Gastroenterology - Bankstown Hospital - Grand Rounds - Further Reading - LibGuides at South Western Sydney Local Health District

Introduction

Welcome to the Grand Rounds Further Reading List, Gastroenterology edition, brought to you by the Clinical Library, on Level 4, next to the Auditorium.

This library guide is to help support you in your professional development. Please give us feedback so we can improve this list in the future.

Some sections are under construction and will be ready later in the year. If you are presenting at a later Grand Rounds, please contact lynne.roberts3@health.nsw.gov.au and tell us about the content of your paper so we can add appropriate resources to the list for when you present. your paper.

If you have any questions, please contact the Clinical Library on 9722 8250 or email SWSLHD-BankstownLibrary@health.nsw.gov.au or visit us Monday to Fridays, 8.30am - 5.00pm.

THIS WEEK'S TOPIC

“MASLD is the new NAFLD”

Journal Articles

All journal articles are available via CIAP, or by request from the Clinical Library, via our online request form.

Bae, J. C. (2024). "No More NAFLD: The Term Is Now MASLD." enm 39(1): 92-94: http://dx.doi.org/10.3803/EnM.2024.103

http://www.e-sciencecentral.org/articles/?scid=1516086436 PDF AT URL.

Chen, L., et al. (2024). "Clinical and histological features under different nomenclatures of fatty liver disease: NAFLD, MAFLD, MASLD and MetALD." Journal of Hepatology 80(2): e64-e66: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jhep.2023.08.021 PDF AT URL.

He, L., et al. (2024). "Changing from NAFLD to MASLD: The new definition can more accurately identify individuals at higher risk for diabetes." Journal of Hepatology 80(2): e85-e87: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jhep.2023.09.035 PDF AT LINK.

Lu, Z., et al. (2024). "The transition from NAFLD to MASLD and its impact on clinical practice and outcomes." Journal of Hepatology 81(4): e155-e156: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jhep.2024.02.021 FULL TEXT AT URL.

Perazzo, H., et al. (2024). "Changing from NAFLD through MAFLD to MASLD: Similar prevalence and risk factors in a large Brazilian cohort." Journal of Hepatology 80(2): e72-e74: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jhep.2023.08.025 PDF AT LINK.

Ramírez-Mejía, M. M. and N. Méndez-Sánchez (2023). "What Is in a Name: from NAFLD to MAFLD and MASLD—Unraveling the Complexities and Implications." Current Hepatology Reports 22(4): 221-227: https://doi.org/10.1007/s11901-023-00620-9

PDF AT LINK.

This review aims to examine the evolution of terminology, diagnostic criteria, epidemiologic considerations, and clinical implications of the change from nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) to metabolic dysfunction–associated fatty liver disease (MAFLD) and metabolic dysfunction–associated steatotic liver disease (MASLD).

Rinella, M. E., et al. (2023). "A multisociety Delphi consensus statement on new fatty liver disease nomenclature." Journal of Hepatology 79(6): 1542-1556: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S016882782300418X

The principal limitations of the terms NAFLD and NASH are the reliance on exclusionary confounder terms and the use of potentially stigmatising language. This study set out to determine if content experts and patient advocates were in favour of a change in nomenclature and/or definition. A modified Delphi process was led by three large pan-national liver associations. The consensus was defined a priori as a supermajority (67%) vote. An independent committee of experts external to the nomenclature process made the final recommendation on the acronym and its diagnostic criteria. A total of 236 panellists from 56 countries participated in 4 online surveys and 2 hybrid meetings. Response rates across the 4 survey rounds were 87%, 83%, 83%, and 78%, respectively. Seventy-four percent of respondents felt that the current nomenclature was sufficiently flawed to consider a name change. The terms “nonalcoholic” and “fatty” were felt to be stigmatising by 61% and 66% of respondents, respectively. Steatotic liver disease was chosen as an overarching term to encompass the various aetiologies of steatosis. The term steatohepatitis was felt to be an important pathophysiological concept that should be retained. The name chosen to replace NAFLD was metabolic dysfunction–associated steatotic liver disease (MASLD). There was consensus to change the definition to include the presence of at least 1 of 5 cardiometabolic risk factors. Those with no metabolic parameters and no known cause were deemed to have cryptogenic steatotic liver disease. A new category, outside pure metabolic dysfunction–associated steatotic liver disease, termed metabolic and alcohol related/associated liver disease (MetALD), was selected to describe those with metabolic dysfunction–associated steatotic liver disease, who consume greater amounts of alcohol per week (140–350 g/wk and 210–420 g/wk for females and males, respectively). The new nomenclature and diagnostic criteria are widely supported and non-stigmatising, and can improve awareness and patient identification.

