Nursing LibGuide

A practical, highly illustrated guide to assessment, diagnosis and management of all common types of acute and chronic wounds. This concise yet comprehensive reference covers all essential aspects of wound healing care, including epidemiology, pathophysiology, assessment, treatment, long-term management, and prevention. This revised second edition contains several new chapters on lymphoedema, nutrition, skin care, continence, and scarring.

Acute & Chronic Wounds, 6th Edition provides the latest diagnostic and treatment guidelines to help novice to expert clinicians provide evidence-based, high-quality care for patients with wounds. This textbook presents an interprofessional approach to maintaining skin integrity and managing the numerous types of skin damage, including topics that range from the physiology of wound healing, general principles of wound management, special patient populations, management of percutaneous tubes, and specific care instructions to program development. Written by respected wound experts Ruth Bryant and Denise Nix, this bestselling reference also provides excellent preparation for all wound certification exams.

In this issue of Nursing Clinics of North America, guest editors Melania Howell, Tuba Sengül, and Holly Kirkland-Kyhn bring their considerable expertise to the topic of Advances in Wound Care and Wound Management. Top experts explore cutting-edge technologies, innovative treatment approaches, and evidence-based practices to provide readers with insights into the most recent developments in this fast-changing field.

This accessible, meticulously illustrated atlas provides everything you need to effectively treat wounds and conduct surgical, reconstructive, and cosmetic repairs with minimal scarring Understanding the subtleties of suture choice and placement often makes the difference between positive and negative patient outcomes.

The Australian Standards for Wound Prevention and Management (Fourth edition), provide a contemporary, evidence-based framework for delivery of best practice in wound prevention and management. The aim of this document is to facilitate high quality and safe clinical practice that optimises outcomes for Australians with, or at risk of, wounds.

Featuring more than 300 full-color images, photos, tables, and graphs to aid students in recognizing different types of wounds when performing examination and providing interventions, Comprehensive Wound Management, 3rd Edition goes beyond the call of duty of a traditional textbook. The book breaks down each of the common wound types, neuropathic, pressure, and vascular, into individual chapters that may be utilized for a holistic approach to learning or as stand-alone reading assignments. It also covers classes of interventions, plan of care, documentation, and other administrative concerns such as reimbursement and regulations that must be considered in real-life practice of wound management. A major emphasis is placed on teaching how to perform interventions instead of simply mentioning them in context.

Venous Ulcers, 2nd Edition, provides a comprehensive synthesis of evidence-based recommendations and the highest level of expertise from a leading group of doctors, which is a fundamental constituent for the appropriate management of nonhealing venous wounds in everyday practice. This book offers a fertile environment for a complete understanding of genetics and molecular and biochemical mechanisms that lead to the development and progression of venous ulcers, which is essential for elucidating the underlying pathophysiology and can be utilized for developing novel therapies and accessing previously inaccessible areas of research. Socioeconomic impact, impact on health-related quality of life, the clinical course of the disease, and diagnostic algorithms are elaborated in detail.

Based on the curriculum blueprint of the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nursing Education Programs (WOCNEP) and approved by the Wound, Ostomy, and Continence Nurses Society(tm) (WOCN®), this practical text for wound assessment and management is your perfect source for expert guidance, training and wound, ostomy, and continence (WOC) certification exam preparation. Written by expert clinicians, this book is one of the few nursing texts to offer the basic pathology, physiology and current clinical skills required for high-level wound care.

The second edition of Wound Care: a practical guide for maintaining skin integrity offers students and nurses a highly practical approach to treating acute and chronic wounds. The book applies the latest evidence and theory to the real world, helping you develop skills and knowledge to manage wounds effectively.

The newly revised Wound Care Essentials, 5th Edition is the comprehensive seminal resource, offering the latest evidence, guidelines and information to assist the interprofessional skin and wound care team translate knowledge into practice.  A crucial guide for all skin and wound care professionals, this essential resource provides authoritative science and practical instruction on wound care best practices. This must-have guide offers the latest, skin and wound care research-backed insights on prevention and management strategies.

Rich with real-life, full-color images this book presents a lighthearted approach to complex concepts and takes the stress out of mastering the skills and treatments essential to positive wound care outcomes. UPDATED! Reorganized skin and wound anatomy and physiology content - clarifies key concepts NEW! Focus on wound bed preparation, reinforces essential care practices. NEW! Images - familiarize you with wounds as they appear on diverse skin types. NEW! Chapter on wounds caused by external factors -;enriches your understanding of commonly encountered wound types. NEW! COVID-19 content- helps you confidently identify and address related injuries.

The 'Wound care manual' is a comprehensive and practical reference for nurses, doctors and allied health professionals working in the acute, chronic and community setting - where optimal management of wounds is a must. The 'Wound care manual' promotes a collaborative approach to the assessment and management of people with wounds and provides information on: - Anatomy and physiology of the skin, - Factors affecting wound healing, - Skin assessment. Specific advice on: - Burns, - Skin tears, leg ulcers, neuropathic feet, malignant wounds, - Draining wounds, - Peristomal wounds, - Pressure injuries, - Moisture associated skin damage. Technical advice on: - Drains and percutaneous tubes, - Wound cleansing agents, - a comprehensive list of contemporary dressings, - Bandages and surgical stockings and a current index of Australian manufacturers.

This textbook opens with a focus on the core elements of effective wound management: an understanding of how wounds heal and what inhibits wound healing, rigorous assessment, use of outcome measures, evidence-based approaches to practice, and an understanding of how clinical research is done. Key aspects of wound-bed preparation and management - diagnostic investigations, assessment and management of non-viable tissue, infected wounds, dressings and technology, pharmacological therapy, and acute wounds – are then elucidated.