LibGuides: New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library: New books: Paediatrics

New books relevant to Paediatrics

These new books and e-books have been recently added to the collection at the Campbelltown Hospital Library and are available to borrow.

Interested in a specific print title? Click on the title or cover image to link into the Library catalog and then on 'Reserve' We will then find the book and you will be emailed when it is available for collection. Contact the Library for assistance, we are here to help!

Interested in an ebook? Just follow the links. You will need to use an Athens account to login on a personal device.

Not a member of the Library? If you are a member of staff or a student on clinical placement fill in a membership request form

Suggestion for purchase? Fill in a Resource recommendation or contact the Library.

New eBooks 2025

Advanced Paediatric Life Support by Advanced Life Support Group (ALSG) (Editor); Stephanie Smith
Call Number: Proquest eBook

ISBN: 9781119716136

Publication Date: 2023-10-30

The gold standard for treating paediatric emergencies- the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care. Written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group, the book uses their structured approach: a tried and tested practical method of treating children during the crucial first few hours of a life-threatening illness or injury. Advanced Paediatric Life Support is used by doctors, nurses and allied health professionals dealing with emergencies in children.
Family Engagement in Mental Health Interventions for Young Children by Laura Nabors (Editor); Jessica Dym Bartlett (Editor)
Call Number: ProQuest eBook

ISBN: 9783031479168

Publication Date: 2023-12-20

This book examines the critical nature of engaging families in mental health interventions that promote well-being and resilience in young children, from birth to 8 years of age, with a particular focus on the importance of equity and systems of care. It addresses evidence-based and evidence-informed interventions to promote family engagement to improve behavioral, social, and emotional functioning of infants and toddlers, preschoolers, and children in the early elementary school years.
Point-Of-Care Ultrasound for the Neonatal and Pediatric Intensivist by Yogen Singh (Editor); Cecile Tissot (Editor); Maria Victoria Fraga (Editor); Thomas Conlon (Editor)
Call Number: Proquest eBook

ISBN: 9783031265372

Publication Date: 2023-08-25

This book, written by internationally renowned experts, is a comprehensive text covering all aspects and recommendations regarding the use of POCUS for critically ill neonates and children. Structured to address and expand upon recently published international evidence-based POCUS guidelines endorsed by the European Society of Paediatric and Neonatal Intensive Care (ESPNIC). The book is richly illustrated and includes a robust collection of individual POCUS images and cases.
Psychological Approaches to the Treatment of Pediatric Obesity by Crystal Stack Lim; Elvin Thomaseo Burton
Call Number: ProQuest eBook

ISBN: 9781433838927

Publication Date: 2024-05-01

This book offers a comprehensive review of current research and theoretical approaches to pediatric obesity. Pediatric obesity is a significant public health concern that currently affects 1 in 5 children and adolescents. Prevention and treatment of this complex health condition requires a multifaceted approach that acknowledges the intersecting roles of gender, race and ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and other factors that play key roles in the onset and maintenance of pediatric obesity.
Seizures and epilepsy in children : a comprehensive guide, , 4th edition, by Eileen P.G. Vining, Sarah C. Doerrer, Christa W. Habela, Adam L. Hartman, Sarah A. Kelley, Eric H. Kossoff, Cynthia F. Salorio, Samata Singhi, Carl E. Stafstrom
Call Number: WL 385/35

ISBN: 9781421445090

Publication Date: 2023

The most comprehensive and practical guide available for caregivers of children who have seizures and epilepsy, now completely updated. For more than 30 years, parents, caregivers, and health care providers have trusted Seizures and Epilepsy in Children to provide comprehensive, science-based information and practical answers to the most common questions about these conditions. This new edition, completely revised and updated, offers guidance on: * diagnostic testing and the latest treatments * recommendations for the best devices, apps, and websites * driving, health insurance, and playing sports * navigating school and other environments * mental health issues and counseling * coping with disability * side effects from medications This new edition also features dedicated chapters on diet, complementary and alternative medicine, and rescue medicines.
Donation from UNSW Sydney and the South Western Sydney Clinical School.

