New eBooks in SWSLHD Libraries

This book is focused on geriatric patients in critically ill conditions in the Emergency Room. Their percentage is very high, about 60% of the total percentage of patients, and the availability of intensive care admission is reduced for them as clearly shown during last Covid-19 pandemic. However, the modern approach is not yet able to stop the frailty cascade after hospitalization. In this book authors offer an analysis to overcome this gap. The volume contains two main sections: in the first one, authors discuss recommendations and guidelines for setting organizations and treatment through different case reports of practical management of critically ill geriatric patients (especially patients treated with noninvasive ventilation). In the second part, they analyze the territorial networks that take charge of the older patients.

An estimated 5.8 million Americans are living with Alzheimer's Disease. Alzheimer's Disease is projected to claim the minds of nearly 14 million Americans and surpass USD 1 trillion in costs by the year 2050. This book will explore new pathways that could lead to earlier detection and potential therapies, the hardships of Alzheimer's disease and other dementias, and the debilitating and progressive nature of this awful disease and the terrible toll it takes on family caregivers.

The definitive resource on breastfeeding initiation, maintenance, support, and advocacy. Jointly developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), this must-have handbook features the most important and up-to-date developments in breastfeeding practice, research, policies, and outreach guidance, assembled by an expert physician panel.

Hundreds of millions of people around the globe care for loved ones who are ill, disabled, elderly or a special-needs child. Despite compassion and commitment, caregiving is stressful and takes a toll on body and mind; heart and soul; on finances, family and work life. This book is packed with sensible self-care strategies and effective solutions for your problems with caregiver stress. Rooted in research, tested in the real-life trials of a family caregiver, the tools and tactics found in this concise, compassionate book will equip you to care for yourself as you care for others.

This innovative text introduces and illustrates case study methodology for nursing research by exploring how it can be used to uncover the varied and complex life experiences of persons with chronic illness and post-traumatic stress conditions. Nursing practice demands care and compassion, but often nurses do not have the tools to examine their clients' health and wellness experiences. This book presents an approach to finding shared solutions for common health problems from a nursing perspective. It provides readers with the tools to develop their own case study approach and the skills to translate their findings into innovative ways to influence nursing care for people across their health/illness trajectories.

The Chronic Pain Handbook & Resource Guide is a necessary reference for public and academic libraries, as well as health care collections, providing information crucial to sufferers of chronic pain, their broader support network, case workers, social workers, and other health care providers.

Fully revised and updated, this pocket handbook for clinical assessment covers a comprehensive range of neurological, neuropsychological, neuropsychiatric, and neurobehavioral syndromes and disorders. Now in its fourth edition, this ready reference helps the busy clinician or doctoral-level trainee select from among hundreds of tests and assessment techniques in clinical neuropsychology. It guides clinicians in developing tailored, hypothesis-driven approaches for assessing patients with a broad range of common neuropsychological syndromes and neurological disorders.

This atlas describes and illustrates in detail the surgical procedures employed in laparoscopic anatomical liver resection, according to tumor location. The surgical approach and techniques are explained for each type of laparoscopic liver resection based on the involved anatomical segment, section, and hemi-liver. Attention is also drawn to potential complications and the means of preventing and managing them. Beyond anatomical liver resection, guidance is provided on non-anatomical resections that do not pay regard to segmental, sectional, or lobar anatomy. The coverage is completed by the inclusion of useful information on instruments and energy devices as well as the basic skills required for laparoscopic liver resection.

More than 37 million Americans, about one in ten, have diabetes, and another 96 million adults have pre-diabetes. Diabetes is growing more prevalent, with an estimated one in three Americans expected to develop the disease at some point in their lifetime. Chapter 1 examines how diabetes affects people of all ages, with a special focus on Americans with Type I diabetes and their families. Chapter 2 identifies the direct and indirect costs of diabetes on the economy. Chapter 3 explores new technological discoveries that are already changing the lives of people with Type 1 diabetes. Chapter 4 describes ED visits made by adults with diabetes, and presents selected characteristics by age.

Packed with Practical Examples and Calculations - an invaluable resource for anyone involved in or preparing to enter the field of nursing. This guide serves as a vital tool for enhancing professional competence and confidence in the domain of drug administration, a key component of nursing practice.

