Bankstown Medical Officer Library Survival Guide

All healthcare students need to understand research methods to be able to understand research articles and to actively engage in research where necessary. Most clinical programs include research training within their courses, and many students are required to undertake an assessed research project--both at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Breaking down the jargon barriers of research methods, and designed for those new to the world of research, Demystifying Research is a straightforward and highly accessible guide to fundamental research methods, approaches, and skills. This student-friendly resource describes quantitative and qualitative research approaches, mixed research methods, research ethics and governance, research skills and more. Step-by-step, students learn to appraise research in scholarly articles, design a project, and conduct research in the lab, in clinical practice, and other real-life situations. Technical jargon and classic research are explained in plain English, while relevant theory is illustrated through relatable examples of research in practice. Designed to make learning about research easy, this valuable guide: Explains basic research methods in a direct and engaging style Breaks research methods down into manageable, easy-to-digest pieces Defines what research is, and provides an overview of its methods and methodologies Covers all key areas of research, including observational and experimental approaches, and clinical trials Includes real-life examples of successful student research projects Features a companion website containing lecture slides available to download in PowerPoint Demystifying Research is a must-have for undergraduate and postgraduate medical, nursing, other healthcare and social sciences students, as well as professionals looking to refresh their knowledge.

Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Following in the tradition of its previous editions, the updated and fully revised fifth edition of this classic guide to grant writing is especially written for health and human service professionals. It provides a comprehensive, systematic, and easy-to-follow stepwise guide to writing competitive grant proposals for research, education, innovative practices, and demonstration projects. Never has the need to advance evidence to improve the health of the public been greater. Generating evidence requires funding, and grant writing has become an essential activity for every health and human service professional who must seek funds to advance innovative research, education, and practice initiatives. Uniquely focused on developing grant-writing skills as part of a professional's career, this one-of-a-kind guide addresses the full range of essential competencies needed to ensure success. The new edition expands coverage on how to compose an effective aims page, explains how to write a compelling literature review to support significance of a proposal, and describes considerations for specific types of study designs. Additionally, the guide provides a more extensive discussion of mentorship, plus tips for predoctoral students and postdoctoral fellows.

Greenhalgh's award-winning Understanding Research Methods for Evidence-Based Practice in Health is back. In this second edition, you will gain a complete overview of the most common topics covered in a standard 12-week evidence-based practice unit for Nursing and Allied Health courses. Throughout the text, you will find engaging and insightful content, which has a unique focus on consumers of research - keeping students focused on the skills most relevant to them. Features include videos that help students connect the theoretical with the practical, interactivities and animations that help bring course concepts to life and knowledge check questions throughout the text that provide guidance for further study. This title enables students to master concepts and succeed in assessment by taking the roadblocks out of self-study, with features designed so they get the most out of learning.

Crash Course - your effective every-day study companion PLUS the perfect antidote for exam stress! Save time and be assured you have the essential information you need in one place to excel on your course and achieve exam success. A winning formula now for over 20 years, each series volume has been fine-tuned and fully updated - with an improved full-colour layout tailored to make your life easier. Especially written by senior students or junior doctors - those who understand what is essential for exam success - with all information thoroughly checked and quality assured by expert Faculty Advisers, the result are books which exactly meet your needs and you know you can trust. This volume concisely brings together the wide range of skills needed for interpreting or conducting medical research and audit. It starts with the basics of medical data analysis and interpretation, followed by how to critically review published studies and even extends to advice on career advancement including CV writing, securing academic opportunities and teaching. This book will allow you to build competence and confidence in the world of medical research. Provides the exam syllabus in one place - saves valuable revision time Written by senior students and recent graduates - those closest to what is essential for exam success Quality assured by leading Faculty Advisors - ensures complete accuracy of information Features the ever popular 'Hints and Tips' boxes and other useful aide-mémoires - distilled wisdom from those in the know Updated self-assessment section matching the latest exam formats - confirm your understanding and improve exam technique fast

This practical guide speaks to two audiences: those who read and those who conduct research. Clinicians are medical detectives by training. For each patient, they assemble clinical clues to establish causes of signs and symptoms. The task involves both clinical acumen and knowledge of medical research. This book helps guide clinicians through this detective work, by enabling them to make sense of research and to review medical literature critically. It will also be invaluable to researchers who conduct clinical research, particularly randomized controlled trials. Building on previously published, peer-reviewed articles from The Lancet, this handbook is essential for busy clinicians and active researchers interested in research methods. Written by leaders in the field of clinical research who have published extensively with authorship of hundreds of articles in medical journals. The authorship includes one of the three authors of the CONSORT guidelines for the reporting of randomized controlled trials. The book presents the essential concepts to a wide array of topics including randomized control trials, descriptive studies, cohort studies, case-control studies, bias, and screening tests. The book utilises a readable and humorous prose style, lightening what can be a difficult area for clinical readers. Derived from decades of teaching clinical research in seminar settings the book will empower clinicians to make sense of, and critically appraise, current medical research and will enable researchers to enrich the quality of their work. For this Second Edition, the authors have revised and updated the original 16 chapters and added six new chapters. For busy clinicians and active researchers interested in research methods, this book provides helpful tools to derive satisfaction - indeed, fun - from clinical science.

This dynamic guide to doing literature reviews demystifies the process in seven steps to show researchers how to produce a comprehensive literature review. Teaching techniques to bring systematic thoroughness and reflexivity to research, the authors show how to achieve a rich, ethical and reflexive review.   What makes this book unique: Focuses on multimodal texts and settings such as observations, documents, social media, experts in the field and secondary data so that your review covers the full research environment Puts mixed methods at the centre of the process Shows you how to synthesize information thematically, rather than merely summarize the existing literature and findings Brings culture into the process to help you address bias and understand the role of knowledge interpretation, guiding you through Teaches the CORE of the literature review - Critical thinking, Organization, Reflections and Evaluation - and provides a guide for reflexivity at the end of each of the seven steps Visualizes the steps with roadmaps so you can track progress and self-evaluate as you learn the steps This book is the essential best practices guide for students and researchers, providing the understanding and tools to approach both the 'how' and 'why' of a rigorous, comprehensive, literature review.