New Resources in Campbelltown Hospital Library

A straightforward yet comprehensive guide to planning, implementing, and evaluating EBP and QI projects to improve healthcare quality and outcomes. Building on the legacy built by Geri LoBiondo-Wood and Judi Haber, this edition is newly tailored to meet the goals and strategic priorities of a variety of healthcare settings, with the tenets of ANCC Magnet designation, JCAHO accreditation, and other current regulatory and quality standards integrated throughout.

Learn the clinical nursing skills you will use every day and prepare for success on the Next-Generation NCLEX® Examination! Clinical Nursing Skills & Techniques, 11th Edition provides clear, step-by-step guidelines to more than 200 basic, intermediate, and advanced skills. With more than 1,200 full-color illustrations, a nursing process framework, and a focus on evidence-based practice, this manual helps you learn to think critically, ask the right questions at the right time, and make timely decisions.

Now in its sixth edition, this highly acclaimed core text for nurse educators continues to be the only resource to address clinical teaching in all settings. Delivering comprehensive and detailed information on planning, guiding, and evaluating learning activities for prelicensure and graduate nursing students, the sixth edition is distinguished by its focus on clinical teaching in a wide range of settings including teaching in online environments.

Immerse yourself in the ideas, theories, and techniques of effective communication in the workplace! Communication in Nursing, 10th Edition adopts a uniquely practical and personal approach to the demands of today's nursing practice, providing extensive examples, exercises, and techniques that help you apply communication skills in a variety of clinical settings.

An introduction to contemporary ethical issues in health care, designed especially for Canadian audiences. The book is organized around six key concepts: beneficence, autonomy, truth-telling, confidentiality, justice, and integrity. Each of these concepts is explained and discussed with reference to professional and legal norms. The discussion is then supplemented by case studies that exemplify the relevant concepts and show how each applies in health care and nursing practice. This new fourth edition includes an added chapter on end-of-life issues, and it is revised throughout to reflect the latest developments on topics such as global health ethics, cultural competence, social media, and palliative sedation, as well as ethical issues relating to COVID-19.

AWHONN's Core Curriculum for Maternal-Newborn Nursing, 6th Edition, the definitive resource for nurses taking certification examinations, provides the most up-to-date, accurate information available on today's maternal-newborn nursing practice. Its concise outline format covers concepts of reproduction, fetal development, normal pregnancy, intrapartum and postpartum periods, the normal newborn, complications in the mother and newborn, and ethical issues.

The internationally acclaimed text Critical Care Nursing is designed to support undergraduate and postgraduate students and critical care nurses in practice to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to deliver high quality patient care to contribute to improved patient outcomes. The fifth edition has been fully updated with the latest evidence, resources and tools designed to help you master a range of competencies, from patient monitoring to delivering multidimensional interventions, using complex lifesaving equipment, and managing the deteriorating patient.

Feeling unsure about your critical care nursing skills? Time to gain some confident know-how. This friendly, fully illustrated guide offers clear, concise direction on treating numerous acute and life-threatening issues. Absorb current best practices on critical care basics and specialized areas such as advanced life support measures, multisystem trauma, and treating specialized needs.

Explore the intricate world of pediatric nursing. With a focus on directing students toward a profound comprehension of critical concepts, this edition surpasses mere repetition of medical-surgical content by expanding upon the foundation of students' prior knowledge. Recognizing the unique intricacies of caring for children, this comprehensive text underscores simpler, fundamental concepts that pave the way toward mastering more complex problem-solving scenarios. Notable additions in the 5th edition include phonetic spelling of difficult-to-pronounce key terms, updated growth and development guidelines, expanded diversity and inclusion content, and COVID-related insights to ensure that students receive the most relevant and up-to-date information in the field of pediatric nursing.

Every day, registered nurses are required to act and make decisions based on their moral and legal obligations. They must build professional, culturally safe relationships with patients, understand patient rights and the requirements of consent, and prevent and manage clinical mistakes in order to avoid negligence and abuse of power. Now in its fifth edition, Ethics and Law for Australian Nurses guides students through foundational concepts such as personhood, autonomy, trust, consent and vulnerability, and considers a nurse's responsibilities in relation to voluntary assisted dying, abortions and advanced care directives.

Anxiety, asthma, dementia, depression, diabetes, emphysema, MS, Parkinson's disease . . . the latest scientific research is showing plant-based diets can reduce risks or better manage chronic diseases--and more. Food as Medicine is more than a cookbook, it is a blueprint for eating your way to good health. Featuring 150 plant-based recipes developed for their health-promoting properties, as well as their amazing taste appeal, it guides users toward safer cooking methods (reducing the formation of toxic chemicals), showcases everyday medicinal ingredients, and reveals how to set up a wellness kitchen to make it easier to eat well at home.