Rinella, M. E. and S. Sookoian (2024). "From NAFLD to MASLD: updated naming and diagnosis criteria for fatty liver disease." Journal of Lipid Research 65(1): https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jlr.2023.100485 FULL TEXT AT URL.

Bae, J. C. (2024). "No More NAFLD: The Term Is Now MASLD." enm 39(1): 92-94: http://dx.doi.org/10.3803/EnM.2024.103

http://www.e-sciencecentral.org/articles/?scid=1516086436

PDF AT URL.

PDF AT LINK.

FULL TEXT AT URL.

PDF AT LIMK.

PDF AT LINK.

FULL TEXT AT URL.

Books

Cotton and Williams' Practical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy by Catharine M. Walsh; Ahmir Ahmad; Brian P. Saunders; Jonathan Cohen; Peter B. Cotton; Christopher B. Williams
Call Number: CAMPBELLTOWN Clinical Library WI 141/4a
ISBN: 9781119525202
Publication Date: 2024
The fundamental guide to gastrointestinal endoscopy returns in a fully updated new edition For over forty years, Cotton and Williams' Practical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy has offered a clear, accessible introduction to the fundamentals of endoscopy, from patient positioning to the range of available procedures.
Greenberger's CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Endoscopy, Fourth Edition by Richard Blumberg (Editor); Norton Greenberger; Sonia Friedman; John Saltzman
Call Number: BANKSTOWN Medical Library WI 140/GRE/4
ISBN: 9781260473438
Publication Date: 2022
The peerless guide to clinical management of digestive and liver diseases--updated to reflect the latest research and treatments Authoritative coverage of the entire spectrum of gastroenterology and hepatology conditions, including therapeutic advances in Barrett's esophagus, eosinophilic esophagitis, acute diarrheal disorders, peptic ulcer disease, hereditary gastrointestinal cancer syndromes, upper and lower gastrointestinal bleeding Written by expert faculty physicians at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women's Hospital Presented in a streamlined style that makes learning and retaining key information effortless More than 90 full-color endoscopic and radiographic images enhance clinical decision-making and clarify imaging techniques Logical organization begins with a section on general concerns such as acute abdominal pain, then progresses to specific disease categories "Essentials of Diagnosis" bulleted lists deliver instant guidance on identifying both common and rare digestive disorders Updated references to recently-published clinically relevant articles Key information from related fields, including gastrointestinal surgery, and subspecialties such as liver transplantation, advanced endoscopy, bariatric surgery, inflammatory bowel disease, mast cell disease, toxicities of oncologic therapy, intestinal malabsorption, nutrition, and state of the art imaging High-yield overview of effective treatment approaches for both acute and chronic viral hepatitis provides key perspectives on improving patient outcomes
The Little GI Book by Douglas Adler
Call Number: BANKSTOWN Medical Library WI 17/ADL/2
ISBN: 9781630917418
Publication Date: 2020
A practical, portable handbook, newly updated with nearly 100 color images and figures, The Little GI Book: An Easily Digestible Guide to Understanding Gastroenterology, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for anyone new to the world of gastroenterology and hepatology. Featuring new information on the latest advancements in gastroenterology and hepatology and written in a friendly, conversational style, The Little GI Book will help readers learn the core concepts of digestive health and disease and absorb important information without a hiccup.
Yamada's Handbook of Gastroenterology by John M. Inadomi; Renuka Bhattacharya; Joo Ha Hwang; Cynthia Ko
Call Number: Print Book
ISBN: 9781119515692
Publication Date: 2020
YAMADA'S Handbook of Gastroenterology The GI doctor's classic portable, clinically-focused and authoritative reference, revised and updated The revised and updated fourth edition of Yamada's Handbook of Gastroenterology focuses on the clinical aspects of patients presenting with gastrointestinal and liver disease. The book is a portable, quick reference tool designed to assist trainees and practicing gastroenterologists in the practical assessment and clinical management of patients. The Handbook is divided into two parts; the first is symptom focused and the second highlights diseases. Each chapter features key practice points, essentials of diagnosis, potential pitfalls and case studies. In addition, the book includes multiple choice questions and answers to enhance understanding

