New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library

A straightforward yet comprehensive guide to planning, implementing, and evaluating EBP and QI projects to improve healthcare quality and outcomes. Building on the legacy built by Geri LoBiondo-Wood and Judi Haber, this edition is newly tailored to meet the goals and strategic priorities of a variety of healthcare settings, with the tenets of ANCC Magnet designation, JCAHO accreditation, and other current regulatory and quality standards integrated throughout.

Learn the clinical nursing skills you will use every day and prepare for success on the Next-Generation NCLEX® Examination! Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 11th Edition provides clear, step-by-step guidelines to more than 200 basic, intermediate, and advanced skills. With more than 1,200 full-color illustrations, a nursing process framework, and a focus on evidence-based practice, this manual helps you learn to think critically, ask the right questions at the right time, and make timely decisions.

Now in its sixth edition, this highly acclaimed core text for nurse educators continues to be the only resource to address clinical teaching in all settings. Delivering comprehensive and detailed information on planning, guiding, and evaluating learning activities for prelicensure and graduate nursing students, the sixth edition is distinguished by its focus on clinical teaching in a wide range of settings including teaching in online environments.

Immerse yourself in the ideas, theories, and techniques of effective communication in the workplace! Communication in Nursing, 10th Edition adopts a uniquely practical and personal approach to the demands of today's nursing practice, providing extensive examples, exercises, and techniques that help you apply communication skills in a variety of clinical settings.

An introduction to contemporary ethical issues in health care, designed especially for Canadian audiences. The book is organized around six key concepts: beneficence, autonomy, truth-telling, confidentiality, justice, and integrity. Each of these concepts is explained and discussed with reference to professional and legal norms. The discussion is then supplemented by case studies that exemplify the relevant concepts and show how each applies in health care and nursing practice. This new fourth edition includes an added chapter on end-of-life issues, and it is revised throughout to reflect the latest developments on topics such as global health ethics, cultural competence, social media, and palliative sedation, as well as ethical issues relating to COVID-19.

AWHONN's Core Curriculum for Maternal-Newborn Nursing, 6th Edition, the definitive resource for nurses taking certification examinations, provides the most up-to-date, accurate information available on today's maternal-newborn nursing practice. Its concise outline format covers concepts of reproduction, fetal development, normal pregnancy, intrapartum and postpartum periods, the normal newborn, complications in the mother and newborn, and ethical issues.

The internationally acclaimed text Critical Care Nursing is designed to support undergraduate and postgraduate students and critical care nurses in practice to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to deliver high quality patient care to contribute to improved patient outcomes. The fifth edition has been fully updated with the latest evidence, resources and tools designed to help you master a range of competencies, from patient monitoring to delivering multidimensional interventions, using complex lifesaving equipment, and managing the deteriorating patient.

Feeling unsure about your critical care nursing skills? Time to gain some confident know-how. This friendly, fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise direction on treating numerous acute and life-threatening issues. Absorb current best practices on critical care basics and specialized areas such as advanced life support measures, multisystem trauma, and treating specialized needs.

Explore the intricate world of pediatric nursing. With a focus on directing students toward a profound comprehension of critical concepts, this edition surpasses mere repetition of medical-surgical content by expanding upon the foundation of students' prior knowledge. Recognizing the unique intricacies of caring for children, this comprehensive text underscores simpler, fundamental concepts that pave the way toward mastering more complex problem-solving scenarios. Notable additions in the 5th edition include phonetic spelling of difficult-to-pronounce key terms, updated growth and development guidelines, expanded diversity and inclusion content, and COVID-related insights to ensure that students receive the most relevant and up-to-date information in the field of pediatric nursing.

Every day, registered nurses are required to act and make decisions based on their moral and legal obligations. They must build professional, culturally safe relationships with patients, understand patient rights and the requirements of consent, and prevent and manage clinical mistakes in order to avoid negligence and abuse of power. Now in its fifth edition, Ethics and Law for Australian Nurses guides students through foundational concepts such as personhood, autonomy, trust, consent and vulnerability, and considers a nurse's responsibilities in relation to voluntary assisted dying, abortions and advanced care directives.

