's leading reference guide for quick and evidence-informed decision making on treatment of the acutely poisoned patient. The book has been streamlined and fully updated to provide a comprehensive yet concise guide for all medical practitioners and health-care professionals who deal with poisonings. It contains quickly accessible information on poisons, toxins, antidotes, envenomings and antivenoms, and uses a structured and rigorous risk assessment-based approach to guide appropriate treatment decisions.

The unique and award-winning Unofficial Guides series is a collaboration between senior students, junior doctors and specialty experts. This combination of contributors understands what is essential to excel on your course, in exams and in practice – as well as the importance of presenting information in a clear, fun and engaging way. Packed with hints and tips from those in the know, when you are in a hurry and need a study companion you can trust, reach for an Unofficial Guide. This guide has everything you need in one place – including common questions, model answers, how to present your answers to examiners, and numerous practical tips for success – all written by doctors and students who have recently completed the exam process.