Prepare to compassionately care for the aging population with Gerontologic Nursing, 7th Edition, uniquely known for its comprehensive coverage of the most common medical-surgical problems associated with older adults. Organized by body system for easy retrieval of information, it delves into health promotion and both basic and complex gerontologic concepts and issues. A disorder-focused approach addresses nursing management and care coordination across health care delivery settings.

Living with Chronic Illness and Disability: Principles for Nursing Practice provides the knowledge and skills necessary for nursing and allied health students to provide quality, competent care to people living with a chronic illness or disability. The text has a strong evidence base, but is founded in reality. It includes practical, useful principles for holistic care, self-management, and a multidisciplinary approach. It also covers a range of issues affecting patients, carers and families, with a focus on empowering individuals as they adjust to the life-changing journey of chronic disease and disability.

This straightforward guide to evidence-based practice helps you to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to challenge practice that is not underpinned by research and to increase your understanding of the processes involved in accessing, appraising, and synthesizing good quality research. Providing a basic introduction to both quantitative and qualitative research, Debra Evans explores how to find out "what works best", the impact of something, and what requires more research.

A solid foundation in nursing concepts and skills essential to the LPN/LVN role. Complete coverage of common adult medical-surgical conditions includes all body systems and their disorders, addressing patient care in a variety of settings. Special attention is given to care of older adults, those with chronic illnesses, and residents in long-term care settings. Emphasizing evidence-based practice, this text reflects the expanding scope of practice for LPN/LVNs.

Known for its comprehensive coverage, readability, and visual presentation, this book helps prepare you to work in long-term care, acute care, and subacute care settings - and includes a practice scenario in each chapter to enhance your clinical judgment skills.

Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems, features 232 care plans, each reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international treatment protocols.

Cultivate confident, wellness-oriented care for older adults across a changing healthcare environment with the latest evidence-based coverage of gerontological nursing. This book fosters students' understanding of both the physiologic and psychosocial aspects of aging, as well as common risk factors that may interfere with optimal health and functioning. Organized around the author's Functional Consequences Theory for Promoting Wellness in Older Adults .

Paediatric Nursing in Australia and New Zealand introduces nursing students to the care of infants, children, young people and their families in a range of clinical and community settings across Australasia. This third edition includes New Zealand content and an increased focus on families. New chapters cover health services available for Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Maori children, the transition to parenthood for new families, children's sleep patterns and behaviour, and paediatric health in school settings.

Offers guidance on the skills needed to interact with patients as people - an essential component of building an effective therapeutic relationship and providing quality care. Author Jane Stein-Parbury explains key concepts in simple language, without assuming any prior knowledge. The book includes empathy, dealing with challenging behaviours, advocating for a patient and admitting a patient. Nurses will learn to build trusting relationships and support patients in their health journey.

Now in its 6th edition, this trusted reference for nursing students supports the development of safe, effective and person-centred practice. The text has been comprehensively revised by nursing leaders and experts from across the spectrum of clinical practice, education, research and health policy settings; and a highly experienced editorial team. This book will engage students with contemporary concepts and clinical examples, designed to build clinical reasoning skills. Early chapters introduce frameworks such as Fundamentals of Care and cultural safety, as ways of being and practising as a nurse. These frameworks are then applied in clinical and practice context chapters throughout.

Contemporary and fully updated, the new edition of this accessible guide builds on the success of previous editions to bring together all the key principles of nursing care for surgical patients. Split into two sections, the first section explains the basis of surgical care. The second section has comprehensive coverage of all major areas of surgical practice, providing both a theoretical and practical understanding across a wide range of procedures.

Being an effective and well-rounded nurse in Australia is not just about technical skills - it's also about thinking like a nurse. The Road to Nursing helps students develop clinical reasoning and critical reflection skills, understand the philosophical and ethical considerations necessary to care for clients and reflect on how to provide care that meets the unique needs of clients.

Provides students with the knowledge and skills they will require to ensure safe, quality care across a range of healthcare settings. Updated to reflect the current context and scope of practice for Enrolled Nurses in Australia and New Zealand, the text focuses on the delivery of person-centred care, critical thinking, quality clinical decision making and application of skills.

Rooted in cultural assessment and trusted for its proven approach, key to ensuring safe, ethical, and effective care to diverse cultures and populations. This comprehensive text helps students master transcultural theories, models, and research studies while honing the communication and collaboration skills essential to success in today's changing clinical nursing environment.

This new text has been adapted from the highly trusted Wong's Nursing Care of Infants and Children to provide a reference for professional nurses working in paediatric and child and family health settings in Australia and New Zealand. The content covers all aspects of infant, child and adolescent care, including anatomy and physiology, child and adolescent mental health, nursing care guidelines, critical thinking, family-centred care, rural and remote health, cultural and psychosocial considerations, common presenting conditions, and therapeutic management.