New Paediatrics print books purchased in 2025

ADHD Prescribing Guide for Australian Healthcare Professionals by Australasian ADHD Professionals Association
Call Number: Print book

Publication Date: 2024

The prescribing of medication for ADHD has been a hot topic of discussion in Australia in recent years, with data revealing significant differences in ADHD prescribing across the country, raising questions about medication choice, dosages, and recipient criteria. Developed by AADPA, the ADHD Prescribing Guide For Australian Healthcare Professionals aims to assist qualified healthcare professionals in navigating the world of ADHD medication.
Australian evidence-based clinical guideline for Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder ADHD by Australasian ADHD Professionals Association
Call Number: Print book

Publication Date: 2022

This guideline and related documentation can also be found online. This clinical practice guideline is for the identification, diagnosis, and treatment of people with ADHD.It outlines a roadmap for ADHD clinical practice, research and policy, now and in the future, with a focus on everyday functioning and quality of life for people who are living with ADHD and those who support them.
Case Files Pediatrics, Sixth Edition by Mark D. Hormann; Margaret C. McNeese; Sheela L. Lahoti; Mark Jason Sanders; Abby M. Geltemeyer; Eugene C. Toy; Robert J. Yetman
Call Number: Print book

ISBN: 9781260474954

Publication Date: 2021-10-08

Realistic patient cases to help sharpen clinical decision-making skills The 60 cases in Case Files Pediatrics feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner.
Examination of the Newborn: A Practical Guide, 4th edition by Helen Baston; Heather Durward
Call Number: Print book

ISBN: 9781032667829

Publication Date: 2025-03-06

Newborn babies are examined at around 6 to 72 hours after their birth to rule out major congenital abnormalities and reassure the parents that their baby is healthy. This practical text is a step-by-step guide for all practitioners who undertake this clinical examination. Examination of the Newborn encourages the reader to view each mother and baby as unique, taking into account their experiences preconceptually, antenatally and through childbirth.
Menstrupedia a graphic book : the must read period book for girls by Aditi Gupta and Tuhin Paul
Call Number: Print book

ISBN: 9788193174203

Publication Date: 2023

What makes this book great? Full of practical guidance drawn from the real life examples of young women. Adapted specifically to resonate with Australian parents and children. Thoroughly researched and medically accurate content vetted by some of Perth's leading gynaecologists. Used by over 25,000 schools globally.
Paediatrics Lecture Notes by Jonathan C. Darling; James Yong
Call Number: Print book

ISBN: 9781119552871

Publication Date: 2021-10-18

Paediatrics Lecture Notes covers the core aspects of caring for children in clinical practice, offering concise yet detailed information on examination, emergency care, nutrition, immunisation, infant and adolescent health, and more. Designed for medical students and junior doctors alike, this compact and easy-to-use textbook guides readers through each essential aspect of paediatric care, from normal and abnormal childhood development, to cardiology, gastroenterology and metabolic disorders.

New eBooks 2024

Pathological Demand Avoidance Syndrome - my daughter is not naughty by Jane Alison Sherwin; Phil Christie (Foreword by); Ruth Fidler (Contribution by)
Call Number: ProQuest eBook

ISBN: 9781784500856

Publication Date: 2015-01-21

Jane Alison Sherwin's honest and uplifting account provides insight into the challenges of bringing up a child with Pathological Demand Avoidance (PDA). After years of misdiagnosis, Jane's daughter, Mollie, was diagnosed with PDA at the age of seven, and we follow her experiences pre and post diagnosis to age 10 as she attends school, interacts with the outside world and approaches adolescence. Throughout, Jane provides commentary on her daughter's behaviour and the impact it has on her family, explaining the 'why' of PDA traits, including the need for control, meltdowns, obsessive behaviour and sensory issues.
Handbook of cognitive behavioral therapy for pediatric medical conditions by Friedberg, Robert D.;Paternostro, Jennifer K.
Call Number: ProQuest eBook

ISBN: 9783030216832

Publication Date: 2019

This handbook offers a comprehensive review of cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) for working in integrated pediatric behavioral health care settings. It provides research findings, explanations of theoretical concepts and principles, and descriptions of therapeutic procedures as well as case studies from across broad conceptual areas. Chapters discuss the value of integrated care, diversity issues, ethical considerations, and the necessary adaptations. In addition, chapters address specific types of pediatric conditions and patients, such as the implementation of CBT with patients with gastrointestinal complaints, enuresis, encopresis, cancer, headaches, epilepsy, sleep problems, diabetes, and asthma.

