Call Number: Proquest Ebook Central (Athens login offsite)
Publication Date: 2017-09-19
This book focuses on the operational and clinical strategies needed to improve care of Emergency Psychiatric patients.Currently, there are books on clinical care of psychiatric patients, but this is the first book that looks at both the clinical and operational aspects of caring for these patients in ED setting. This book discusses Lean methodology, the impact of long stay patients using queuing methodology, clinical guidelines and active treatment of psychiatric patients in the ED.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (use Athens login to access)
Publication Date: 2021-08-03
The NDIS was introduced as a radical new way of funding disability services in Australia. It is a rare moment in politics and policy making that an idea as revolutionary, ambitious and expensive as the NDIS makes it into its implementation phase. Not surprising, then, that the NDIS has been described by many as the biggest social shift in Australia since Medicare. This book will be a key text for scholars and public policy professionals wishing to understand the NDIS, how it was designed, and lessons learned through its introduction and roll-out.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (use Athens login to access)
Publication Date: 2020
This book focuses on evidence-based occupational therapy in the care of older adults in different clinical settings, from home to acute hospital, from intensive care unit to rehabilitation centers and nursing homes. The book first reviews the interaction between occupational therapy and geriatrics and then discusses in depth how occupational therapy interventions are applied in the community, in the acute hospital and in the nursing home. The ageing population requires new innovative approaches to improve the quality of life, and as such this book provides clinicians with handy, key information on how to implement occupational therapy in the daily clinical care of older adults based on the current scientific evidence.
For more than 20 years, this bestselling reference has been the go-to resource for the entire rehabilitation team, providing in-depth coverage of essential core principles along with the latest research, technologies, and procedures that enhance patient care and facilitate optimal return to function.
Professor Freda Briggs writes with great authority on one of the greatest, hidden problems in Australia today. She is dedicated to the cause of educating all who work with children so that they are better equipped to keep children safe, assist in bringing about justice for victims and a change in societal attitudes. Some of the cases that Professor Briggs exposes are difficult to comprehend but are very real and bring great shame on our society. cb
This important new book critically examines the complex policy and practice issues surrounding child protection, including the impact of theoretical orientations, contemporary debates, policy initiatives and research findings, and maintains an emphasis on the ethics and values underpinning child welfare interventions.
Eileen Munro, author of the seminal Munro Review, returns in this fully revised and updated third edition. This new edition shifts its focus from individual workers to look at the critical role that organisations play in child protection, and how individuals are affected by the complex enterprise of people, processes, cultures and agencies. It remains an essential guide to strengthening analytic and intuitive skills to improve children's safety.
Effective early intervention is critical in stopping low and moderate-risk cases of family violence escalating into high-risk situations. This book focuses on how community, health and welfare counsellors and other workers, and practicing psychologists, can better engage with men to increase their motivation to access further support to address family violence issues.
The second edition of this successful handbook, edited by well-known experts in this field, includes core questions in the field of child abuse and neglect. It addresses major challenges in child maltreatment work, starting with "What is child abuse and neglect?" and then examines why maltreatment occurs and what are its consequences. The handbook also addresses prevention, intervention, investigation, treatment as well as civil and criminal legal perspectives.
This practical text offers professional guidance on stopping domestic violence in couples and families and promoting healing and safety in its aftermath. Rich in theoretical diversity (attachment, trauma, feminist, narrative) and inclusive of family structures and forms of violence, the coverage takes an approach to understanding both complex circumstances and intervening with families.
An updated edition of the profoundly moving and inspiring memoir from Australia's domestic violence crusader, Rosie Batty. Rosie Batty knows pain no woman should have to suffer. Her son was killed by his father in a violent incident in February 2014, a horrendous event that shocked not only the nation, but the world.
Drawing on 20 years of practical experience, research and teaching in the field, this book is a comprehensive guide on the use of Motivational Interviewing (MI) in child protection and family social work. MI increases the likelihood of behavioural change, working with client resistance to encourage a constructive environment when initiating difficult conversations.
