Mental Health - Bankstown Hospital - Grand Rounds - Further Reading - LibGuides at South Western Sydney Local Health District

Introduction

Welcome to the Grand Rounds Further Reading List.

This library guide is to help support you in your professional development.

If you have any questions, please contact the Clinical Library on 9722 8250 or email SWSLHD-BankstownLibrary@health.nsw.gov.

THIS WEEK'S TOPIC

Inpatient Management of

Eating Disorders

Articles

Danielsen, M., et al. (2020). "The outcome at follow-up after inpatient eating disorder treatment: a naturalistic study." Journal of Eating Disorders 8(1): 67 FULL TEXT AT LINK https://doi.org/10.1186/s40337-020-00349-6

Patients with eating disorders may experience a severe and enduring course of illness. Treatment outcome for patients provided with inpatient treatment is reported as poor. Research to date has not provided consistent results for predictors of treatment outcome. The aims of the study were to investigate rates of remission at follow-up after inpatient treatment, symptom change from admission to follow-up, and predictors of treatment outcome.

Glasofer, D. R., et al. (2020). "Predictors of illness course and health maintenance following inpatient treatment among patients with anorexia nervosa." Journal of Eating Disorders 8(1): 69 FULL TEXT AT LINK https://doi.org/10.1186/s40337-020-00348-7

Anorexia nervosa (AN) is a life-threatening psychiatric disorder associated with significant medical and psychosocial impairment. Hospital-based behavioral treatment is an effective intervention in the short-term. However, relapse rates following discharge are high and thus, there is a need to identify predictors of longitudinal outcome. The current study provides information regarding illness course and health maintenance among patients with AN over 5 years following discharge from an eating disorder inpatient unit.

Isserlin, L., et al. (2020). "Outcomes of inpatient psychological treatments for children and adolescents with eating disorders at time of discharge: a systematic review." Journal of Eating Disorders 8(1): 32 PDF AT LINK https://doi.org/10.1186/s40337-020-00307-2

Recommended first line treatment for children and adolescent eating disorders is outpatient therapy. However, a significant number of children and adolescents with eating disorders continue to require inpatient treatment during the course of their illness. The effect of psychological treatments in an inpatient setting on outcomes at the time of discharge remains unclear. This paper presents the results of a review of the literature on outcomes at the time of discharge following inpatient psychological treatment for children and adolescents with eating disorders.

Pehlivan, M. J., et al. (2022). "Models of care for eating disorders: findings from a rapid review." Journal of Eating Disorders 10(1): 166 PDF AT LINK https://doi.org/10.1186/s40337-022-00671-1

Delayed diagnosis, gaps in services and subsequent delays in specialist care and treatment lead to poorer health outcomes for individuals with eating disorders (EDs) and drive significant government healthcare expenditure. Given the significant disease burden associated with EDs, it is imperative that current implementation research is summarised to identify gaps in care and enable refinement for optimal patient outcomes. This review aimed to provide an updated synthesis on models of care for EDs in developed healthcare systems.

Shook, J. and J. Brady-Olympia (2024). "The Inpatient Management of Adolescents with Eating Disorders." Pediatric Annals 53(8): e283-e287 PDF AT LINK https://journals.healio.com/doi/abs/10.3928/19382359-20240605-03

Eating disorders affect individuals of all ages, genders, sexual orientations, ethnicities, races, and socioeconomic statuses. They can lead to serious medical complications that require inpatient treatment. The eating disorders that are most likely to lead to medical complications requiring medical inpatient stabilization include anorexia nervosa, atypical anorexia nervosa, avoidant-restrictive food intake disorder, bulimia nervosa, and purging disorder. There are criteria that can help determine if a patient requires inpatient stabilization. Nearly all body systems may be affected. Patients are often treated by following a refeeding protocol that reduces the risk of developing refeeding syndrome, a dangerous and life-threatening state of metabolic derangements that can arise when a malnourished individual begins a renourishment process. Following stabilization, patients should receive further care through a number of different treatment options directed at their underlying eating disorder and by working with a multidisciplinary team. [Pediatr Ann. 2024;53(8):e283–e287.]