Newborn babies are examined at around 6 to 72 hours after their birth to rule out major congenital abnormalities and reassure the parents that their baby is healthy. This practical text is a step-by-step guide for all practitioners who undertake this clinical examination. Examination of the Newborn encourages the reader to view each mother and baby as unique, taking into account their experiences preconceptually, antenatally and through childbirth.

Anxiety, asthma, dementia, depression, diabetes, emphysema, MS, Parkinson's disease . . . the latest scientific research is showing plant-based diets can reduce risks or better manage chronic diseases--and more. Food as Medicine is more than a cookbook, it is a blueprint for eating your way to good health. Featuring 150 plant-based recipes developed for their health-promoting properties, as well as their amazing taste appeal, it guides users toward safer cooking methods (reducing the formation of toxic chemicals), showcases everyday medicinal ingredients, and reveals how to set up a wellness kitchen to make it easier to eat well at home.

Prepare to compassionately care for the aging population with Gerontologic Nursing, 7th Edition, uniquely known for its comprehensive coverage of the most common medical-surgical problems associated with older adults. Organized by body system for easy retrieval of information, it delves into health promotion and both basic and complex gerontologic concepts and issues. A disorder-focused approach addresses nursing management and care coordination across health care delivery settings.

From writing your review question to writing up your review, this practical book is the perfect companion if you are doing your first literature review for study or clinical practice improvement. The text follows a logical ordering, taking readers through all the key steps in a literature review. Written in an easy-to-follow format, the text provides a comprehensive and accessible resource of practical tips, summary’s, and templates to work through as part of the review process. It is a must buy for undergraduate or postgraduate Nursing, Midwifery, Health, and Allied Health students and professionals.

Living with Chronic Illness and Disability: Principles for Nursing Practice provides the knowledge and skills necessary for nursing and allied health students to provide quality, competent care to people living with a chronic illness or disability. The text has a strong evidence base, but is founded in reality. It includes practical, useful principles for holistic care, self-management, and a multidisciplinary approach. It also covers a range of issues affecting patients, carers and families, with a focus on empowering individuals as they adjust to the life-changing journey of chronic disease and disability.

This straightforward guide to evidence-based practice helps you to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to challenge practice that is not underpinned by research and to increase your understanding of the processes involved in accessing, appraising, and synthesizing good quality research. Providing a basic introduction to both quantitative and qualitative research, Debra Evans explores how to find out "what works best", the impact of something, and what requires more research.

A solid foundation in nursing concepts and skills essential to the LPN/LVN role. Complete coverage of common adult medical-surgical conditions includes all body systems and their disorders, addressing patient care in a variety of settings. Special attention is given to care of older adults, those with chronic illnesses, and residents in long-term care settings. Emphasizing evidence-based practice, this text reflects the expanding scope of practice for LPN/LVNs.

Known for its comprehensive coverage, readability, and visual presentation, this book helps prepare you to work in long-term care, acute care, and subacute care settings - and includes a practice scenario in each chapter to enhance your clinical judgment skills.

Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems, features 232 care plans, each reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international treatment protocols.

Cultivate confident, wellness-oriented care for older adults across a changing healthcare environment with the latest evidence-based coverage of gerontological nursing. This book fosters students' understanding of both the physiologic and psychosocial aspects of aging, as well as common risk factors that may interfere with optimal health and functioning. Organized around the author's Functional Consequences Theory for Promoting Wellness in Older Adults .

Paediatric Nursing in Australia and New Zealand introduces nursing students to the care of infants, children, young people and their families in a range of clinical and community settings across Australasia. This third edition includes New Zealand content and an increased focus on families. New chapters cover health services available for Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Maori children, the transition to parenthood for new families, children's sleep patterns and behaviour, and paediatric health in school settings.

