Renal Medicine - Bankstown Hospital - Grand Rounds - Further Reading - LibGuides at South Western Sydney Local Health District

Introduction

Welcome to the Grand Rounds Further Reading List, Renal Medicine edition, brought to you by the Clinical Library, on Level 4, next to the Auditorium.

This library guide is to help support you in your professional development. Please give us feedback so we can improve this list in the future.

If you have any questions, please contact the Clinical Library on 9722 8250 or email SWSLHD-BankstownLibrary@health.nsw.gov.au or visit us Monday to Fridays, 8.30am - 5.00pm.

THIS WEEK'S TOPIC

Prostate Cancer Update

Journal Articles

Need an article in full text, but can't find a copy for free? Ask the Library! Use our online journal request form, or use the Request an Article link in the Medline and Embase databases

Barrett, T., et al. (2024). "Update on Optimization of Prostate MR Imaging Technique and Image Quality." Radiologic Clinics 62(1): 1-15: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.rcl.2023.06.00 URL

High-quality prostate MR imaging is a pre-requisite for accurately identifying lesions, with lower image quality is associated with increased uncertainty in MRI decision-making

Compliance with Prostate Imaging-Reporting and Data System (PI-RADS) technical parameters helps improve image quality but does not guarantee this
Patient-related degradations independently influence quality and potentially only allow for partial mitigation via rectal preparation, spasmolytics, novel diffusion techniques,

Bergengren, O., et al. (2023). "2022 Update on Prostate Cancer Epidemiology and Risk Factors—A Systematic Review." European Urology 84(2): 191-206: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0302283823027860

Context Prostate cancer (PCa) is one of the most common cancers worldwide. Understanding the epidemiology and risk factors of the disease is paramount to improve primary and secondary prevention strategies. Objective To systematically review and summarize the current evidence on the descriptive epidemiology, large screening studies, diagnostic techniques, and risk factors of PCa. Evidence acquisition PCa incidence and mortality rates for 2020 were obtained from the GLOBOCAN database of the International Agency for Research on Cancer. A systematic search was performed in July 2022 using PubMed/MEDLINE and EMBASE biomedical databases. The review was conducted in accordance with the Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-analyses guidelines and was registered in PROSPERO (CRD42022359728). Evidence synthesis Globally, PCa is the second most common cancer, with the highest incidence in North and South America, Europe, Australia, and the Caribbean. Risk factors include age, family history, and genetic predisposition. Additional factors may include smoking, diet, physical activity, specific medications, and occupational factors. As PCa screening has become more accepted, newer approaches such as magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and biomarkers have been implemented to identify patients who are likely to harbor significant tumors. Limitations of this review include the evidence being derived from meta-analyses of mostly retrospective studies. Conclusions PCa remains the second most common cancer among men worldwide. PCa screening is gaining acceptance and will likely reduce PCa mortality at the cost of overdiagnosis and overtreatment. Increasing use of MRI and biomarkers for the detection of PCa may mitigate some of the negative consequences of screening. Patient summary Prostate cancer (PCa) remains the second most common cancer among men, and screening for PCa is likely to increase in the future. Improved diagnostic techniques can help reduce the number of men who need to be diagnosed and treated to save one life. Avoidable risk factors for PCa may include factors such as smoking, diet, physical activity, specific medications, and certain occupations.

Hadfield, M. J., et al. (2023). "Updates in the Treatment of Non-Metastatic Castrate-Resistant Prostate Cancer: The Benefit of Second-Generation Androgen Receptor Antagonists." Annals of Pharmacotherapy 57(11): 1302-1311: https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/abs/10.1177/10600280231155441
Objective:To review pharmacology, efficacy, safety, and considerations for use, of second-generation androgen receptor (AR) antagonists in treatment of nonmetastatic castrate-resistant prostate cancer (M0CRPC).Data Sources:Conducted search in PubMed and Google scholar (January, 1, 2002—December 31, 2022), using relevant terms.Study Selection and Data Extraction:Relevant English-language studies, conducted in humans evaluating second-generation AR antagonists for M0CRPC, and additional articles and package inserts were considered.Data Synthesis:Apalutamide, darolutamide, and enzalutamide are effective in delaying the time to development of metastatic prostate cancer in men with M0CRPC with a rapid prostate-specific antigen (PSA) doubling time (<10 months). No head-to-head, randomized, clinical trials have been conducted. The most common adverse effects include fatigue and hypertension, and quality of life is maintained in most patients. Cost is similar among the agents (~$15,000/month). Drug-drug interactions vary among these agents and should be considered, when selecting therapy as well as likely adherence. Darolutamide is administered twice daily with the others once daily.Relevance to Patient Care and Clinical Practice:Second-generation AR antagonists are effective in reducing time to development of metastatic disease and prolonging overall survival in patients with M0CRPC and a PSA doubling time of <10 months. Recent imaging advances may alter how we evaluate outcomes.Conclusions:Second-generation AR antagonists improve disease control and overall survival. Generally, they are well tolerated and QOL is maintained. Selection of the best agent is based on the adverse effect profile, potential for drug- and disease-interactions, administration, cost, and patient preference.