A new edition of this bestselling resource for emergency physicians seeking to expand their knowledge of the 12-lead electrocardiogram and how it relates to patient care - provides comprehensive guidance on the use and interpretation of the 12-lead electrocardiogram (ECG). Celebrating the 20th anniversary since initial publication, this book is an essential teaching and reference text that helps physicians with basic knowledge of electrocardiography quickly locate the objective criteria necessary for various diagnoses, understand different electrocardiographic waveforms and their meaning in individual patients, and interpret the ECG within the context of the patient's presentation.

Fully revised according to up-to-date clinical guidance, this book provides a practical, accessible guide to emergency situations encountered in the practice of supportive and palliative care. Designed for rapid use, it addresses the immediate clinical challenges while more definitive measures are being put in place.

Enables readers to form an integrated understanding of endocrine physiology by examining the mechanisms of action of medical therapies A comprehensive resource on medical therapies; in each chapter, the relevant endocrine physiology of the medical therapy is presented, followed by a review of the detailed mechanism of action of selected medical interventions. Where applicable, emphasis is placed on clinical pharmacology pearls, such as side effects and therapeutic monitoring guidelines.

A key text for all those involved in the care of neonates, including nurses, midwives and nursing students, providing a single source of valuable, accessible and fully up-to-date information about neonatal care.

A practical and indispensable tool for program developers in the integrated behavioral health space. Topics as pragmatic as scheduling, documentation, staff development and more are covered in this easy-to-read, no-nonsense text.

This book is a comprehensive yet practical guide to the practice of primary care behavioral pediatrics for behavior analysts. Practitioners of this subspecialty work collaboratively with caregivers, educators, pediatricians, and pediatric specialists to bring about success for primarily neurotypical children experiencing difficulties with everything from sleep and cooperation to attention, anxiety, and toileting. This book reviews the historical and theoretical foundations of the subspecialty and provides practical guidance for problem conceptualization, assessment, case formulation, treatment planning, science-based behavioral treatment, caregiver treatment adherence, multidisciplinary collaboration, and ethical practice.

This comprehensive guide from experts at Mayo Clinic explains how pain develops, how it can become chronic and what you can do to manage chronic pain so that it doesn't take over your life. The book is based on the take-charge approach to managing chronic pain practiced at Mayo Clinic's Pain Rehabilitation Center.

Covers basic knowledge of the neurosurgical field for medical students. Combined with academic lectures and practical exercises, it creates the intellectual base necessary for passing the neurosurgery examination. The book is divided into general and special sections. The general section focuses on neurological and neurosurgical propaedeutics, specifically emphasizing clinical examination of the patient. The special section summarizes current knowledge of the etiology and pathogenesis of surgically treatable diseases of the nervous system. This section also covers current surgical treatment options and their respective indication criteria.

Embark on the Ultimate Journey of Parenthood with ConfidenceStepping into the world of parenthood is an exhilarating adventure, filled with moments of pure joy and unexpected challenges. Newbie Mum and Dad: Beyond the Baby Manual is your companion on this beautiful journey, guiding you through each step with wisdom, empathy, and practical advice.

Unlock the secrets to effective nursing leadership with this essential guide In the ever-evolving landscape of healthcare, leadership capability is a vital skill for nurses, however, leadership development and application within the field is rarely addressed during training. This essential resource ensures nurses are equipped with the guidance needed to develop as effective and resilient leaders within the workplace. Centred on the clinical nurse's perspective, this text serves as a practical guide to applying nursing leadership concepts and provides a timely and authoritative overview of what it means to be a nurse leader in the health service.

Here's the step-by-step guidance you need to develop individualized plans of care while also honing your critical-thinking and analytical skills. You'll find about 160 care plans in all, covering acute, community, and home-care settings across the life span.

This book illustrates the need for integrating early palliative care for patients with cancer and the important role social workers have in providing psychosocial support services across the cancer trajectory. There is a convergence of oncology and palliative social work specialties in the delivery of comprehensive, culturally-congruent, whole person cancer care.