Offers guidance on the skills needed to interact with patients as people - an essential component of building an effective therapeutic relationship and providing quality care. Author Jane Stein-Parbury explains key concepts in simple language, without assuming any prior knowledge. The book includes empathy, dealing with challenging behaviours, advocating for a patient and admitting a patient. Nurses will learn to build trusting relationships and support patients in their health journey.

Now in its 6th edition, this trusted reference for nursing students supports the development of safe, effective and person-centred practice. The text has been comprehensively revised by nursing leaders and experts from across the spectrum of clinical practice, education, research and health policy settings; and a highly experienced editorial team. This book will engage students with contemporary concepts and clinical examples, designed to build clinical reasoning skills. Early chapters introduce frameworks such as Fundamentals of Care and cultural safety, as ways of being and practising as a nurse. These frameworks are then applied in clinical and practice context chapters throughout.

Contemporary and fully updated, the new edition of this accessible guide builds on the success of previous editions to bring together all the key principles of nursing care for surgical patients. Split into two sections, the first section explains the basis of surgical care. The second section has comprehensive coverage of all major areas of surgical practice, providing both a theoretical and practical understanding across a wide range of procedures.

Being an effective and well-rounded nurse in Australia is not just about technical skills - it's also about thinking like a nurse. The Road to Nursing helps students develop clinical reasoning and critical reflection skills, understand the philosophical and ethical considerations necessary to care for clients and reflect on how to provide care that meets the unique needs of clients.

As nurses and health professionals increasingly care for people with chronic diseases and disability, it has never been more important for students to gain the knowledge, skills and understanding they need to provide quality care. Stories in Chronic Illness & Disability will help you understand the lived experience of the people you look after. It offers real-life case studies of the most common conditions you are likely to encounter in your work.

Provides students with the knowledge and skills they will require to ensure safe, quality care across a range of healthcare settings. Updated to reflect the current context and scope of practice for Enrolled Nurses in Australia and New Zealand, the text focuses on the delivery of person-centred care, critical thinking, quality clinical decision making and application of skills.

Rooted in cultural assessment and trusted for its proven approach, key to ensuring safe, ethical, and effective care to diverse cultures and populations. This comprehensive text helps students master transcultural theories, models, and research studies while honing the communication and collaboration skills essential to success in today's changing clinical nursing environment.

This new text has been adapted from the highly trusted Wong's Nursing Care of Infants and Children to provide a reference for professional nurses working in paediatric and child and family health settings in Australia and New Zealand. The content covers all aspects of infant, child and adolescent care, including anatomy and physiology, child and adolescent mental health, nursing care guidelines, critical thinking, family-centred care, rural and remote health, cultural and psychosocial considerations, common presenting conditions, and therapeutic management.

Diabetes mellitus, one of the most prevalent complications during pregnancy, can cause a range of problems for women and their developing babies. The number of types of diabetes during pregnancy has dramatically increased worldwide in recent years. Obesity is a very common risk factor for the development of GDM and type 2 diabetes. To prevent birth defects and other health problems, optimal healthcare before and during pregnancy is mandatory.

Written by world-renowned clinical pharmacologists, the detailed manual helps lactation consultants, pharmacists, and healthcare providers who work with women and children weigh the relative risks associated with commonly used medications, drawing from the latest evidence-based studies.

Provides a comprehensive, contemporary and consistent systems-based approach that engages students and provides the practical knowledge and skills they need to care for adult patients with a focus on person-centred, holistic nursing care. Designed to: emphasise a person-centred philosophy whereby the person who is the recipient of care is seen as an integral member of the team and consideration of their needs and wishes is paramount foster critical thinking and clinical reasoning skills as the basis for safe clinical practice and nursing excellence recognise the nurses role as an essential member of the interprofessional healthcare team.

Graduate nurses are expected to 'hit the ground running', taking on complex care challenges in a stressful and fast-paced environment. This comprehensive yet accessible textbook provides expert guidance for students and commencing nurses on the contexts for their practice. Part 1 presents a pragmatic insight into the intersection, tensions and complexities of practice and professional issues for Australian nurses. Part 2 unpacks key issues across a range of clinical contexts that will be a key resource for clinical practicums. Part 3 examines the professional and practice issues of nursing in diverse, distinctive and emergent practice areas.

