The Emergency Medicine FACEM Training program equips emergency practitioners to become consultants in emergency medicine. The program is flexible, can be undertaken within five years, and provides trained supervisors, relevant assessments and robust examination.
For more information on FACEM Training and Support and exams Click FACEM Training programs and FACEM examination webpages.
The NSW Emergency Medicine (EM) Training Program offers trainees a coordinated, networked approach to training that brings together EM trainees, hospital specialists and the Australasian College of Emergency Medicine (ACEM) to ensure that the on-the-job training available in NSW is the best on offer in Australia. Training is delivered in 40 ACEM accredited hospitals across the state, offering EM trainees access to high quality education and training under the governance of HETI’s Emergency Medicine State Training Council (EMSTC) read more
Camden and Campbelltown Hospitals Emergency Department webpage includes a wealth of information such as Polices and Guidelines, Handbooks, Clinical Exam, current Research/clinical trials running in the hospital and more resources. The webpage is accessible via Intranet only.
CIAP has collected links to Podcast and Media on a number of Emergency care such as critical care, EM cases, paediatric emergency medicine... .
ACEM Educational Resources including ACEM-developed modules and general materials recommended by FACEMs and trainees are accessible to ACEM members.
Here is a list of recommended Readings for Emergency Medicine exams.
Emergency Medicine by
Gordian Fulde AO, a mainstay of emergency medicine in Australia, continues to author this indispensable reference along with Sascha Fulde and a considered selection of influential emergency medicine clinicians. The strength of Emergency Medicine undoubtedly lies with its combination of expertise, experience and contemporary content. This premier text offers accessible evidence-based clinical management and treatment advice that can be incorporated seamlessly into the daily demands of the emergency medicine environment. The comprehensive scope of content coverage ensures readers - both students and clinicians - are well equipped with the practical nous to succeed in the demanding world of emergency medicine. Coverage of important controversies with evidence-based recommendations. Editor comments contained in relevant chapters to provide clinical tips and advice for practice Broad range of topical issues covered Practical rapid reference appendix Detailed glossary and index Enhanced eBook version included with purchase Comprehensively updated with contributions from more than 60 notable emergency medicine clinicians 26 new chapters, with new topics including pain management, caring for Indigenous patients, emergency medicine in a rural setting, sexual assault and domestic violence, common misses in x-ray, and CT ordering and interpretation Increased coverage of topical issues such as deep vein thrombosis (economy class syndrome) and street drugs A focus on a career in emergency medicine, lifestyle, wellness and success
Emergency Medicine Reports' LLSA Exam Study Guide 2022 by
Inside this edition of Emergency Medicine Reports' LLSA Exam Study Guide 2022 you'll find:* Digital study guide for easy studying whenever, wherever* Key study points for each article in an easy-to-read format* Full text for most articles on the 2022 LLSA reading list** Opportunity to earn up to 25 ACEP Category I credits and 25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits(tm)* Easy, convenient way to earn CME online from your home or office, plus electronically receive your credit letter instantlySamples of topics covered in Emergency Medicine Reports' LLSA Exam Study Guide 2022 include:* Cardioversion for uncomplicated acute atrial fibrillation* Acute headache evaluation and management* Breastfeeding patients in the ED* Imaging in suspected renal colic* Cerebral intraparenchymal hemorrhage* Updates in pediatric advanced life support* Procedural sedation with propofol* Pulmonary embolism diagnosis* Anticonvulsant medications for status epilepticus* Cardiac syncope*Relias Media makes every effort to include the full text from all of the articles as designated by ABEM. However, due to copyright restrictions, some articles may not be available for inclusion. When articles cannot be included, Relias Media will include a link to the article when the author or publication permits. In all cases, the physician editor will provide important study points to remember and CME questions.
