SPECIAL TOPIC: AI in Medicine - Bankstown Hospital - Grand Rounds - Further Reading - LibGuides at South Western Sydney Local Health District

Introduction

Welcome to the Grand Rounds Further Reading List.

This library guide is to help support you in your professional development.

If you have any questions, please contact the Clinical Library on 9722 8250 or email SWSLHD-BankstownLibrary@health.nsw.gov.

Ordering Journal Articles from the Bankstown Clinical Library

Do you require a copy of a journal article in full text, but CIAP doesn't supply it?

Ask the Library! Use our online journal request form, or use the Request an Article link in Medline and Embase databases

THIS WEEK'S TOPIC

AI in Medicine

Library Guide

Check out the Artificial Intelligence libguide, a one stop shop to all resources on AI in the SWSLHD Libraries.

ARTICLES

Ahmad, Z., et al. (2021). "Artificial intelligence (AI) in medicine, current applications and future role with special emphasis on its potential and promise in pathology: present and future impact, obstacles including costs and acceptance among pathologists, practical and philosophical considerations. A comprehensive review." Diagnostic Pathology 16(1): 24 https://doi.org/10.1186/s13000-021-01085-4 REQUEST ARTICLE

The role of Artificial intelligence (AI) which is defined as the ability of computers to perform tasks that normally require human intelligence is constantly expanding. Medicine was slow to embrace AI. However, the role of AI in medicine is rapidly expanding and promises to revolutionize patient care in the coming years. In addition, it has the ability to democratize high level medical care and make it accessible to all parts of the world.

Dave, T., et al. (2023). "ChatGPT in medicine: an overview of its applications, advantages, limitations, future prospects, and ethical considerations." Frontiers in Artificial Intelligence 6: 1169595 https://www.frontiersin.org/journals/artificial-intelligence/articles/10.3389/frai.2023.1169595/full REQUEST ARTICLE

This paper presents an analysis of the advantages, limitations, ethical considerations, future prospects, and practical applications of ChatGPT and artificial intelligence (AI) in the healthcare and medical domains. ChatGPT is an advanced language model that uses deep learning techniques to produce human-like responses to natural language inputs. It is part of the family of generative pre-training transformer (GPT) models developed by OpenAI and is currently one of the largest publicly available language models. ChatGPT is capable of capturing the nuances and intricacies of human language, allowing it to generate appropriate and contextually relevant responses across a broad spectrum of prompts. The potential applications of ChatGPT in the medical field range from identifying potential research topics to assisting professionals in clinical and laboratory diagnosis. Additionally, it can be used to help medical students, doctors, nurses, and all members of the healthcare fraternity to know about updates and new developments in their respective fields. The development of virtual assistants to aid patients in managing their health is another important application of ChatGPT in medicine. Despite its potential applications, the use of ChatGPT and other AI tools in medical writing also poses ethical and legal concerns. These include possible infringement of copyright laws, medico-legal complications, and the need for transparency in AI-generated content. In conclusion, ChatGPT has several potential applications in the medical and healthcare fields. However, these applications come with several limitations and ethical considerations which are presented in detail along with future prospects in medicine and healthcare.

Holzinger, A., et al. (2019). "Causability and explainability of artificial intelligence in medicine." WIREs Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery 9(4): e1312 https://wires.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/widm.1312 REQUEST ARTICLE

Explainable artificial intelligence (AI) is attracting much interest in medicine. Technically, the problem of explainability is as old as AI itself and classic AI represented comprehensible retraceable approaches. However, their weakness was in dealing with uncertainties of the real world. Through the introduction of probabilistic learning, applications became increasingly successful, but increasingly opaque. Explainable AI deals with the implementation of transparency and traceability of statistical black-box machine learning methods, particularly deep learning (DL). We argue that there is a need to go beyond explainable AI. To reach a level of explainable medicine we need causability. In the same way that usability encompasses measurements for the quality of use, causability encompasses measurements for the quality of explanations. In this article, we provide some necessary definitions to discriminate between explainability and causability as well as a use-case of DL interpretation and of human explanation in histopathology. The main contribution of this article is the notion of causability, which is differentiated from explainability in that causability is a property of a person, while explainability is a property of a system This article is categorized under: Fundamental Concepts of Data and Knowledge > Human Centricity and User Interaction

Kaul, V., et al. (2020). "History of artificial intelligence in medicine." Gastrointestinal Endoscopy 92(4): 807-812 https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0016510720344667 REQUEST ARTICLE