This handbook will guide the reader through the care of patients with a wide range of conditions of the gastrointestinal tract. Chapters cover everything from anatomy to the appropriate treatment or nursing care. It now includes new conditions including colorectal cancer, anal warts, cleft lip, and volvulus, as well as the enhanced recovery after surgery pathway. Providing key summaries of common problems and essential issues, it will provide both an invaluable reference for gastrointestinal nurses, as well as a precise, targeted guide for nurses from other specialties caring for patients with GI problems.

Filled with practical advice from experienced nurses and up-to-date clinical information, this new edition is the invaluable guide for all nurses and allied health professionals working with patients who have rheumatological and musculoskeletal conditions.Split into three sections: musculoskeletal conditions and their management; clinical issues; and nursing care issues including treatment, nursing management, and tools.

This handbook will guide the reader systematically through the care of patients with a wide range of musculoskeletal problems. Each chapter contains the up to date evidence-based guidelines covering a continuum from birth to death, covering everything from emergency care, rehabilitation, discharge, and end of life care. It now includes new topics such as pharmacological alternatives to blood transfusion, disability and enabling environments, hip articulations, and health promotion.

A foundational resource that weaves both the psychodynamic and neurobiological theories into the strategies for nursing interventions. Clinical decision making is a hallmark of this text, equipping students with the knowledge and skills to be safe and successful in nursing practicing. The text focuses on the well-being of both the patient and the nurse, offering a wealth of tools to guide practitioners in setting healthy boundaries that can be leveraged throughout one's career.

The 2025 Lippincott Pocket Drug Guide for Nurses provides current, vital drug information "in a nutshell." This handy pocket guide contains essential information on over 4,100 medications, including 20 drugs newly approved by the FDA, in an easy-access A-to-Z format. Plus, a NEW appendix on dietary supplements plus fully updated appendices on topical and ophthalmic drugs, laxatives, contraceptives, biologicals, and combination products.

Your first shift as a new nurse can be one of the most exciting days of your life...but it can also be downright terrifying! Brand New Nurse: Surviving Your First Day on the Job is the guidebook you need to walk into your first shift ready and confident. There are so many skills to master when you are brand new that just aren't taught in nursing school, things like: What gear should you bring on your first day How to prepare to work on your new unit Managing the transition to night shift How to build your professional reputation Communicating with doctors and other staff How to master your system of organization and time management Plus much more. Fortunately, Brand New Nurse has you covered.

Clinical Psychomotor Skills: Assessment Tools for Nurses offers a unique blend of solid theoretical knowledge, linking it to clinical practice. The combined theory and workbook text covers the key clinical skills and knowledge that nursing students need, facilitating their mastery of provable competencies that fulfil the required standards. This edition uses the 5-point (Bondy) Assessment Scales, with an alternative 3-point assessment available in the instructor resources. The latest evidence-based material from nursing and associated literature – and reflecting The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia’s Registered Nurse Standards for Practice – make this the essential guide for students of registered nursing programs. Resources include the highly regarded clinical skills videos, and revision quizzes.

Learn to apply critical thinking, clinical reasoning, and decision-making principles to develop sound clinical judgment! With a motivational style and "how to" approach, this book first addresses how to become a sensible, resilient critical thinker and then helps you gain key skills needed to keep patients safe and succeed in clinical practice and on the NCLEX Examination. Simple language and practical advice make for easy reading. -- From publisher's description.

An indispensable guide for first-time nurses on working with doctors, the joys of the night shift, and facing mistakes! You've completed the necessary education, passed the exams, and you're finally ready for your first year as a professional nurse. But there is still trepidation, accompanied by many unanswered questions. A true first year of nursing 101 guide, this book covers topics like managing feedback, working with doctors, working night shift, and recovering from a mistake. Writer and nursing professional Beth Hawkes draws from her own experiences to offer expert tips for first-timers venturing into this important discipline.

