Nursing LibGuide

A practical handbook to boost your confidence with assessment techniques and key clinical skills when administering effective acute care R readers will find: A revision of medicines management formulas, plus advanced formulas seen in a clinical setting, with chapters on sepsis and conflict resolution Assessment techniques and the individual components of the ABCDE assessment, covering vital signs, clinical observation at superficial and more in-depth levels, and clinical actions Higher skills, such as caring for the ventilated patient and fluid resuscitation in adults and children, and subcutaneous fluid hydration Critical care simulation and need-to-know medical abbreviations, plus three helpful appendices containing tool kits and charts.

This textbook explores issues central to the provision of recovery-orientated care based on ethical principles and human rights perspectives. Written by academics and nurse practitioners, this comprehensive text draws together theory, research and practice to map the landscape of Advanced Practice in Mental Health Nursing (APMHN) in Europe. Underpinned by a rights- and relational- based approach to care, the textbook is organized around six themes: theoretical and historical perspectives; foundations for collaborative working; therapeutic engagement in different contexts; beyond the clinical dimension of the APMHN role; advancing the evidence-based practice agenda and emerging issues and challenges.

No need to feel stressed over anatomy and physiology--grasp all the basic terms and concepts, with the fully updated Anatomy and Physiology Made Incredibly Easy! , 5th Edition. Using humor and friendly guidance, this colorful text gives you the pure-and-simple clarity you need to understand the basic structure and functions of all major body systems, while also guiding you through genetics, nutrition, reproduction, and more.

Bates' Nursing Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 3rd Edition, adapts the proven techniques and vibrant visuals of Bates' gold-standard assessment text specifically for the needs of today's nursing students. Thoroughly updated, evidence-based coverage emphasizes the healthy patient and clearly details common findings and diseases to help students develop and practice key skills in physical examination and history taking.

Need to develop strong cardiac nursing skills or advance your practice to a higher level? The newly updated Cardiac Nursing, 7th Edition is the gold standard reference and on-the-unit resource, offering crucial guidance and direction for nurses looking to provide up-to-date, evidence-based cardiac care.

Learn safe, effective nursing care for patients receiving drug therapy! This book helps you understand the principles of pharmacology and apply them to nursing practice. Known for its practical application of the nursing process to drugs and disorders, this book explains how to make informed decisions about drug therapy, educate patients, and administer medications.

Clinical Dosage Calculations is a local, full-colour text covering the important aspects of dosage calculations you will require to deal with this essential part of clinical practice. An applied skills-focused text, this book uses real-life cases, worked examples and real medication charts and labels to engage students. Starting with the fundamental skills to help students deal with mathematics and familiarise themselves with medication charts and labels, the text then moves on to specialist area chapters, allowing them to deepen their skills in a clinical context. Students engage in the activities of each chapter as an introduction to the concept before moving onto the final chapter where they can test their overall knowledge.

The care that a patient receives in the first hours after surgery is crucial to minimizing the risk of complications. The recovery room staff must manage both comatose and physiologically unstable patients, and deal with the immediate post-operative care of surgical patients. The Complete Recovery Room Book, Sixth edition, provides nurses, surgeons, and anaesthetists with up-to-date guidance and practical tips on the post-operative management of patients.

This distinguished text provides top-tier guidance for advanced practice nurses on how to perform a comprehensive systematic review of available research to inform scholarly work, particularly in DNP and PhD programs. With a strategic focus on the search process and assessing the quality of the evidence, this text presents, clearly and comprehensively, all of the knowledge and skills necessary to conduct a foundational CSR in eight concrete steps. This text examines how to write a CSR proposal, final report, and a policy brief based on systematic review findings. Two finished proposals and two completed systematic reviews demonstrate each step of the process from start to finish. Additionally, the text covers software used in research queries and provides helpful strategies for effectively using the search function when seeking information. Two complete CSRs along with new and updated examples throughout the book further aid readers in their pursuit of excellence in scholarly work.

The 2022 edition of Contemporary Nephrology Nursing serves as a guide to promote excellent patient outcomes using evidence-based nephrology nursing care and is a valuable resource for all nurses caring for patients with kidney disease. The scope of this respected and trusted classic has been expanded to include the most complete collection of nephrology nursing topics ever published. The new edition includes 60 chapters written by 93 expert authors and reviewed by 125 highly respected healthcare professionals.

Prepare for success in today''s high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings! Critical Care Nursing: Diagnosis and Management, 9th Edition helps you understand and apply critical care nursing principles and concepts to clinical assessment, diagnostic procedures, and therapeutic management.