Artificial intelligence (AI) was first described in 1950; however, several limitations in early models prevented widespread acceptance and application to medicine. In the early 2000s, many of these limitations were overcome by the advent of deep learning. Now that AI systems are capable of analyzing complex algorithms and self-learning, we enter a new age in medicine where AI can be applied to clinical practice through risk assessment models, improving diagnostic accuracy and workflow efficiency. This article presents a brief historical perspective on the evolution of AI over the last several decades and the introduction and development of AI in medicine in recent years. A brief summary of the major applications of AI in gastroenterology and endoscopy are also presented, which are reviewed in further detail by several other articles in this issue of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy.

van der Vegt, A., et al. "Why clinical artificial intelligence is (almost) non-existent in Australian hospitals and how to fix it." Medical Journal of Australia n/a(n/a) https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.5694/mja2.52195 REQUEST ARTICLE

In-hospital clinical artificial intelligence (AI) encompasses learning algorithms that use real-time electronic medical record (EMR) data to support clinicians in making treatment, prognostic or diagnostic decisions. In the United States, the implementation of hospital-based clinical AI, such as sepsis or deterioration prediction, has accelerated over the past five years,¹ while in Australia, outside of digital imaging-based AI products, nearly all hospitals remain clinical AI-free zones. Some would argue this is a good thing, both prudent and sensibly cautious given the wide ranging ethical, privacy and safety concerns;^2, 3 others contend our consumers are missing out on important interventions that save lives and improve care.^4, 5 In this perspective article, we argue that in-hospital clinical AI excluding imaging-based products (herein referred to as “clinical AI”) can improve care and we examine what is preventing clinical AI uptake in Australia and how to start to remedy it.

BOOKS

AI in Clinical Medicine by Michael F. Byrne (Editor); Nasim Parsa (Editor); Alexandra T. Greenhill (Editor); Daljeet Chahal (Editor); Omer Ahmad (Editor); Ulas Bagci (Editor)
Call Number: Print Book

ISBN: 9781119790648

Publication Date: 2023

AI IN CLINICAL MEDICINE An essential overview of the application of artificial intelligence in clinical medicine AI in Clinical Medicine: A Practical Guide for Healthcare Professionalsis the definitive reference book for the emerging and exciting use of AI throughout clinical medicine. AI in Clinical Medicine: A Practical Guide for Healthcare Professionals is divided into four sections. Section 1 provides readers with the basic vocabulary that they require, a framework for AI, and highlights the importance of robust AI training for physicians. Section 2 reviews foundational ideas and concepts, including the history of AI. Section 3 explores how AI is applied to specific disciplines. Section 4 describes emerging trends, and applications of AI in medicine in the future. Readers will find that this book: Describes where AI is currently being used to change practice, and provides successful cases of AI approaches in specific medical domains. Dives into the actual implementation of AI in the healthcare setting, and addresses reimbursement, workforce, and many other practical issues. Addresses some of the unique challenges associated with AI in clinical medicine including ethical issues, as well as regulatory and privacy concerns. Includes bulleted lists of learning objectives, key insights, clinical vignettes, brief examples of where AI is successfully deployed, and examples of potential problematic uses of AI and possible risks. From radiology, to pathology, dermatology, endoscopy, robotics, virtual reality, and more, AI in Clinical Medicine: A Practical Guide for Healthcare Professionals explores all recent state-of-the-art developments in the field. It is an essential resource for a general medical audience across all disciplines, from students to clinicians, academics to policy makers.
Artificial Intelligence Applications for Health Care by Mitul Kumar Ahirwal; Narendra D. Londhe; Anil Kumar
Call Number: Print Book

ISBN: 9781032148465

Publication Date: 2022-04-01

This book takes an interdisciplinary approach covering health care, cognitive computing, and artificial intelligence. Data sets related to biomedical signals (ECG, EEG, EMG) and images (X-rays, MRI, CT) are explored, analyzed, and processed.