Voderholzer, U., et al. (2020). "Medical management of eating disorders: an update." Current Opinion in Psychiatry 33(6): 542-553 FULL TEXT AT LINK https://journals.lww.com/co-psychiatry/fulltext/2020/11000/medical_management_of_eating_disorders__an_update.6.aspx

Purpose of review Eating disorders are associated with numerous medical complications. The aim of this study was to review recent progress in improving the medical management of patients with eating disorders. Recent findings With close medical monitoring and electrolyte supplementation, accelerated refeeding protocols improve weight restoration without increasing the risk of refeeding syndrome. Olanzapine improves weight restoration better than placebo, without leading to adverse metabolic effects seen in individuals not in starvation. Alterations of the gut microbiome in anorexia nervosa have been demonstrated, but their clinical relevance remains unclear. Summary Medical complications of eating disorders may facilitate the first contact with health professionals and treatment initiation. Medical complications of anorexia nervosa generally occur due to starvation, malnutrition and their associated physiological effects, whereas medical complications of bulimia nervosa are generally due to purging behaviors. Most medical complications in patients with binge eating disorder are secondary to obesity. Most medical complications of eating disorders can be effectively treated with nutritional management, weight normalization and the termination of purging behaviors. In summary, eating disorders are associated with many medical complications that have to be carefully assessed and managed as early as possible to improve long-term outcomes.

Books

Eating Disorders by Elizabeth McNaught; Janet Treasure; Nick Pollard
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780198855583
Publication Date: 2022
Eating disorders affect 1.25 million people in the UK, and the incidence is rising. The DSM-5 specifies diagnostic criteria for eight types of eating disorder, with anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge eating disorder accounting for the majority of cases. This new addition to the Oxford Specialist Handbook of Psychiatry series covers the aetiology, epidemiology, risk factors, and diagnostic criteria for all forms of eating disorders, alongside patient management within the community and inpatient settings. Also featuring chapters on emerging eating disorders, such as orthorexia and muscle dysmorphia, medicolegal issues surrounding involuntary hospitalisation and nasogastric feeding, and acute emergency care, this Handbook is a comprehensive yet succinct addition to the literature for all doctors, nurses, and members of the multidisciplinary team in managing the complex and multifactorial conditions that arise in patients with eating disorders. Each chapter is accompanied by case stories drawn from real-life examples, taking the reader through from initial presentation to treatment, and the key need-to-know facts and current evidence-based treatments. The Oxford Specialist Handbook of Eating Disorders is a new go-to resource for the crucial information around this multifaceted area of medicine.
Eating Disorders
Call Number: CLINICS
Publication Date: 1996
The psychiatric clinics of North America ; Vol 19(4)
.
A Guide to Women's Health by Tolu Oyelowo; Judith Louise Bond Johnson
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781284079616
Publication Date: 2017
A Guide to Women's Health, Second Edition is a practical and multidisciplinary text that enables students and clinicians to identify and treat conditions quickly and effectively. A concise and easy-to-use quick reference, it offers evidence-based information on conventional, complementary, and alternative care choices for a wide-range of conditions affecting women. Topics include epidemiology, etiology, signs and symptoms, diagnostic and management considerations, self-care, and wellness.Completely updated and revised to reflect current research findings and diagnostic approaches, the Second Edition explores the impact of culture, spirituality, and intimate partner violence on women's health. Also included is a chapter on vulnerable populations, such as recent immigrants, LGBTQ individuals, older adults, individuals with disabilities and mental illness, and non-English speakers.
Handbook of Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders by Sysko Walsh; Evelyn Attia (Editor); Deborah R. Glasofer (Editor); Robyn Sysko (Editor); B. Timothy Walsh (Editor)
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781585625093
Publication Date: 2015
The recent publication of the revised Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) has had a profound impact on the classification of eating disorders, introducing changes that were formalized after years of study by the Eating Disorders Work Group. The Handbook of Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders is the only book that provides clinicians with everything they need to know to implement these changes in assessment, diagnosis, and treatment. After an overview of feeding and eating disorders that systematically reviews the changes from DSM-IV to DSM-5, some of the foremost scholars in each area address eating disorders in adults, children and adolescents, and special populations. Chapters on assessment and treatment, along with accompanying videos, offer comprehensive, state-of-the-art coverage that will benefit clinicians in practice, such as psychiatrists and psychotherapists, as well as mental health trainees. Clinicians will find the following features and content especially useful: * Five full chapters on assessment tools cover the evolution of measures and instruments, from the primitive beginnings to the cutting edge of new technological applications. The challenges of diagnosing feeding and eating disorders in children and adolescents are also addressed. * Treatment chapters cover restrictive eating, including anorexia nervosa and avoidant/restrictive food intake disorder, binge eating, including bulimia nervosa and binge-eating disorder, and other eating problems, including pica, rumination disorder, and night eating syndrome.* One chapter focuses on eating problems among men and boys, who have diverse presentations, and the motivations and body image disturbances that may differ from those typically found among females.* Because attunement to culturally and socially patterned characteristics of clinical presentation is essential to an informed and accurate mental health assessment, an entire chapter is devoted to clinical effectiveness in multicultural and cross-cultural settings.* Each chapter ends with key clinical points to help readers focus on the most salient content, test comprehension, and review for examinations. Clinicians in both training and practice will find the book's up-to-date, DSM-5-compatible content to be utterly essential. The Handbook of Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders belongs in the library of every mental health professional practicing today.