Examination Emergency Medicine by
Examination Emergency Medicine is a detailed fellowship exam guide to assist emergency medicine trainees; it is intended as a guide to supplement material available from ACEM and covers the preferred nature and format of question types that has evolved - for example a shift towards using photos that show clinical problems, rather than equipment or therapies in the VAQ section. style consistent with other titles in the 'Examination" series content and layout practical and relevant with sufficient detail to ensure substantial knowledge covers general aspects about preparing for the Fellowship Examination, followed by information about the individual written and clinical components. example questions and template answers for the written examination provides an overview of clinical reasoning and clinical examination technique detailed description of neurological examination
Examination Medicine by
"Preparation is the key to success" Now in its seventh edition, Examination Medicine: a guide to physician training, has prepared generations of Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians (FRACP) candidates and medical students for their written and clinical examinations. Instructive, informative and aligned with current practice, this new edition provides an overview of what to expect and what is expected of you. It shares valuable advice on how to prepare for the examinations, use your time to best effect and avoid common pitfalls. In addition, this text provides: .nbsp;- 50 practice long cases including history, examination, investigations and treatment .nbsp;- sample long cases from the examiner's perspective including typical points likely to be raised in discussion and clinical traps candidates may fall into .nbsp;- 30 practice short cases including examples of typical X-rays and scans, providing guidance for 'spot' diagnosis and outlining a system for examination .nbsp;- hint boxes highlighting common pitfalls and useful tips. Examination Medicine: a guide to physician training 7e continues to be a valued resource for medical students, outlining the key skills and qualities your examiner expects. It ensures you give your best possible performance in your examinations. Building on the strengths of previous editions, the seventh edition also includes video tutorials on conducting short and long cases via Student Consult.nbsp;nbsp; Please note that access to Student Consult is available only with purchase of this print copy. Also available for separate purchase to enrich your learning experience: .nbsp;- An interactive enhanced eBook containing all the content from this edition plus embedded video.nbsp; Or .nbsp; - A standard eBook containing content from the print edition. Please note that access to Student Consult is not available for purchase of the eBook
Oh's Intensive Care Manual by
For nearly 40 years, Oh's Intensive Care Manual has been the quick reference of choice for ICU physicians at all levels of experience. The revised 8th edition maintains this tradition of excellence, providing fast access to practical information needed every day in today's intensive care unit. This bestselling manual covers all aspects of intensive care in sufficient detail for daily practice while keeping you up to date with the latest innovations in the field. New coverage of the latest developments in ICU imaging techniques, including ultrasound. New information on the latest advances in ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) for cardiac and respiratory failure, ARDS, septic shock, neurologic disorders, muscle function, and hemodynamic therapy. New co-editor Dr. Jonathan Handy shares his knowledge and expertise on acid-base disturbances during critical illness, critical care transfers, intravenous fluid therapy, cardiovascular physiology, burn management, sepsis, and the immunological impact of surgery and burn injury. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care by
Comprehensive, detailed, and up to date, Roberts and & Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7th Edition, provides highly visual coverage of both common and uncommon procedures encountered in emergency medicine and acute care practice. It clearly describes the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, in addition toand recommends other emergency or acute care procedures that may be an option. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, the 7th Edition remains the most well-known and trusted procedures manual in its field Provides clear, detailed information for practitioners at all levels of experience, - from trainees who are unfamiliar with a specific procedure to those with experience in the technique. Covers the latest equipment, devices, drug therapies, and techniques you need to know for the effective practice of emergency medicine and acute care. Features new and updated information on ultrasound throughout the text, including Ultrasound Boxes that are expertly written and richly illustrated with photographs and clinical correlative images. Includes more Procedure Boxes that allow you to see entire procedures at a glance, functioning as a mini-atlas that allows you to quickly grasp how to perform a procedure. Contains more than 100 new figures-of more than 3,500 images total-including new color photographs, new Ultrasound Boxes, and new algorithms. Features a new chapter on Procedures in the Setting of Anticoagulation. Covers hot topics such as novel loop abscess drainage technique, ENT techniques, and ophthalmology techniques, as well as procedures performed by acute care practitioners such as sedation of the agitated patient, alternate methods of drug delivery, and common errors and complications in the acute care setting. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also have access to nearly 250 procedural videos.