Moses, K. A., et al. (2023). "NCCN Guidelines® Insights: Prostate Cancer Early Detection, Version 1.2023: Featured Updates to the NCCN Guidelines." Journal of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network 21(3): 236-246: https://jnccn.org/view/journals/jnccn/21/3/article-p236.xml

Virgo, K. S., et al. (2023). "Initial Management of Noncastrate Advanced, Recurrent, or Metastatic Prostate Cancer: ASCO Guideline Update." Journal of Clinical Oncology 41(20): 3652-3656: https://ascopubs.org/doi/abs/10.1200/JCO.23.00155

Books

Prostate cancer diagnosis in general practice : undertaking a Digital Rectal Examination (DRE) & understanding a Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) test / [videorecording : DVD]
Call Number: DVD for loan
Publication Date: 2009
The DVD comprises of 2 videos: Diagnosis and management of prostate cancer and DRE & PSA debate. The Digital Rectal Examination (DRE) and the Prostate Specific Antigen(PSA) are the two current diagnostic tests for prostate health. This DVD tries to explain the diagnosis, management and debate concerning DRE and PSA testing.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3/e by Louise Walter; Anna Chang
Call Number: Print Book
ISBN: 9781260457087
Publication Date: 2020
The definitive guide to safe, effective care of older adults--updated with important new content and streamlined for quick access Doody's Core Titles for 2023! Covers the complete range of topics in geriatric care, including theory and fundamentals, assessment, conditions, diseases, symptoms, policies, and societal issues that affect older patients Provides a framework for using the functional and cognitive status, prognosis, and social context of patients to guide diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions Delivers essential information on important topics such as delirium, cognitive impairment, dementia, falls and mobility disorders, Parkinson disease and other movement disorders, sleep disorders, and arthritis Includes guidance on care in all settings - clinic, home, hospital, and long-term care, as well as pre- and post-operative settings New content on technology to enhance geriatric care, caregiving support, the unique needs of older immigrants, Medicare and Medicaid, legal issues and conservatorship, aid in dying, assisted living care, short-stay rehabilitation, prostate cancer, marijuana use, syncope, and driving safety

E-books

Focal Therapy in Prostate Cancer by Hashim Uddin Ahmed (Editor); Manit Arya (Editor); Peter R. Carroll (Editor); Mark Emberton (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781405196499
Publication Date: 2011
This book comprehensively reviews the potential of focal therapy and discusses why the changing face of prostate cancer warrants a change in the way we treat men with the disease. It deals with the mechanisms by which disease can be localized within the gland and then the different technologies used for focal ablation. Bringing together eminent contributors in one accessible reference, this book introduces focal therapy to all urologists, oncologists, and radiologists who are involved in the treatment of men with prostate cancer.
Prostate Cancer by Ashutosh K. Tewari (Editor); Peter Whelan (Editor); John D. Graham (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781118347355
Publication Date: 2014
Do you manage patients with prostate cancer? Could you use an expert guide examining all possible management options? Prostate Cancer: diagnosis and clinical management providesurologists and oncologists of all levels with up-to-date, evidence-based guidance to the diagnosis, treatment and clinical management of a disease which accounts for a quarter of all cancers affecting men. Designed to be as practical and accessible as possible, leading experts discuss key issues in prostate cancer management and examine how to deliver best practice in the clinical care of their patients. Topics covered include: What must be considered when counseling newly-diagnosed cancer patients Radical surgery options for prostate cancer Novel therapies for localized prostate cancer How should metastatic prostate cancer be diagnostic and managed What are the best methods of administering end of life care for the patient Brought to you by a highly experienced editor team, and containing key points, management algorithms, practice tips and the latest AUA and EAU clinical guidelines, this is the ideal consultation tool for doctors both on the wards and in the office.
Systemic Treatment of Prostate Cancer by Alan Horwich (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780199561421
Publication Date: 2010
Prostate cancer is one of the commonest cancers in men in the western world, and the prevalence is rising currently due to improvements in screening and treatment. Serum PSA represents a useful marker of disease. It has frequently a long natural history, creating the opportunities for multiple sequential therapeutic interventions. For patients with high risk local disease or with metastases, endocrine therapy is central to management. Hormone ablation has longbeen the mainstay of endocrine therapy in this group of patients, though anti-androgens, oestrogens and corticosteroids can also cause remissions. In recent years effective and well-toleratedchemotherapy regimens have been developed and evaluated. Docetaxel has an established role, and a range of biologically-targeted agents are in development.The dominant pattern of metastatic spread is to the axial skeleton and most symptomatic care is directed to palliation of bone pain. The role of bisphosphonates remains controversial, but bone-directed isotopes such as Strontium-89 are effective.Part of the Oxford Oncology Library, this pocketbooksummarises the up-to-date information on the use of systemic therapies in the management of prostate cancer (early stage, metastatic disease, and treatment of "biochemical" recurrence). Withcontributions from leading oncologists from both Europe and the USA, the book provides a practical guide to the range of endocrine and cytotoxic therapies currently available to clinicians, as well as to other palliative anticancer strategies, and will be valuable to all health professionals involved in the management of patients with prostate cancer.