The 3rd edition of the Reflective Practice book is particularly timely considering the current context of healthcare settings following the acute phase of a global pandemic. The public is aware that nursing is the heart, soul, and backbone of the healthcare profession. Nurse suffering is widespread, some nurses are stepping away, and both healthcare education and practice settings are called on to respond. This book provides a roadmap for how nurse educators can reimage learning environments and guide learners in developing competencies for building effective relationships, psychologically safe inclusive environments, and meaning and purpose. Educators, students, and nurses are invited to connect through meaning, purpose, ethics, and theory that grounds them in caring consciousness.

The Reflective Practice Guide offers an accessible introduction to engaging effectively in critical reflection, supporting all students in their development of the knowledge and skills needed to enhance their professional practice. This second edition has been thoroughly updated with new chapters emphasising the importance of personal growth, processing emotions, building resilience, and issues of diversity, intersectionality and positionality.

Reflection is key to making sense of your practice experiences. This book will build the reflective skills you need to succeed in your studies and to become a reflective practitioner. Learn the principles of reflective practice and how to apply them, enhancing your personal and professional development and ultimately the care you provide.

Fully updated to comply with the latest guidelines, this fourth edition is an indispensable resource for clinical educators responsible for supervising and assessing nursing and allied health professional students. This book provides not only practical, evidence-based strategies for conducting fair and reliable assessments, but also delves into the theoretical foundations that support these practices.

Highly respected guide to entering the world of work Now in its sixth edition, Transitions in Nursing continues to challenge, motivate and assist students as they transition to the workforce in different health environments. The text provides practical, real-life support for nurses preparing for professional practice, ensuring they have a comprehensive understanding of what they will encounter and how best to manage the transition period. It covers common issues faced by graduate nurses, important skills for dealing with the world of work, and the organisational environments in which nurses work.

This award-winning book has helped thousands of nursing students and nurses produce high quality work, with its focus on all aspects of writing for professional publication. The new fifth edition offers two-color design to enhance the reading experience, expanded coverage on selecting a journal, conducting and reporting a literature review, reporting evidence syntheses, and preparing DNP projects as manuscripts, as well as a greater variety of journal examples. A full chapter on writing research reports makes this edition particularly useful for PhD students and researchers.

Provides the latest diagnostic and treatment guidelines to help novice to expert clinicians provide evidence-based, high-quality care for patients with wounds. This textbook presents an interprofessional approach to maintaining skin integrity and managing the numerous types of skin damage, including topics that range from the physiology of wound healing, general principles of wound management, special patient populations, management of percutaneous tubes, and specific care instructions to program development.

A practical handbook to boost your confidence with assessment techniques and key clinical skills when administering effective acute care R readers will find: A revision of medicines management formulas, plus advanced formulas seen in a clinical setting, with chapters on sepsis and conflict resolution Assessment techniques and the individual components of the ABCDE assessment, covering vital signs, clinical observation at superficial and more in-depth levels, and clinical actions Higher skills, such as caring for the ventilated patient and fluid resuscitation in adults and children, and subcutaneous fluid hydration Critical care simulation and need-to-know medical abbreviations, plus three helpful appendices containing tool kits and charts.

This textbook explores issues central to the provision of recovery-orientated care based on ethical principles and human rights perspectives. Written by academics and nurse practitioners, this comprehensive text draws together theory, research and practice to map the landscape of Advanced Practice in Mental Health Nursing (APMHN) in Europe. Underpinned by a rights- and relational- based approach to care, the textbook is organized around six themes: theoretical and historical perspectives; foundations for collaborative working; therapeutic engagement in different contexts; beyond the clinical dimension of the APMHN role; advancing the evidence-based practice agenda and emerging issues and challenges.

Clinical lactation training guide for health care professionals and students studying for lactation certification exams. Includes 400 color photos, case studies, and reviews of evidence-based clinical management for lactation care. Fully referenced.