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice by
For nearly 40 years, Rosen's Emergency Medicine has provided emergency physicians, residents, physician assistants, and other emergency medicine practitioners with authoritative, accessible, and comprehensive information in this rapidly evolving field. The fully revised 10th Edition delivers practical, evidence-based knowledge and specific recommendations from clinical experts in a clear, precise format, with focused writing, current references, and extensive use of illustrations to provide definitive guidance for emergency conditions. With coverage ranging from airway management and critical care through diagnosis and treatment of virtually every emergency condition, from highly complex to simple and common, this award-winning, two-volume reference remains your #1 choice for reliable, up-to-date information across the entire spectrum of emergency medicine practice. Offers the most immediately clinically relevant content of any emergency medicine resource, providing diagnostic and treatment recommendations and workflows with clear indications and preferred actions. Contains eight entirely new chapters covering coronaviruses/COVID-19, the morbidly obese patient, human trafficking, sexual minority (LGBTQ) patients, social determinants of health, community violence, and humanitarian aid in war and crisis. Features over 1,700 figures, including more than 350 new anatomy drawings, graphs and charts, algorithms, and photos. Includes new information across the spectrum of emergency care, such as adult and pediatric airway management, shock, pandemic disease, emergency toxicology, sepsis syndrome, resuscitation, medical emergencies of pregnancy, the immunocompromised patient, child abuse, pediatric sedation, pediatric trauma, and more. Features revised and refined chapter templates that enhance navigation, making it easy to find key information quickly. Provides access to more than 1,200 questions and answers online to aid in exam preparation, as well as two dozen new video clips showing how to best perform critical emergency procedures in real time. Reviewed and verified cover-to-cover by a team of expert clinical pharmacists to ensure accuracy and completeness of all drug information and treatment recommendations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine by
Since the first edition of Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine was published twenty years ago, there has been enormous change in the way emergency care is delivered. This has occurred both in countries where emergency medicine was originally developed and in those where its application was limited because of cost. Emergency medicine is now perceived as the cornerstone of response to acute illness regardless of resources. This fully revised Fifth Edition provides clear and consistent coverage of this constantly evolving specialty. Building on the success of previous editions it covers all the major topics relevant to the practice of emergency medicine. The book will prove invaluable to professionals working in this setting - including nurse specialists and paramedics - who require concise, highly practical guidance, incorporating the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines. This edition comes with an enhanced electronic version with video and self-assessment content, providing a richer learning experience and making rapid reference easier than ever before, anytime, anywhere. A comprehensive textbook of adult emergency medicine for trainee doctors - covers all the problems likely to present to a trainee in the emergency department. Chapters are highly readable and concise - boxes summarise chapter key points and highlight controversial areas of treatment. The content is highly practical, clinically orientated and thoroughly updated in all the core subjects There have been major updates in topics such as airway, shock and sepsis where guidelines have changed rapidly. The imaging chapters have also evolved with changing practice and improved technology, to be concordant with evidence on the importance of image interpretation by emergency clinicians. There are major sections on other skills and issues of key importance to today's advanced emergency medicine practitioner, such as staffing, overcrowding, triage, patient safety and quality measures. In addition, difficult topics such as death and dying, the challenging patient, ethics, giving evidence and domestic violence are covered. Governance, training, research and organisational subjects such as disaster planning and response, humanitarian emergencies and refugee medicine are included to give the reader a framework to understand the complexity of managing major emergency systems of care.
Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine - 3rd ed. by 
Textbook of Paediatric Emergency Medicine - 4th ed. by 
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine: a Comprehensive Study Guide, 9th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The long-awaited new edition of the world's most widely used and highly regarded textbook and reference of emergency medicine A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine is THE essential resource for everyone working in, and teaching emergency medicine. The Ninth Edition provides the depth and breadth of coverage that reflects the complexity and expertise needed to practice emergency medicine in today's fast-paced environments. This comprehensive text is an important clinical resource for physicians, residents and students, advance practice providers, emergency nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. It is a necessary resource for in-training and board examinations, and recertification. Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine covers everything from prehospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic and advanced resuscitative techniques, to all the significant medical, traumatic, and environmental conditions requiring emergency treatment in adults, children and neonates. Highlights of the Ninth Edition: * Full-color design with more tables than ever to succinctly present key information * Extensive updates to all sections, incorporating the latest clinical and evidence-based information * Online access to over 100 videos, covering a wide range of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and POCUS for obstetric/gynecologic, pediatric, musculoskeletal, and vascular conditions * World-class pediatric section on the care of neonates, infants, and children * Expanded chapters on the management of gynecologic and obstetric conditions and emergencies * Updated information on toxicologic and environmental emergencies * Contemporary, concise discussion of ED identification and treatment of opioid use disorders * Updated information on procedural sedation * Expert advice on the management and care of transgender patients * Latest information available on neurologic and cardiac emergencies From the reviews of the seventh edition: "Collectively, they have once again produced an excellent text that manages to cover the broad scope of emergency medicine while remaining an easily readable and practical resource....Last, for the inevitable comparison of this current edition of Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine with other available emergency medicine textbooks available: in my opinion, Tintinalli's still comes out on top. It is more concise and easier to read than some, yet it covers the breadth of emergency medicine practice more comprehensively than others....Just as previous editions did, the seventh presents all of the most pertinent and up-to-date information in a well-organized format that is comprehensive yet easy to read. That and many of the attractive new features in this current edition will ensure its place on my bookshelf for years to come."―JAMA
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Examination and Board Review by 