Critical Care Nursing: A Holistic Approach, 12th Edition, remains the go-to resource on the nurse's role in today's challenging critical care practice, delivering essential coverage of theory and principles within a practical context to prepare students to care for patients who are critically ill and their families. The text's popular holistic approach emphasizes comprehensive patient care, incorporating psychosocial concepts, assessment, and management of a variety of disorders

As a nurse responsible for providing person-centred care it is vital that you understand how culture and diversity affect patients' experience of health care. Ensuring that you are able to communicate effectively with people from across the social spectrum and tailor your nursing practice to the needs of the individual is not simple but this book will provide you with the knowledge, awareness and skills to do it.

Drop the ECG anxiety and learn to interpret rhythm strips in simple, stress-free ways. Offering expert direction, this freshly updated, fully illustrated guide is packed with images and learning aids that support your understanding and retention in obtaining and interpreting rhythm strips. Recognize and treat a wide variety of arrhythmias with this vital text -- an ideal study aid and friendly on-the-unit support for both students and practicing nurses.

Helps develop the clinical reasoning capability to confidently meet the unique challenges of caring for children and their families in a wide variety of healthcare settings. Covering a wide scope of relevant topics with an emphasis on common issues and pediatric-specific content.

Fluids & Electrolytes Made Incredibly Easy!®, 8th Edition, is your quick-reference guide to success in understanding fluids and electrolytes at every stage of your nursing career--in class, on the unit, as you prepare for the NCLEX®, and whenever you need a refresher.

Aligns to the revised Standards for Practice for the Enrolled Nurse. This text will equip you with current knowledge, and basic problem-solving and critical-thinking skills to successfully meet the demanding challenges of today’s health care, the text clearly explains concepts and definitions, and gives you the knowledge you need.

Specifically developed for Australian and New Zealand students this comprehensive resource provides a detailed overview of key information with person-centred care highlighted throughout to focus on the individualistic, interactive and holistic nature of nursing and midwifery practice. It focuses not only on a person’s physical healthcare needs, but also on the intellectual, emotional, sociocultural and spiritual aspects of care. This thoroughly revised and updated fourth edition features a new chapter on caring for a woman throughout pregnancy, birth and early parenting.

Introduction to Critical Care Nursing, 8th Edition prepares you to provide safe, effective, patient-centered care in a variety of high-acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. Evidence-based coverage includes realistic case studies and incorporates the latest advances in critical care. Disorders are conveniently organized by body system or special situation, and nursing management chapters include quick-reference nursing care plans. This clear, concise textbook will help you develop the knowledge and clinical reasoning skills needed for success in today''s highly complex critical care environments. Nearly 300 full-color photographs and drawings visually clarify key concepts and equipment for better understanding of today''s complex critical care environment.

Build the knowledge and clinical judgment you need to succeed in maternity and pediatric nursing! Written in a clear, easy-to-read style, Introduction to Maternity and Pediatric Nursing, 9th Edition describes how you can provide effective, evidence-based care for women during pregnancy, labor, and delivery, and for newborns and growing children.

This text teaches nursing students how to integrate evidence-based practice and research into their work while considering the newest trends and research; .

First published in 1985, Law for Nurses and Midwives continues to provide the most comprehensive and practical nursing text available to assist nurses and midwives to practise professionally and safely. The book is designed to support the reader to apply relevant legal, ethical and regulatory principles to their day-to-day clinical practice. For example, when students are starting a surgical placement, they can find the latest practical legal advice on consent; when they are on a medical placement, they can refer to the chapter on medications. This tenth edition is fully updated and incorporates legislative changes of all relevant practice areas in all states and territories in Australia. Ideal for students undertaking a diploma, bachelor’s or postgraduate degree, it will remain relevant throughout their careers as an invaluable reference guide that enhances the provision of safe, quality healthcare in Australia.

From managing conflict and working collaboratively to organizing patient care and staffing, students vicariously experience the responsibilities of mid- and top-level nursing managers and hone their critical-thinking, problem-solving and decision-making skills before entering high-stakes clinical settings.

With a clear framework of person-centred care, critical thinking, clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice underpinning the assessment and management of adults with complex, acute and chronic healthcare issues, this book provides nursing students with the foundations for developing expert clinical practice.

olistic overview of mental health for nurses in a practice setting. All nurses play an important role in supporting mental health as part of holistic care provision. This book is designed to help students and novice clinicians to develop the knowledge, skills and attitudes they need to care for people across a wide range of specialist and non-specialist practice settings.

