Nursing LibGuide

Learn proven strategies to prepare for nursing school tests and the NCLEX® exam! 2024-2025 Saunders Clinical Judgment and Test-Taking Strategies: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX® Exam, 8th Edition provides tools to help you overcome test anxiety, develop strong study skills, and improve test scores. You'll gain insight into key nursing areas such as clinical judgment, prioritization, leading and managing, communication, and pharmacology. Student-to-Student Tips highlight real-life strategies that have helped other students successfully complete nursing school and pass the NCLEX® exam. Focus on test-taking strategies helps you develop essential clinical judgment skills and prepares you to find the correct answer to all types of test questions. Categorization of questions by beginning, intermediate, or advanced level makes this book a useful tool throughout your nursing program.

An official publication of the US Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation.

The revised second edition includes an abundance of new micro-practice examples for each of the 10 Caritas Processes(R); practical exemplars from Dr. Sitzman's research, enabling readers to cultivate Caritas and mindfulness on a daily basis; and new case studies demonstrating how others have implemented Human Caring Science into everyday life and work. Drawing on the contemplative and mindfulness teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, the text offers an engaging entry into Human Caring Theory for newcomers and deepens understanding for current practitioners.

This innovative text introduces and illustrates case study methodology for nursing research by exploring how it can be used to uncover the varied and complex life experiences of persons with chronic illness and post-traumatic stress conditions. Nursing practice demands care and compassion, but often nurses do not have the tools to examine their clients' health and wellness experiences. This book presents an approach to finding shared solutions for common health problems from a nursing perspective. It provides readers with the tools to develop their own case study approach and the skills to translate their findings into innovative ways to influence nursing care for people across their health/illness trajectories.

Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare offers a range of tools and topics that support and foster clinically focused nurses and other healthcare professionals to develop their leadership skills and strategies. The textbook is helpfully divided into three parts: information on the attributes of clinical leaders, the tools healthcare students and staff can use to develop their leadership potential, and clinical leadership issues. With expert input from a diverse collection of experienced contributors, Clinical Leadership in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for new leaders trying to establish themselves and existing leaders looking to perform at a higher level when it comes to quality and effective patient care.

This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish. Additionally, the text covers software used in research queries and provides helpful strategies for effectively using the search function when seeking information. Two complete CSRs along with new and updated examples throughout the book further aid readers in their pursuit of excellence in scholarly work.

This book provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections — covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations — means you get the equivalent of five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice.

Drop the ECG anxiety and learn to interpret rhythm strips in simple, stress-free ways. Offering expert direction, this freshly updated, fully illustrated guide is packed with images and learning aids that support your understanding and retention in obtaining and interpreting rhythm strips. Recognize and treat a wide variety of arrhythmias with this vital text -- an ideal study aid and friendly on-the-unit support for both students and practicing nurses.

This practical textbook comprehensively covers all the equipment used in the operating theatre and intensive care unit, including why it is used and any related safety concerns. It has been fully updated in its sixth edition to include new technologies introduced during the Covid-19 pandemic. This is ideal as the main text for all trainees undertaking the primary FRCA exams and is also suitable anyone who works with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners.

Healthcare delivery can present ethical conflicts and dilemmas for advanced practice registered nurses (APRNs)—nurses who already have a myriad of responsibilities in caring for patients. Ethical Case Studies for Advanced Practice Nurses improves APRNs'agility to resolve ethical quandaries encountered in primary care, hospital-based, higher education, and administration beyond community settings. Through case studies examining various types of ethical conflicts, the authors empower APRNs and students with the critical knowledge and skills they need to handle even the most complex dilemmas in their practice. By applying a set of criteria and framework, this book guides APRNs to use critical thinking to make ethically sound decisions

The sixth edition includes new approaches devoted to supporting LGBTQ+ elders, persons living with dementia and their families, and older adults living with HIV. New operational strategies provide guidance in using the electronic health record, implementing improved person-centered care approaches, and maintaining age-friendly atmospheres. Using evidence derived from all levels of care, this text offers developed guidelines for improving both quality and outcomes when caring for older adults in multiple disciplines, including interprofessional team members, long-term care and other staff educators, social workers, dietitians, and physicians.

Nursing practice is a complex and varied field that requires precision, dedication, care, and expertise. Clinicians must have both the skills and the tools to attend to changes in patients' responses, recognize trends, and understand the nature of their patients' conditions over time. This book clearly delineates the skills needed to become an expert nurse. In this new edition, the editors present a report of a six-year study of over 130 hospital nurses working in critical care.

Higher life expectancy on a global level requires complex nursing care as poor education and a lack of knowledge can lead to mistakes. There is a need for nurses who can provide high quality and advanced nursing practice. A mix of well-grounded education and innovative research is needed, where the first provides an understanding of best nursing practice care delivery and the second helps nurses determine best practices and improve nursing care.

Lifestyle - the manner in which people live - is fundamental to health, wellness, and prevention of disease. It follows that attention to lifestyle is critically important to effective and successful health care. But here's the challenge: health care professionals receive very little, if any, formal training about lifestyle counseling and therefore are ill equipped to incorporate lifestyle issues into clinical practice. In response, "Lifestyle Medicine" is evolving as a means to fill this knowledge gap. Lifestyle medicine approaches health and wellness by harnessing the power of lifestyle-related behaviors and influencing the environment we live in.

