New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library

Are you working to build a new life of sustained sobriety? Are you a sober support for a loved one who's trying to move past addiction? Addiction, Recovery, Change: A How-To Manual for Successfully Navigating Sobriety provides the tools you need to meet the everyday challenges of not just getting sober, but staying sober . Based on decades of hands-on clinical experience, Addiction, Recovery, Change addresses the many pitfalls, questions, doubts, and temptations faced by those in recovery and offers tips and information for making it past the most difficult obstacles, such as: · Codependent relationships · So-called "triggers" · Boredom · Lack of strong support networks .

The Oxford Handbook of Acute Medicine remains the must-have resource for all those dealing with acute illness. Your practical guide to the presentation, causes, and management of the acutely ill patient, this Handbook will take you step-by-step through the management of the patient while awaiting specialist help, and beyond, with details of specialist treatments to help you make an informed decision about your patients' ongoing care.

Returning for its fifth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia has been re-energized by new editors and a specialist contributor team, while still retaining its much-loved, clear and concise style. Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever.

Taking a child-centred approach to the subject, the book provides comprehensive coverage of areas such as neonatology, surgery, genetics and congenital malformations, along with the treatment of childrenin the community, the psychological effects of illness on the child and family, child safeguarding, and ethical and legal issues, all in a user-friendly and succinct style. All chapters have been updated for this new edition, which now includes a new chapter comprehensively covering allergies, with new dedicated chapters on audiology, ophthalmology, and rheumatology. Child safeguarding has been thoroughly revised in line with latest guidance, with a new topic on manslaughter by gross negligence.

Dyspnea, also known as breathlessness, is one of the most difficult symptoms to experience and is also one of the most difficult to treat as the evidence-base for this symptom lags behind other prevalent symptoms, such as pain or nausea. This volume brings together expertise from the fields of nursing, chaplaincy, social work, and psychology to address dyspnea from a palliative care context. Covering patients ranging from pediatric to geriatric, each chapter opens with a case study and provides context for the practical clinical content that follows.

This introductory textbook relates theory to practice and enhances students' learning and understanding of cultural issues that impact on patient care and their own practice as nurses, while considering wider social and political issues. Now in its third edition, Cultural Awareness in Nursing and Health Care has been updated to include new research, evidence and a completely new chapter focusing on the health care workforce itself and the issues it’s facing.

For more than 30 years, Designing Clinical Research has set the standard as the most practical, authoritative guide for physicians, nurses, pharmacists, and other practitioners involved in all forms of clinical and public health research. This state-of-the-art fifth edition features new figures, tables, and design, as well as new editors, new content, and extensively updated references to keep you current. Covers clinical research in its many forms, including clinical trials, observational studies, translational science, and patient-oriented research. Presents epidemiologic terms and principles and advanced conceptual material in a practical and reader-friendly manner.

Health Promotion in the 21st Century offers a systematic introduction to the principles of health promotion today, and effective planning, implementation and evaluation. The authors review the global, regional and local issues that affect health in Australia, and show how social, economic, political and educational elements in society contribute to population health and wellbeing.

This is an engaging and practical introduction to the elements of grammar, sentence structure, and style that you need to write well across a range of academic, creative, and professional contexts, deftly combining practical strategies with scholarly principles. How Writing Works should be on the desk of everyone who needs to write: students, professionals in all fields, and creative writers. It is an essential handbook for working writers and writing workers in the contemporary writing-reliant workplace. It includes advice on reading; language; grammar and style; structuring; designing; paragraphing; punctuation; workplace and academic documents; digital writing for social media; and revising, editing, and proofreading.

This multidisciplinary text is written simply and provides an accessible and practical guide to conducting and analysing qualitative data effectively forundergraduate and postgraduate students entering people-facing professions. It agrees with the ideology that in order to understand people's behaviour, we must first attempt to understand the meanings and interpretations that people give to that behaviour.The content and pedagogical approach introduces students to an updated overview of the research process and helps them navigate through the practical ways of carrying out qualitative research methods: from writing a qualitative research proposal to the application of qualitative enquiry acrossdifferent groups of individuals. Qualitative Research Methods continues to be an easy to read, solid foundation for students in a variety of disciplines and ensures they are well prepared to conduct qualitative research across real-world projects.

Hugh van Cuylenburg was a primary school teacher volunteering in northern India when he had a life-changing realisation- despite the underprivileged community the children were from, they were remarkably positive. By contrast, back in Australia Hugh knew that all too many people found it hard to be happy, or suffered from mental illnesses such as depression and anxiety. His own little sister had been ravaged by anorexia nervosa.n the ensuing years Hugh threw himself into studying and sharing this revelation with the world through The Resilience Project, with his playful and unorthodox presentations which both entertain and inform. Now, with the same blend of humour, poignancy and clear-eyed insight that The Resilience Project has become renowned for, Hugh explains how we can all get the tools we need to live a happier and more fulfilling life.

Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. From deciding how much literature to include to managing your data, assessing your sources, and writing results, it outlines a step-by-step process that works with any data.

For two decades, Understanding Clinical Papers has been helping students and professionals understand the research that supports evidence-based practice. Now in its fourth edition, this popular introductory textbook covers every major aspect of reading and evaluating clinical research literature, from identifying the aims and objectives of a paper to analysing the data with different multivariable methods. Numerous excerpts from actual clinical research papers make learning real and immediate, supported by a unique visual approach that reinforces key points and connects examples with the chapter material.