Learn how to make accurate drug calculations and administer medications safely! Calculate with Confidence, 8th Edition makes it easy to understand the three major methods of dosage calculation - ratio and proportion, formula method, and dimensional analysis. Clear, step-by-step instructions guide you through accurate calculation and safe administration of drug dosages.

The care that a patient receives in the first hours after surgery is crucial to minimizing the risk of complications. The recovery room staff must manage both comatose and physiologically unstable patients, and deal with the immediate post-operative care of surgical patients. The Complete Recovery Room Book, Sixth edition, provides nurses, surgeons, and anaesthetists with up-to-date guidance and practical tips on the post-operative management of patients.

The 2022 edition of Contemporary Nephrology Nursing serves as a guide to promote excellent patient outcomes using evidence-based nephrology nursing care and is a valuable resource for all nurses caring for patients with kidney disease. The scope of this respected and trusted classic has been expanded to include the most complete collection of nephrology nursing topics ever published. The new edition includes 60 chapters written by 93 expert authors and reviewed by 125 highly respected healthcare professionals.

Critical Care Nursing: A Holistic Approach, 12th Edition, remains the go-to resource on the nurse's role in today's challenging critical care practice, delivering essential coverage of theory and principles within a practical context to prepare students to care for patients who are critically ill and their families. The text's popular holistic approach emphasizes comprehensive patient care, incorporating psychosocial concepts, assessment, and management of a variety of disorders

Prepare for success in today''s high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings! Critical Care Nursing: Diagnosis and Management, 9th Edition helps you understand and apply critical care nursing principles and concepts to clinical assessment, diagnostic procedures, and therapeutic management.

Delivering holistic, person-centred care is at the heart of the nursing role. This book will develop your understanding of what person-centred care actually means and how to apply it to assessment and the planning, delivery and management of care, enhancing all aspects of your practice.

Update and improve your neonatal and newborn intensive care unit (NICU) nursing know-how, with this leading text on developmentally supportive care of infants and their families. It addresses the full spectrum of neonatal care, from prenatal planning to delivery, plus neonatal intensive care and the transition to home.

Fetal monitoring is a challenging area that requires skill and experience to practise well. This volume explores the subject matter in a detailed but straightforward manner, thus becoming an invaluable resource for health practitioners as well as midwifery and medical students.

An introduction to pathophysiology specifically tailored to the needs of midwives Professional standards of proficiency require that midwives develop a robust understanding of pathophysiology, the study of disordered physical processes including disease and injury. This dedicated text equips both aspiring and registered midwives with the foundational understanding of pathophysiology required to deliver the best patient care.

Specifically developed for Australian and New Zealand students this comprehensive resource provides a detailed overview of key information with person-centred care highlighted throughout to focus on the individualistic, interactive and holistic nature of nursing and midwifery practice. It focuses not only on a person’s physical healthcare needs, but also on the intellectual, emotional, sociocultural and spiritual aspects of care. This thoroughly revised and updated fourth edition features a new chapter on caring for a woman throughout pregnancy, birth and early parenting.

The field's most trusted and comprehensive pocket guide to treating common and rare problems in newborns. A true essential for nearly three decades, this streamlined pocket reference provides logically organized, quickly retrievable information on basic and advanced management techniques for the neonate. disorders, and pharmacology.

Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant? The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs.

Build the knowledge and clinical judgment you need to succeed in maternity and pediatric nursing! Written in a clear, easy-to-read style, Introduction to Maternity and Pediatric Nursing, 9th Edition describes how you can provide effective, evidence-based care for women during pregnancy, labor, and delivery, and for newborns and growing children.