The definitive guide to motivational interviewing (MI) for health care practitioners has been completely revised to reflect important developments and make the approach even more accessible. When it comes to helping patients manage chronic and acute conditions and make healthier choices in such areas as medication adherence, smoking, diet, and preventive care, good advice alone is not enough. This indispensable book shows how to use MI techniques to transform conversations about change.
Family violence is a serious and often hidden crime. Sadly, the people involved may not realise that what they are experiencing or expressing constitutes family violence. No Room For Family Violence consists of 30 cards that encourage users to recognise family violence and explore what they want in their relationships. The set poses questions to ensure participants understand the importance of personal needs and boundaries, and highlights the differences between abusive and respectful behaviour.
The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Social Work is a comprehensive, evidence-informed text that provides clinicians, researchers, policy-makers, and academics with a broad range of content to inform and enhance palliative social work practice.
An invaluable tool for health and social work students and professionals who want to improve their practice through collaborative research with patients, clients, and colleagues. Today, research in health-related fields is increasingly conducted in specialized settings by people who are first and foremost researchers. Critics bemoan this loss of practice-based research which has resulted in a widening gap between research and practice. This book is a highly practical guide. Its seven-step Practitioner Research Method offers readers a tried-and-true approach to conducting research in their own work environments, and the authors use real-world examples to highlight strategies for overcoming barriers and incorporating research.
The state is increasingly experienced as both intrusive and neglectful, particularly by those living in poverty, leading to loss of trust and widespread feelings of alienation and disconnection. Against this tense background, this innovative book argues that child protection policies and practices have become part of the problem, rather than ensuring children's well-being and safety.
This volume provides readers around the globe with a focused and comprehensive examination of how to prevent and respond to child maltreatment using evidence-informed public health approaches and programs that meet the needs of vulnerable children, and struggling families and communities.
Every year in England and Wales alone, one in twenty adults suffer domestic abuse, two thirds of them women. Every week, two men kill a woman they were intimate with. And still we ask the wrong question: Why didn't she leave? Instead, we should ask: Why did he do it?
This book presents a model of supervision that is based on both contemporary theory and research, which is strongly contextualized to child and family social work. It draws directly from analysis of in-depth interviews with experienced and post graduate qualified supervisors and supervisees about 'what works' in supervision. These findings bring 'news of difference' in relation to social work supervision offering hope, inspiration and a contemporary model of supervisory practice.
Trauma and Recovery is revered as the seminal text on understanding trauma survivors. By placing individual experience in a broader political frame, Harvard psychiatrist Judith Herman argues that psychological trauma is inseparable from its social and political context. Drawing on her own research on incest, as well as a vast literature on combat veterans and victims of political terror, she shows surprising parallels between private horrors like child abuse and public horrors like war.
Outlines a trauma-informed support and supervision model that recognises the uniqueness of working in statutory child protection. Provides a holistic trauma-informed framework for both supervisions and practitioners. Relevant to a wide range of human service and health professionals including social workers, psychologists and nurses as well as teachers, counsellors and youth workers.
Events in people's lives can have a profound impact; anything from moving house or losing a job to the death of a loved one or a natural disaster can push an individual into a state of crisis. Crisis intervention is a brief therapy and immediate response which aims to support the person through the crisis period. Each chapter explores a different approach, including psychoanalytic; cognitive, which includes motivational interviewing; systemic; radical; and social construction, which covers solution focused therapy and enhancing resilience.
Provides an overview of the basic principles of CBT and shows how these principles can be applied within a typical 10 minute consultation. The book is written in a user-friendly, interactive and practical style and focuses on realistic ways to make CBT work by helping patients to make positive changes to their lives. As this is a practical manual and not just a book of theory, it will appeal to various professionals involved in the management of patients with psychological problems such as practice nurses, health visitors, community psychiatric nurses, practice counsellors and palliative care doctors.