E-Books

Intelligence-Based Cardiology and Cardiac Surgery by Anthony C. Chang (Editor); Alfonso Limon (Editor); Robert Brisk (Editor); Francisco Lopez- Jimenez (Editor); Louise Y Sun (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9780323905343

Publication Date: 2023-09-07

Intelligence-Based Cardiology and Cardiac Surgery: Artificial Intelligence and Human Cognition in Cardiovascular Medicine provides an especially timely multidisciplinary and comprehensive survey of artificial intelligence concepts and methodologies. It includes real-life applications in adult and pediatric cardiovascular medicine, spanning the life span from fetus to adult. Led by a senior cardiologist-data scientist and supported by renowned data scientists and cardiac clinicians with an ardent passion for artificial intelligence in cardiovascular medicine, the book provides a clinical interface between the medical and data science domains that is symmetric and realistic. The content consists of basic concepts and applications of artificial intelligence and human cognition in cardiology and cardiac surgery. This portfolio ranges from big data to machine and deep learning, as well as cognitive computing and natural language processing in cardiac disease states such as heart failure, hypertension, and pediatric cardiac care. Artificial intelligence tools are described from the intensive care unit setting to other venues, such as the outpatient clinic, catheterization laboratory, and operating room. Future applications in related areas, such as large language models, extended reality, and digital twins, are also discussed. The book encompasses more than 50 chapters written by cardiologists or cardiac surgeons. Each chapter provides sections on the current state of the art and future directions and concludes with major takeaways. A robust compendium of practical resources, such as a comprehensive glossary, best references, and other resources, is also included. The book narrows the knowledge and expertise chasm between data scientists, cardiologists, and cardiac surgeons, inspires these clinicians to embrace artificial intelligence methodologies, and educates data scientists about the cardiac ecosystem to create a transformational paradigm for cardiovascular healthcare that improves patient outcomes.
An Introduction to Ethics in Robotics and AI. by An Introduction to Ethics in Robotics and AI.
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9783030511104

Publication Date: 2020

This open access book introduces the reader to the foundations of AI and ethics. It discusses issues of trust, responsibility, liability, privacy and risk. It focuses on the interaction between people and the AI systems and Robotics they use. Designed to be accessible for a broad audience, reading this book does not require prerequisite technical, legal or philosophical expertise. Throughout, the authors use examples to illustrate the issues at hand and conclude the book with a discussion on the application areas of AI and Robotics, in particular autonomous vehicles, automatic weapon systems and biased algorithms. A list of questions and further readings is also included for students willing to explore the topic further.
Translational Application of Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare by Sandeep Reddy (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9781032200880

Publication Date: 2023

In the era of 'Algorithmic Medicine', the integration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in healthcare holds immense potential to address critical challenges faced by the industry. Drawing upon the expertise and experience of the authors in medicine, data science, medical informatics, administration, and entrepreneurship, this textbook goes beyond theoretical discussions to outline practical steps for transitioning AI from the experimental phase to real-time clinical integration. Using the Translational Science methodology, each chapter of the book concisely and clearly addresses the key issues associated with AI implementation in healthcare. Covering technical, clinical, ethical, regulatory, and legal considerations, the authors present evidence-based solutions and frameworks to overcome these challenges. Engaging case studies and a literature review of peer-reviewed studies and official documents from reputed organizations provide a balanced perspective, bridging the gap between AI research and actual clinical practice.

E-journals

AI magazine
AI Magazine is an open-access journal, published quarterly in March, June, September, and December by Wiley on behalf of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI).

The purpose of AI Magazine is to disseminate timely and informative expository articles that represent the current state of the art in AI and to keep its readers posted on AAAI-related matters. The articles are selected to appeal to readers engaged in research and applications across the broad spectrum of AI. Although some level of technical understanding is assumed by the authors, articles should be clear enough to inform readers who work outside the particular subject area.

Web Resources

AI Clinical Use Guide

The clinical use guide and associated safety scenarios support clinicians, together with their patients, in using AI safely and responsibly in patient care and are structured to support the steps of ‘before you use’, ‘while you use’ and ‘after you use’ AI tools.

Artificial Intelligence : Pragmatic AI guidance for clinicians / [online resource : website]

Sydney : Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare, 2025.

Artificial Intelligence (AI) : strategy, policy and practical resources guiding Artificial Intelligence in government / [online resource : website]

Haymarket :Digital NSW,2025

Artificial Intelligence (AI) is transforming how we work and the government services we provide for the people of NSW. It presents significant opportunities to enhance productivity, drive economic growth, and improve the way we live and work. While the NSW Government must be ready to embrace these opportunities, we must do so in a safe, ethical, and responsible way. Transparency about the information and approaches we use is also critical to maintaining public trust in government.

Meeting your professional obligations when using Artificial Intelligence in healthcare / [online resource : website]

Sydney :Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency,2024

Safeguarding healthcare podcast series / [online resource : podcast]

24th April 2024 AI deceptions in healthcare

Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators (RACMA)