E-books

E-books are available via the CLIN Libraries' myAthens platform. You will need an account to access these books. Join here.

Atlas of Esophageal Surgery by P. Marco Fisichella (Editor); Marco G. Patti (Editor)
Call Number: ProQuest E-Book Central database (login required)
ISBN: 9783319130149
Publication Date: 2015
This Atlas focuses on the description of approaches and surgical techniques used to treat the entire spectrum of esophageal diseases. Surgical "pearls" and tips on how to select and perform the correct operation are included and based both on evidence-based data and the experience of the Editors. Step-by-step descriptions of 14 operative procedures in esophageal surgery are provided. Each chapter describes the current indications, perioperative management strategies, and a detailed operative approach with relevant technical considerations. The description of approaches and surgical techniques used in esophageal surgery are outlined in an easily understandable manner for the specific target audience.
Handbook of Gastroenterologic Procedures by Todd Huntley Baron; Ryan Law
Call Number: ProQuest E-Book Central database (login required)
ISBN: 9781975111656
Publication Date: 2020
The only handbook to cover both endoscopic and non-endoscopic GI procedures, Handbook of Gastroenterologic Procedures, 5th Edition, has been extensively revised and reorganized to be even more useful as a quick reference in your practice. New editors, 20 new chapters, and a concise, pocket-sized format make it a must-have resource for clinicians involved in any aspect of gastroenterologic procedures. Comprehensive yet succinct coverage of all diagnostic and therapeutic GI procedures--both endoscopic and non-endoscopic--in current use for adult and pediatric patients. A concise, logically structured format includes indications, contraindications, patient preparation, equipment, technique, post-procedure care, and adverse events. New chapters include balloon-assisted enteroscopy, placement of colonic self-expandable metal stents, endoscopic ultrasound-guided biopsies and drainage, endoscopic submucosal dissection, peroral endoscopic myotomy, and management of post-surgical adverse events. More than 100 drawings guide you through key steps. Appendices provide information on organizing a procedure unit, handling specimens, doses of GI drugs, guidelines for endoscopic screening and surveillance, CPT codes, and more.
The Washington Manual Gastroenterology Subspecialty Consult by Chandra Gyawali
Call Number: ProQuest E-Book Central database (login required)
ISBN: 9781975113308
Publication Date: 2020
The Washington Manual® Gastroenterology Subspecialty Consult, Fourth Edition, provides essential information on inpatient and outpatient management of common gastrointestinal diseases and disorders. This edition offers state-of-the-art content on disease pathophysiology, diagnostic tools, and management options. Ideal for residents, fellows, and practicing physicians who need quick access to current scientific and clinical information in gastroenterology, the manual is also useful as a first-line resource for internists and other primary care providers.
Non-Alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease : Insights into Alcohol Consumption, Genetics, and Proteomics by Blomdahl. Julia
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9789180752923
Publication Date: 2023