Known for its comprehensive coverage, readability, and visual presentation, Mosby's Textbook for Nursing Assistants, 10th Edition helps prepare you to work in long-term care, acute care, and subacute care settings - and includes a practice scenario in each chapter to enhance clinical judgment skills. It is the most comprehensive text for CNA programs, packed with step-by-step instructions for over 100 procedures and perfect for programs that are 80 hours or longer. The lifespan coverage includes skills not only for adults and older residents, but also for maternity and pediatric patients, so you are comfortable in a variety of care settings. New chapter organization allows you to learn in manageable portions and a revitalized art program clarifies important concepts and procedural steps.

This textbook details the nursing care of babies with life limiting conditions and sets the context within the philosophy of internationally collaborative neonatal palliative care emphasising emotional and practical support for their families. This innovative and unique text provides experienced nurses and student nurses alike with realistic guidance in caring for babies with palliative care needs, alongside the crucial support for their families and identifies important strategies for professional self care. Nursing experts in this field collaborated to develop a reference book which supports holistic and integrated clinical practice. Parents' experiences of what they consider helpful or not so helpful are interwoven throughout the chapter. There is currently no other textbook which offers the above information and guidance specifically for nurses and allied health professionals. As such this book will appeal to all nurses and health professionals working within the neonatal palliative care specialty in a global context.

The NCLEX-RN exam is not just about what you know--it's about how you think. With expert critical thinking strategies and targeted practice, Kaplan's Next Generation NCLEX-RN Prep 2023-2024 will help you leverage your nursing knowledge and face the exam with confidence.

Nursing and Midwifery Research is an essential guide in assisting students and practitioners develop sound research skills to enhance their knowledge and practice. This edition includes the most recent updates and developments in Australian and New Zealand nursing and midwifery practice, with a focus on evidence-based practice, along with a range of contemporary research articles and pedagogy to support specific chapter content.

Providing easy-to-understand explanations, the 12th Edition walks you step-by-step through more than 150 procedures, including key skills in patient handling and transfers, wound care, communication, safety and record keeping, as well as special care procedures for patients with medical devices, catheters and physical or mental impairments. Ensuring you have a solid foundation, it also explains essential background information on basic human anatomy, career planning and emerging health care trends. Vibrant color photos and illustrations bring chapter concepts to life, while numerous print study tools help you maximize your course success.

Here's the step-by-step guidance you need to develop individualized plans of care while also honing your critical-thinking and analytical skills. You'll find about 160 care plans in all, covering acute,community, and home-care settings across the life span. Complete listings of nursing diagnoses organized by priority and explanations of the reason for tests and what the results mean. Includes actions and interventions with comprehensive rationales

Select nursing interventions with the book that standardizes nursing language! Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC), 8th Edition provides a research-based clinical tool to help you choose appropriate interventions. It standardizes and defines the knowledge base for nursing practice as it communicates the nature of nursing. More than 610 nursing interventions are described — from general practice to all specialty areas. From an expert author team led by Cheryl Wagner, this book is an ideal tool for practicing nurses and nursing students, educators seeking to enhance nursing curricula, and nursing administrators seeking to improve patient care. It’s the only comprehensive taxonomy of nursing-sensitive interventions available!

Portfolios for Nursing, Midwifery and other Health Professions is a practical guide providing detailed strategies for developing a quality portfolio that will assist you to review your professional practice, assess your learning and career planning, direct your continuing professional development and effectively communicate your professional achievements.

This book makes the full spectrum of psychiatric nursing easier to understand and equips students with a confident grasp of the skills and concepts essential to their success in clinical practice. This 9th Edition has been extensively revised throughout, reflecting the latest evidence-based perspectives and practices while maintaining a strong foundation in the nursing process.

The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures sets the gold standard for nursing care; providing the procedures, rationale, and guidance required by qualified nurses to deliver clinically effective, patient-focused care with expertise and confidence.  With over two-hundred detailed procedures, this comprehensive manual presents the evidence and underlying theory alongside full-colour illustrations and photographs, and includes coverage of infection prevention and control, perioperative care, wound management, nutrition, diagnostic testing, discharge, medicines management, and much more. Empowers nurses to become informed, skilled practitioners Reflects current procedures and changes in modern adult nursing practice All procedures are supported by up to date evidence, including detailed rationales for each step of each procedure Considers the clinical governance around the procedures and nursing practice

Provides students with the knowledge and skills they will require to ensure safe, quality care across a range of healthcare settings. Updated to reflect the current context and scope of practice for Enrolled Nurses in Australia and New Zealand, the text focuses on the delivery of person-centred care, critical thinking, quality clinical decision making and application of skills.