First published in 1985, Law for Nurses and Midwives continues to provide the most comprehensive and practical nursing text available to assist nurses and midwives to practise professionally and safely. The book is designed to support the reader to apply relevant legal, ethical and regulatory principles to their day-to-day clinical practice. For example, when students are starting a surgical placement, they can find the latest practical legal advice on consent; when they are on a medical placement, they can refer to the chapter on medications. This tenth edition is fully updated and incorporates legislative changes of all relevant practice areas in all states and territories in Australia. Ideal for students undertaking a diploma, bachelor’s or postgraduate degree, it will remain relevant throughout their careers as an invaluable reference guide that enhances the provision of safe, quality healthcare in Australia.

From managing conflict and working collaboratively to organizing patient care and staffing, students vicariously experience the responsibilities of mid- and top-level nursing managers and hone their critical-thinking, problem-solving and decision-making skills before entering high-stakes clinical settings.

With a clear framework of person-centred care, critical thinking, clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice underpinning the assessment and management of adults with complex, acute and chronic healthcare issues, this book provides nursing students with the foundations for developing expert clinical practice.

Multiple pregnancies are associated with higher risks for both mother and babies. Women with multiple pregnancies have an increased risk of miscarriage, anemia, hypertensive disorders, haemorrhage, and postnatal illness. This book provides a much needed, up-to-date guide to the management of multiple pregnancies.

Learn to provide the best prenatal, intrapartum, postpartum, and neonatal care possible. Includes expert insight and clinically relevant coverage of the physiologic changes that occur throughout all major periods of the perinatal experience. This classic reference gives you a solid foundation for assessment and therapeutic interventions, featuring an emphasis on the evolving interrelationships between mother, fetus, and neonate and adaptations of preterm and term infants to the extrauterine environment.

olistic overview of mental health for nurses in a practice setting. All nurses play an important role in supporting mental health as part of holistic care provision. This book is designed to help students and novice clinicians to develop the knowledge, skills and attitudes they need to care for people across a wide range of specialist and non-specialist practice settings.

Trusted resource for students and educators in Australia and New Zealand Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions Australian and New Zealand edition is an established and acclaimed reference guide suitable for all students and clinicians wanting current, accurate definitions of medical terms. The fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest changes in healthcare terminology, and retains the comprehensiveness, clarity and currency that readers expect from the Mosby Dictionary. It provides full coverage of nearly 40,000 terms as well as images, tables, graphs and an anatomy and physiology atlas for deeper insight into complex concepts.

Thoroughly revised and updated, this new edition of Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing is a comprehensive, evidence-based text for nurses and allied health professionals caring for sick newborn infants. This user-friendly text focuses on the common problems and related care occurring within the neonatal specialty.

The NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan's Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep 2023-2024 will help you leverage your nursing knowledge and face the exam with confidence.

Nursing and Midwifery Research is an essential guide in assisting students and practitioners develop sound research skills to enhance their knowledge and practice. This edition includes the most recent updates and developments in Australian and New Zealand nursing and midwifery practice, with a focus on evidence-based practice, along with a range of contemporary research articles and pedagogy to support specific chapter content.

A longtime favorite among students, this book has prepared more nursing assistants for meaningful careers in acute care, long-term care and home health than any other text. Providing easy-to-understand explanations, the 12th Edition walks you step-by-step through more than 150 procedures, including key skills in patient handling and transfers, wound care, communication, safety and record keeping, as well as special care procedures for patients with medical devices, catheters and physical or mental impairments.

Unique resource on medication administration to support students and nurses. This handy new guide offers concise and specific information for nurses on preparing and administering medications for children in Australia and New Zealand. Unlike other medication administration textbooks, Paediatrics and Medications provides comprehensive information, tips and evidence-based strategies directly related to paediatric patients. Focusing on the ‘how to’ of safe medication administration for paediatric patients, this resource also includes a focus on health literacy considerations, techniques in play and other unique elements specifically related to children and their caregivers. This book is perfect for students undertaking paediatric nursing units of study, and is also highly clinically relevant across broader nursing practice.

Portfolios for Nursing, Midwifery and other Health Professions is a practical guide providing detailed strategies for developing a quality portfolio that will assist you to review your professional practice, assess your learning and career planning, direct your continuing professional development and effectively communicate your professional achievements.