This book provides a concise and accessible introduction to online research, covering ethics, surveys, focus groups, ethnographies, experiments and the gathering and analysis of naturally occurring digital/big data. It also asks how researchers should use the digital environment to communicate their research and looks forward to the future of the field, asking what the next ten years hold. Online research is rarely well served by the direct translation of onsite methods onto the internet. Rather, researchers need to reflect, adapt and redesign research as they change the mode through which they conduct their research. Featuring an updated glossary, two new chapters and comprehensive updates throughout, this new edition provides new and experienced researchers with the foundation they need to conduct online research projects.

This book couples the essentials of clinical leadership with a practical approach to help readers be effective clinical leaders and managers. Beginning with a theoretical analysis it then focuses on practical ways of being a good manager and leader and the day-to-day requirements of a consultant working within a multi-professional clinical team.

Every day, doctors are faced with the challenge of keeping the people they treat safe and free from harm. Patient safety is a relatively new field of study, but the field is expanding and there is now better understanding of what is needed to measure and achieve safety for patients. The Handbook of Patient Safety will empower doctors, nurses and other professionals to be able to develop safe clinical processes that allow proactive management and minimisation of risk, so that people are not harmed when they receive clinical care.

The Handbook of Quality Improvement in Healthcare systematically covers the most modern theories and methods of improvement and implementation science in a practical and easy to follow format. It focusses on key challenges in healthcare, such as developing safe person-centred care, ensuring equity of care, meeting the challenge of climate change, and ensuring that care is safe, effective, timely, and delivered efficiently.

Dr. Story takes a student-focused approach to the challenging subject formatted with vibrant graphics and easy-to-read practice tools. Her text is organized by body system, and she has organized the content into topical chapters that walk students through their base knowledge of A&P, what can go wrong with the human body, how to identify the problem, and what actions they need to take.

"The Schizophrenia Survival Guide" is an essential resource for anyone touched by schizophrenia. This comprehensive guide combines the latest medical insights with personal stories and practical advice, offering a beacon of hope and support. Readers will find a deep well of information on understanding symptoms, navigating treatment options, and leveraging support networks. Designed for patients, caregivers, and professionals, it demystifies the condition and empowers individuals to manage their journey with schizophrenia effectively.

This book is written by the husband of a stroke victim. The husband is the caregiver of 25 years to his wife in helping her in her battle to recovery from a massive stroke. It describes some of her challenges over the years and the tools that she has used to meet these challenges to make her life easier in the world that she knows of it today.

This comprehensive and accessible guide provides birth workers and lactation professionals with the skills to help families navigate the emotional and physical challenges of weaning. Using a compassionate, person-centred approach that prioritises the needs of both mother and child, this pioneering resource details the emotional impact of weaning and offers practical guidance and expert advice suitable for professionals and parents alike in order to facilitate complex decision-making processes and set healthy boundaries.

In this newly revised edition, a distinguished team of emergency surgeons deliver a one-of-a-kind question-and-answer book on the growing specialty of surgical critical care and acute surgery, ideal for those caring for the critically ill and injured surgical patient. This book reviews surgical critical care, emergency surgery, burns and trauma, and includes full color, high-quality surgical photographs to aid understanding. Readers will also benefit from access to a website that offers additional topics and tests, as well as an archive of all test questions and answers from previous editions.

n recent years we have made huge progress in understanding the psychology of what had previously often been thought of as a largely biological problem, an illness. Much has been written about the biological aspects: this report aims to redress the balance by concentrating on the psychological and social aspects, both in terms of how we understand these experiences and also what can help when they become distressing. We hope that this report will contribute to a fundamental change that is already underway in how we as a society think about and offer help for 'psychosis' and 'schizophrenia'.

Pediatrics is an evolving field of medicine and with many new advancements in knowledge, scientific research, and technology in recent years. This concise and comprehensive new edition provides an update and overview of the latest advances and current literature in Pediatrics, assisting health professionals to review cutting-edge information in the different subspecialties in Pediatrics.

Combining the theory and practice of academic writing, this book helps you to master the basics of writing at university. It equips you with the skills needed to examine cognitive processes such as reflection and critical thinking and includes essential information on referencing your work correctly and avoiding plagiarism. A comprehensive writing toolkit for students of nursing, midwifery, health and social care, it provides a step-by-step approach to a whole range of genres specific to these disciplines, going beyond the traditional academic essay to include care critiques, action plans, portfolios and systemic reviews as well as complex argumentative writing and the undergraduate dissertation proposal.