Bankstown Medical Officer Library Survival Guide

The only text to focus specifically on advanced health assessment/management of women This authoritative text for busy clinicians, advanced practice students, and faculty delivers essential content focused on improving the quality of healthcare provided to women/persons with a vagina across the lifespan. Brimming with new and updated content, the fifth edition reflects the most current evidence-based clinical practice guidelines available. It includes 14 new chapters written by experts in their field and the addition of disease management content, especially medications. Chapters are enhanced with management/pharmacology summary charts and case studies with discussion questions. The use of two colors improves readability, and amplified Instructor Resources include key statistics/epidemiology, learning objectives, suggested student activities and self-assessment questions, and UAB videos. Using a clear, concise outline format, this user-friendly text delivers quick, comprehensive information regarding the health assessment and management of women/persons with a vagina. It defines the role, skills, and scope of practice of different health providers and illuminates a variety of assessment skills, techniques, and procedures used by advanced practice clinicians in everyday practice. Sample assessment forms are integrated throughout along with numerous educational handouts for patients. Discussion of techniques includes a comprehensive list of requisite equipment and information on patient prep and recommended follow-up. Boxes, tables, and figures throughout reinforce key information.

With more than 50 real-world cases, Clinical Cases in Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Womenâs Health 3e covers a range of obstetric and gynaecological problems likely to be encountered by busy junior doctors and general practitioners. Written by experienced obstetricians and gynaecologists and following the core medical school curricula in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom, this pocket-sized book is an invaluable resource for medical students and clinicians.

Each case presents a problem-based clinical learning scenario and then encourages readers to think about how they would take appropriate histories and examine, investigate and treat their patients. Using these techniques, students and early career doctors are guided through diagnosis and management of common and important conditions and complications. This learning is then reinforced with more than 100 multiple choice questions and answers for self-assessment.

The handbook covers the full scope of disease management in a concise and accessible format. Its compact size allows it to be easily taken with the busy practitioner on the ward or in the clinic. Clear illustrations that reinforce key concepts and essential algorithms for diagnostic techniques help clinicians to a quick and accurate diagnosis. Evidence-based practices for managing gynecologic cancers are emphasized throughout the handbook including for surgical care, and for all adjuvant therapies including chemotherapy, biologics, targeted therapies, immunotherapies, and combination radiation therapy. Detailed sections on survivorship care, palliative care, and management of reproductive function and other comorbid medical conditions round out the books comprehensive scope.

Portable and easy to consult, The Johns Hopkins Manual® of Gynecology and Obstetrics is a trusted on-the-spot reference for virtually any issue you'll encounter in obstetrics, high-risk obstetrics, gynecology, reproductive endocrinology, infertility, and gynecologic oncology. The updated 6th Edition has been reorganized for quick reference, and contains thoroughly revised information culled from the collective expertise of residents and attending physicians at The Johns Hopkins University. New sections on female pelvic medicine/reconstructive surgery and general surgery in obstetrics and gynecology. New chapters cover multifetal pregnancy, substance abuse, psychiatric diseases, neoplastic diseases, hereditary cancer syndromes, and more.   Easy-to-use outline format modeled after The Washington Manual® of Medical Therapeutics. Used with confidence for nearly 20 years by house officers, medical students, and practitioners who deal with obstetric and gynecologic diseases and disorders. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.

Integrative Women's Health remains the only in-depth, broad-based reference on integrative women's health written for health professionals. It helps providers address not only women's reproductive health, but also conditions that manifest differently in women than in men, including cardiovascular disease, arthritis, HIV, depression, and cancer. The text presents the best evidence, in a clinically relevant manner, for the safe and effective use of herbs, vitamins, diet, and mind-body strategies alongside conventional medical treatments. As leading educators in integrative medicine, editors Dr. Maizes and Dr. Low Dog demonstrate how clinicians can implement their recommendations in practice, going beyond practical care to examine how to motivate patients, enhance a health history, and understand the spiritual dimensions of healing. In managing the patient, alternative therapies are never seen as substitutes for mainstream medical care, but always "integrated" into the overall regimen, and always subjected to the best available evidence. New to this second edition are chapters on environmental medicine and women's reproduction, thyroid health, and lesbian health.

Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan provides a fresh and comprehensive approach to women's healthcare. Combining traditional and complementary medicine, this crucial text offers evidence-based insight on women's health and wellness. Update and enlighten your practice with relevant case histories, the latest research, and the insight of nursing experts on numerous wellness topics. This invaluable text offers the insights you need to respond to patients' individual concern and problems more effectively, promoting optimal wellness at every stage of your patients' lives. Developed for Clinicians in primary care and community settings, RNs, advanced practice students and faculty working in women's health, OB/GYN, family medicine, and adult/gerontology, and for nurse midwives, this vital reference includes: * Comprehensive, evidence-based content, crucial for promoting women's wellness and preventative care * Combines traditional medicine with alternative approaches for balanced, effective responses that answer the concerns of today's educated patient * Emphasizes the importance of incorporating social context, age and life experiences into health assessments * Tables and charts clarify different forms of care and their purpose Women's Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan is dvidied into three sections and covers o Introduction to women's wellness care - The holistic, lifespan approach to women's wellness; 21st century women's health care; evolution of the science and clinical specialty of women's health o Specific wellness issues for women across the lifespan - Issues from puberty through early adulthood, midlife, and healthy aging o Aids clinicians in promoting women's lifelong wellness - Special populations; body composition: exercise and nutrition; oral health; resilience; self-care: complementary therapies; herbal medicine; pharmacologic approaches to wellness and disease prevention; Pilates; healing environments; healing relationships; healthy sleep; peaceful dying