An invaluable tool for health and social work students and professionals who want to improve their practice through collaborative research with patients, clients, and colleagues. Today, research in health-related fields is increasingly conducted in specialized settings by people who are first and foremost researchers. Critics bemoan this loss of practice-based research which has resulted in a widening gap between research and practice. This book is a highly practical guide. Its seven-step Practitioner Research Method offers readers a tried-and-true approach to conducting research in their own work environments, and the authors use real-world examples to highlight strategies for overcoming barriers and incorporating research.

A foundational resource that weaves both the psychodynamic and neurobiological theories into the strategies for nursing interventions. Clinical decision making is a hallmark of this text, equipping students with the knowledge and skills to be safe and successful in nursing practicing. The text focuses on the well-being of both the patient and the nurse, offering a wealth of tools to guide practitioners in setting healthy boundaries that can be leveraged throughout one's career.

Wound Care: a practical guide for maintaining skin integrity is a contemporary ANZ resource designed to assist students and clinicians in applying evidence-based wound care to practice. Written by expert wound care clinicians and academics, the text offers a range of clinical scenarios to test wound care knowledge and skills within the context of real-world settings.

The 'Wound care manual' is a comprehensive and practical reference for nurses, doctors and allied health professionals working in the acute, chronic and community setting - where optimal management of wounds is a must. The 'Wound care manual' promotes a collaborative approach to the assessment and management of people with wounds and provides information on: - Anatomy and physiology of the skin, - Factors affecting wound healing, - Skin assessment. Specific advice on: - Burns, - Skin tears, leg ulcers, neuropathic feet, malignant wounds, - Draining wounds, - Peristomal wounds, - Pressure injuries, - Moisture associated skin damage. Technical advice on: - Drains and percutaneous tubes, - Wound cleansing agents, - a comprehensive list of contemporary dressings, - Bandages and surgical stockings and a current index of Australian manufacturers.

An official publication of the US Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation.

Essential for ob/gyn physicians, primary care physicians, and any health care provider working with pregnant or postpartum women, puts must-know information at your fingertips in seconds. An easy A-to-Z format lists more than 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs designed to provide the most essential information on possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant. Each templated monograph includes: Generic US name (trade names in index) , Risk factors; Pharmacologic class;Pregnancy and breastfeeding recommendations; Pregnancy, fetal risk, and breastfeeding summaries; Updated references.

Recognised as the go-to study aid and on-the-unit resource for both new and experienced cardiac nurses, this text provides a road map of knowledge, skills, and competencies to enhance safety and positive patient outcomes.

Drop the ECG anxiety and learn to interpret rhythm strips in simple, stress-free ways. Offering expert direction, this freshly updated, fully illustrated guide is packed with images and learning aids that support your understanding and retention in obtaining and interpreting rhythm strips. Recognize and treat a wide variety of arrhythmias with this vital text -- an ideal study aid and friendly on-the-unit support for both students and practicing nurses.

Emergency and Trauma Care for nurses and paramedics is a highly respected emergency care text for nursing and paramedicine students and clinicians in Australia and New Zealand. Now in its fourth edition, it provides the most up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of the spectrum of emergency and trauma care.

Engaging, accessible, and filled with practical communication advice, Let's Talk Vaccines helps you educate patients on the importance of life-saving vaccines using a patient-centered and empathetic approach. Covering everything from the science of vaccine safety to the psychology of risk communication, this essential guide includes real-life examples and thoughtful, evidence-based techniques that will help patients understand vaccines and make informed decisions. Includes

Written by nursing's brilliant first theorist/researcher and first published in 1859, Notes on Nursing: What It Is and What It Is Not is regarded as nursing's first textbook. This special edition contains the original text in its entirety with commentaries by 12 prominent nursing theorists.

A strong foundation in nutrition is essential for effective nursing practice. Reflecting the latest evidence-based practice and nutrition recommendations, this eighth edition maintains its focus on all steps of the nursing care process, from assessment and nursing diagnoses to implementation and evaluation.