Bankstown Hospital - Grand Rounds - Further Reading

Skills in caring for people with dementia are increasingly demanded of all health care practitioners as the numbers of diagnosed increase. The text first guides the reader through the underpinning theory behind the different approaches to person centered and relationship centered care and provides case scenarios with a range of practical strategies. Christine Brown Wilson is Associate Professor at the University of Queensland, Australia.

Effective communication is critical for everyone, and this insightful book teaches the skills needed by healthcare staff in their day-to-day interactions with people with dementia and their families. Often when people with dementia exhibit behaviour that challenges, it is an indication that their needs are not being met. The authors illustrate the key aspects of communication for the development of a skilled and confident workforce, capable of providing thoroughly effective care that reduces levels of agitation in people with dementia.

The definitive guide to safe, effective care of older adults--updated with important new content and streamlined for quick access Doody's Core Titles for 2023! Covers the complete range of topics in geriatric care, including theory and fundamentals, assessment, conditions, diseases, symptoms, policies, and societal issues that affect older patients Provides a framework for using the functional and cognitive status, prognosis, and social context of patients to guide diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions Delivers essential information on important topics such as delirium, cognitive impairment, dementia, falls and mobility disorders, Parkinson disease and other movement disorders, sleep disorders, and arthritis Includes guidance on care in all settings - clinic, home, hospital, and long-term care, as well as pre- and post-operative settings New content on technology to enhance geriatric care, caregiving support, the unique needs of older immigrants, Medicare and Medicaid, legal issues and conservatorship, aid in dying, assisted living care, short-stay rehabilitation, prostate cancer, marijuana use, syncope, and driving safety

This practical reference draws together the combined expertise of a wide range of health professionals in managing this condition. Their work is soundly based on recent research into its pathology manifestations and treatment to develop appropriate management strategies. Part of the value in this book lies in its reference to patient perspectives and how they can contribute to the most effective care.

Textbook of Dementia Care: An Integrated Approach gives an overview of dementia care at a level appropriate to health and social care students, as well as providing an update to experienced practitioners. Authors come from a variety of backgrounds including nursing, psychiatry, medicine, psychology and allied health professions. There is a good mix of content from experienced new authors, academics and practitioners. The book offers: a comprehensive list of contributors from different disciplines input from people living with dementia and their family carers relevant research to inform practice case examples to illustrate and inform the text. While directed primarily at a nursing and social care readership, the book also provides a readable general text appropriate for all involved in dementia care. It is written by expert practitioners in the field, many of whom are leaders in practice-based research. It incorporates the expertise of representatives of Alzheimer Scotland, but also includes accounts of people living with dementia, families, and carers, giving the reader a unique insight into the disease.

The leading introductory textbook on geriatrics - completely updated and revised A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2022!  Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics is an engagingly written, up-to-date introductory guide to the core topics in geriatric medicine. Since 1984, its goal has remained unchanged: to help clinicians do a better job of caring for their older patients. You will find thorough and authoritative coverage of all the important issues in geriatrics, along with concise, practical guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases and disorders most commonly encountered in an elderly patient. Presented in full-color, this classic features a strong focus on the field's must-know concepts, from the nature of clinical aging to differential diagnosis of important geriatric syndromes to drug therapy and health services. The Eighth Edition has been completely revised to provide the most current updates on the assessment and management of geriatric care. FEATURES: Numerous tables and figures that summarize conditions, values, mechanisms, therapeutics, and more Thorough coverage of preventive services and disease screening Eight chapters devoted to general management strategies Important chapters on ethical issues and palliative care Appendix of Internet resources on geriatrics Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, Eighth Edition is the best resource available to help healthcare professionals provide the innovative, cost-effective, and  person-centered care that older people and their caregivers deserve.  

The definitive guide to safe, effective care of older adults--updated with important new content and streamlined for quick access Doody's Core Titles for 2023! Covers the complete range of topics in geriatric care, including theory and fundamentals, assessment, conditions, diseases, symptoms, policies, and societal issues that affect older patients Provides a framework for using the functional and cognitive status, prognosis, and social context of patients to guide diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions Delivers essential information on important topics such as delirium, cognitive impairment, dementia, falls and mobility disorders, Parkinson disease and other movement disorders, sleep disorders, and arthritis Includes guidance on care in all settings - clinic, home, hospital, and long-term care, as well as pre- and post-operative settings New content on technology to enhance geriatric care, caregiving support, the unique needs of older immigrants, Medicare and Medicaid, legal issues and conservatorship, aid in dying, assisted living care, short-stay rehabilitation, prostate cancer, marijuana use, syncope, and driving safety