E-books

Eating Disorders by Justine J. Reel (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781440853005
Publication Date: 2018
This encyclopedia offers a variety of resources for readers interested in learning more about eating disorders, including hundreds of reference entries, interviews, scholarly debates, and case studies. While many people may reflexively imagine an anorexic or bulimia teenage girl upon being asked to think about eating disorders, eating disorders are a form of mental illness that can take many forms and affect individuals of all genders, ages, and ethnic backgrounds. In fact, an estimated eight million people in the United States struggle with an eating disorder, making eating disorders one of the most prevalent forms of mental illness in America. This two-volume encyclopedia comprehensively examines eating disorders as the forms they can take; their causes and potential complications; and how they can best be treated and prevented. It also examines the influence had by cultural factors such as the fashion industry, television and movies, and social media. More than just a simple A-to-Z reference, Eating Disorders: Understanding Causes, Controversies, and Treatment also includes valuable features such as Q&A interviews with those affected by and working to combat eating disorders, case studies, scholarly essays that voice opinions in key debates, and a directory of resources for individuals seeking help.
Feeding and Eating Disorders by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781615370122
Publication Date: 2015
Feeding and Eating Disorders:DSM-5 Selections is crafted around a specific disorder cited in DSM-5. This selection provides a comprehensive overview of the process of diagnosing feeding and eating disorders while serving as a reference guide to assist in the diagnosis of individual patients. The disorder-specific resource is an invaluable addition to the DSM-5 collection and an important contribution to the mental health profession. This book contains the critical disorder-specific content from these four titles: * Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) * DSM-5 Clinical Cases* DSM-5 Self-Exam Questions* DSM-5 Guidebook
Pocket Guide for the Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders by James D. Lock (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781615371563
Publication Date: 2018
An exceptionally practical book for clinicians who are interested in evaluating and treating eating disorders in children and adults, Pocket Guide for the Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders, provides expert guidance in a succinct and accessible format. Most people with eating disorders lack access to specialty services, leaving the majority undiagnosed and untreated. The editors and contributors, Stanford University researchers and clinicians, have written the book for nonspecialists in hopes that it will foster the development of relevant clinical skills and allow them to help patients with eating disorders in their practices. This book is squarely aimed at the big picture while highlighting the most important additional details. The first chapter provides an overview of all the major eating disorders and also includes a discussion of issues related to screening, race, culture, and gender that are cross-cutting and applicable to all the diagnostically themed chapters. Each of the remaining chapters focuses on a specific diagnostic group and is organized systematically to allow the reader to easily identify comparable elements across diagnostic groupings quickly.Helpful features of the book include: * Consistent chapter structure for ease of access. Each chapter begins with a brief introduction, followed by a key diagnostic checklist, diagnostic rule outs, risks and epidemiology, psychiatric and medical comorbidity, clinical presentations, evidence-based interventions, treatments illustrated, a clinical decision-making flow chart, common outcomes, resources and further readings, and references.* Stand-alone chapters, allowing the user to access all the pertinent information without prerequisite preparation.* Short narrative vignettes describing each of the major evidence-based interventions for each diagnostic grouping. These model effective practitioner-patient interactions and help readers improve their clinical skills. In addition, there are vignettes across the age spectrum, affording the reader valuable exposure to a full range of cases.* Emphasis on evidence-based treatments. Evidential support is graded based on slightly modified criteria developed by the American Psychological Association, with Levels 1 to 4--from established treatments to those of questionable efficacy.* Generous use of tables and figures, comprising all the major content in a concise, easily understandable fashion. Authoritative, accessible, and designed to fit in a lab coat pocket, Pocket Guide for the Assessment and Treatment of Eating Disorders is a practical book which will help busy clinicians quickly find the most relevant and updated information, without overwhelming them with detail.