New 2024 print books to borrow from the Library

ADHD Prescribing Guide for Australian Healthcare Professionals by Australasian ADHD Professionals Association
Call Number: Print book

Publication Date: 2024

The prescribing of medication for ADHD has been a hot topic of discussion in Australia in recent years, with data revealing significant differences in ADHD prescribing across the country, raising questions about medication choice, dosages, and recipient criteria. Developed by AADPA, the ADHD Prescribing Guide For Australian Healthcare Professionals aims to assist qualified healthcare professionals in navigating the world of ADHD medication.
Gomella's neonatology : management, procedures, on-call problems, diseases, and drugs, 8th edition by Tricia Lacy Gomella; Fabien Eyal; Fayez Bany-Mohammed
Call Number: Print book

ISBN: 9781259644818

Publication Date: 2020

The field's most trusted and comprehensive pocket guide to treating common and rare problems in newborns. A true essential for nearly three decades, this streamlined pocket reference provides logically organized, quickly retrievable information on basic and advanced management techniques for the neonate. disorders, and pharmacology.
Paediatric Handbook, 10th ed. by Kate Harding (Editor); Daniel S. Mason (Editor); Daryl Efron (Editor)
Call Number: Print book

ISBN: 9781119647072

Publication Date: 2021-01-05

Paediatric Handbook is a trusted guide to managing common and serious childhood illnesses and disorders. This bestselling resource provides students and practitioners across medical, nursing, and allied health fields with authoritative and up-to-date information on a comprehensive range of paediatric topics, enabling readers to make the appropriate decisions at the point of care.
Paediatrics and Medications : A Resource for Guiding Nurses in Medication Administration by Kerry Reid-Searl, Pauline Davies and Rinnah Peacock
Call Number: Print book

ISBN: 9780729544641

Publication Date: 2024

Unique resource on medication administration to support students and nurses. This handy new guide offers concise and specific information for nurses on preparing and administering medications for children in Australia and New Zealand. Unlike other medication administration textbooks, Paediatrics and Medications provides comprehensive information, tips and evidence-based strategies directly related to paediatric patients. Focusing on the ‘how to’ of safe medication administration for paediatric patients, this resource also includes a focus on health literacy considerations, techniques in play and other unique elements specifically related to children and their caregivers. This book is perfect for students undertaking paediatric nursing units of study, and is also highly clinically relevant across broader nursing practice.
Pediatric Rehabilitation, Sixth Edition by Kevin P. Murphy (Editor); Mary A. McMahon (Editor); Amy J. Houtrow (Editor)
Call Number: Print book

ISBN: 9780826147066

Publication Date: 2020-10-28

This revised and greatly expanded sixth edition continues to set the standard of care for clinicians and remains the premier reference dedicated to education and training in the field of pediatric rehabilitation medicine. Under the direction of a new editorial team, this text brings together renowned specialists from all sectors of the pediatric rehabilitation community to provide the most current and comprehensive information with evidence-based discussions throughout. The sixth edition encompasses substantial updates from beginning to end and addresses emerging topics in the field with eight entirely new chapters devoted to brachial plexus palsy, oncology, robotics, genetics, spasticity management, rheumatology, burns, and advocacy.
Rudolph's Pediatrics, 23rd Edition by Mark W. Kline; Susan M. Blaney; Angelo P. Giardino; Jordan S. Orange; Daniel J. Penny; Gordon E. Schutze; Lara S. Shekerdemian; Abraham M. Rudolph; Colin D. Rudolph
Call Number: WS 100/32a (2v.)

ISBN: 9781259588594

Publication Date: 2018-08-21

Presented in full color, the Twenty-Third Edition provides an up-to-date, in-depth survey of pediatric medicine unmatched by any other text. With its algorithmic approach to pediatric systems, the book facilitates the diagnosis and treatment of both common and uncommon pediatric illnesses; and it reflects new technologies and advances in molecular medicine that continue to evolve with current thinking about normal childhood development and pediatric disease processes.

Doody's e-book collection

We recently purchased both the 2021 and 2022 Doody collections of key medical ebooks. Bowral Hospital paid for 2021 and Liverpool Hospital paid for 2022. Access is available across the District and we hope will be of great benefit to staff.

Doody's Collection
Doody's Collection includes key current medical, nursing and allied health e-books rated as essential texts and recommended for inclusion by a panel of expert librarian reviewers. It includes titles such as 'DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation' and 'The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management'.

A few of the 90 books included are listed below:

Emans, Laufer, Goldstein's Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology by S. Jean Emans; Marc R. Laufer; Amy DiVasta
Call Number: Doody eBook collection

ISBN: 9781975107444

Publication Date: 2019-12-05

Offering multidisciplinary guidance to all health care practitioners who provide clinical care for children and adolescents, extensively revised to keep you up to date in this complex field. You'll find comprehensive coverage of the full spectrum of medical and surgical approaches to common and uncommon problems - everything from infants with vulvar rashes, to the child with early or late onset of puberty, to adolescents and young adults with ovarian cysts or STDs. 19 new chapters, including all-new content on working with LGBTQ teens; transgender adolescents undergoing surgical/hormonal transition; gynecologic cancers; abuse, violence, and human trafficking; caring for athletes; bone health; gastrointestinal issues; surgical techniques, vaginoscopy, and laparoscopy, as well as new videos on surgical procedures.
Fleisher and Ludwig's Textbook of Pediatric Emergency Medicine by James Chamberlain (Editor); Jane Lavelle (Editor); Joshua Nagler (Editor); Joan E. Shook (Editor)
Call Number: Doody eBook collection