What does that term mean? How is it even pronounced? Make sense of the complex world of health care with this comprehensive, portable dictionary which offers a unique, strong focus on nursing and health science terminology.

Unlock the secrets to effective nursing leadership with this essential guide In the ever-evolving landscape of healthcare, leadership capability is a vital skill for nurses, however, leadership development and application within the field is rarely addressed during training. This essential resource ensures nurses are equipped with the guidance needed to develop as effective and resilient leaders within the workplace. Centred on the clinical nurse's perspective, this text serves as a practical guide to applying nursing leadership concepts and provides a timely and authoritative overview of what it means to be a nurse leader in the health service.

Here's the step-by-step guidance you need to develop individualized plans of care while also honing your critical-thinking and analytical skills. You'll find about 160 care plans in all, covering acute, community, and home-care settings across the life span.

Graduate nurses are expected to 'hit the ground running', taking on complex care challenges in a stressful and fast-paced environment. This comprehensive yet accessible textbook provides expert guidance for students and commencing nurses on the contexts for their practice. Part 1 presents a pragmatic insight into the intersection, tensions and complexities of practice and professional issues for Australian nurses. Part 2 unpacks key issues across a range of clinical contexts that will be a key resource for clinical practicums. Part 3 examines the professional and practice issues of nursing in diverse, distinctive and emergent practice areas.

Balanced but distinct coverage of both the qualitative and quantitative approaches to nursing research acquaints you with the processes behind research and evidence-based practice. Complete, high-quality research examples, including three sample critiques, demonstrate how to apply the principles outlined in the text to published quantitative and qualitative research studies. Research Vignettes introduce you to real-world practitioners of nursing research and help bridge the gaps among clinical research, academia, and clinical practice. All-star group of contributors represents a widely respected team of experts in nursing research and evidence-based practice.

Access via Athens. This handbook will guide the reader systematically through the care of patients with a wide range of cardiac problems. It now includes new topics such as stroke, genetics, computed tomography, coronary angiogram. Valvular heart disease has been expanded, as well as the chapter on congenital heart disease and inherited cardiac conditions. Providing key summaries of common problems and essential issues, it will provide both an invaluable reference for cardiac nurses, as well as a precise,targeted guide for nurses from other specialties caring for patients with cardiac problems.

Every day, doctors are faced with the challenge of keeping the people they treat safe and free from harm. Patient safety is a relatively new field of study, but the field is expanding and there is now better understanding of what is needed to measure and achieve safety for patients. The Handbook of Patient Safety will empower doctors, nurses and other professionals to be able to develop safe clinical processes that allow proactive management and minimisation of risk, so that people are not harmed when they receive clinical care.

Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients continues to explore the concept of suffering as it relates to nursing practice in an updated new edition. This text helps practicing nurses and students define and recognize various aspects of suffering across the lifespan and within various patient populations, while providing guidance in alleviating suffering. In addition, the authors discuss ways nurses that witness suffering can optimize their own coping skills and facilitate personal growth. The Second Edition aligns with the recently updated ELNEC and AACN competencies and features three new chapters discussing advance care planning, palliative care for those with serious illnesses, and strategies for having difficult conversations with patients and families.

Review: 'This book is a must-have for undergraduates, newly graduated and overseas qualified registered nurses entering the Australian healthcare workforce for the first time. Written by experienced nurses, the book provides essential up-to-date information that is presented in an easily accessible way. I highly recommend this book.'

Need an insightful, real-world guide to mental health care concepts? This new edition addresses numerous mental health nursing issues, defining disorders and management strategies and offering down-to-earth guidance on a range of care issues -- all in the enjoyable Made Incredibly Easy style.

Research in Nursing Midwifery and Allied Health provides students with the theory and practical examples to enable them to differentiate between conducting research, critically appraising research and the clinical use of research in practice. The text teaches students about research and using research results with an evidence-base, equipping them to undertake more in-depth study of research methods when appropriate. The seventh edition includes an increased focus on applied ethics, emphasis on evidence-based practice and project activities culminating in a capstone chapter titled 'Evidence-based practice'.

Sheehy's Manual of Emergency Care, 8th Edition offers complete, up-to-date coverage of the essentials emergency nurses need to know. Each condition commonly seen in the emergency setting is thoroughly addressed, from signs and symptoms, to diagnosis, treatment, developmental considerations, patient education, and more. Updated material and easy-to-reference contents make this resource a must-have for current practice.

The new edition includes the latest research and is applicable to the Australian context. New to this edition: Inclusion of a wound dressing section - when to use or change the dressing type. Fluid (and electrolyte) assessment (assess for hypovolaemia or hypervolaemic) is added to Unit 3. Gastrointestinal tract section is expanded to show that there is differentiation between venipuncture and cannulation. Section 2.6 'Using a lifting device' has been updated in accordance to local policies and guidelines to reflect industry standards. Updated to include the latest research. Health history is added to Unit 7. Nutritional assessment is added to Unit 11