ISBN: 9781975121518

Publication Date: 2020-10-01

Long considered the gold standard comprehensive reference for diagnosing and managing emergent health issues in children, an essential resource for clinicians at all levels of training and experience. The revised eighth edition has been updated from cover to cover, providing practical, evidence-based content to help you meet any clinical challenge in the emergency care of pediatric patients.
Handbook of Pediatric Surgery by Jessica Buicko; Miguel Lopez-Viego; Michael A. Lopez
Call Number: Doody eBook collection

ISBN: 9781496388537

Publication Date: 2018-11-24

Written by residents for residents and medical students, filled with must-know information for the pediatric surgery rotation. In a concise, easy-to-reference format, it covers management of the pediatric surgical patient, pediatric trauma surgery, common pediatric surgical problems, and pediatric surgical oncology. Chapters on surgical problems clearly present historical background, relevant anatomy, epidemiology and etiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, surgical management, and postoperative care. Additional chapters cover evaluation and examination, pediatric anesthesia, common pediatric drug dosing, and more.
Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics by John M. Flynn (Editor); Stuart Weinstein (Editor)
Call Number: Doody eBook collection

ISBN: 9781975108663

Publication Date: 2020-04-29

Complete, expert coverage of normal musculoskeletal development and the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of the entire range of abnormalities, with emphasis on evidence-based decision making in treatment selection. New chapter on Pain Management in Pediatric Orthopaedics and newly consolidated chapters on neuromuscular disorders and early-onset spine deformities. More contributing authors from outside North America , as well as new editor Dr. Haemish Crawford from Starship Children's Hospital in Auckland, New Zealand.
Pediatric Radiation Oncology by Louis S. Constine; Nancy J. Tarbell; Edward C. Halperin
Call Number: Doody eBook collection

ISBN: 9781496342867

Publication Date: 2016-08-27

Continues to be the premier reference that offers comprehensive coverage of this challenging area for the radiation oncologist in training or practice, medical radiation physicists and dosimetrists, as well as pediatric oncologists and others interested in understanding childhood malignancies. This definitive text has been completely updated to reflect recent advances in the field. Synthesizes data on pathogenesis, pathology, diagnostic workup, staging, treatment approaches (particularly radiation therapy--indications, doses, volumes, and treatment planning), and toxic outcomes, as well as guidance on decision making when data is lacking.
Pizzo and Poplack's Pediatric Oncology by Susan M. Blaney; Lee J. Helman; Peter C. Adamson
Call Number: Doody eBook collection

ISBN: 9781975124793

Publication Date: 2020-09-02

This award-winning text is the single most comprehensive reference on the biology and genetics of childhood cancer, its diagnosis and multimodal treatment, and long-term management. Covers all aspects of the breadth and depth of childhood cancer, including basic science, diagnostic tools, principles of treatment, and clinical trials, as well as highly detailed, definitive coverage of each pediatric malignancy. Includes updates to current treatment approaches based on the results of recently completed and published clinical research.
Rockwood and Wilkins Fractures in Children by Peter M. Waters (Editor); David L. Skaggs (Editor); John M. Flynn (Editor)
Call Number: Doody eBook collection

ISBN: 9781496386540

Publication Date: 2019-03-27

With contributions from experts in orthopaedic surgery, the latest edition of this comprehensive resource presents up-to-date technical procedures for treating a wide range of fractures in children and adolescents.
Staying Out of Trouble in Pediatric Orthopaedics by David Skaggs (Editor); John M. Flynn (Editor)
Call Number: Doody eBook collection

ISBN: 9781975103958

Publication Date: 2020-05-01

Filled with pearls and wisdom from experts in the field, provides practical advice on how to deal with commonly seen issues as well as those that are less common but that pose grave threats to the patient.
Stocker and Dehner's Pediatric Pathology by Aliya N. Husain; Louis P. Dehner
Call Number: Doody eBook collection

ISBN: 9781975144814

Publication Date: 2021-06-17

Virtually all aspects of the pathology in children are unique in pathogenesis and histogenesis from the moment of conception to adolescence whose range includes developmental anomalies to dysembryonic neoplasms. This book provides encyclopedic but very usable coverage of this complex subspecialty, detailing all major aspects of the pathologic anatomy of childhood disorders ranging from chromosomal syndromes and infections to forensic pathology.