Psychiatry training is a postgraduate medical course for doctors. Trainees who successfully complete the program are eligible to become Fellows of the RANZCP (FRANZCP). This qualifies them to practise independently as consultant psychiatrists in Australia or New Zealand.
The Fellowship Program takes a minimum of 60 months full-time equivalent (FTE) to complete. During the training period, trainees work as registrars in hospitals and clinics, where they are supervised by experienced psychiatrists. Read more
Trainees in the RANZCP Fellowship Program must successfully complete all the following College-administered assessments to obtain Fellowship. Read more about the examinations here.
Case Files Psychiatry, Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Sixty high-yield psychiatry cases helps students sharpen their diagnostic and problem-solving skills The Case Files series is an award-winning learning system proven to improve shelf-exam scores and clerkship performance. Unlike other books on the market, this series helps students learn in the context of real patients instead of simply memorizing. Case Files Psychiatry teaches students how to improve their diagnostic and problem-solving skills as they work through sixty high-yield clinical cases. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, and USMLE-style review questions with answers. The fifth edition has been updated to include a new Case Correlations feature which highlights differential diagnosis and related cases in the book, andNEW CASES highlighting DSM-V diagnostic entities.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.
DSM-5® Self-Exam Questions by
DSM-5 Self-Exam Questions: Test Questions for the Diagnostic Criteria elucidates DSM-5 through self-exam questions designed to test the reader's knowledge of the new edition's diagnostic criteria. Mental health professionals, ranging from clinicians and students to psychiatric nurses and social workers, will benefit from this substantive text's 300-plus questions. This book is a "must have" for anyone seeking to fully understand the changes brought about by the groundbreaking launch of DSM-5. Some of the book's most beneficial features include: * Self-exam questions and cases designed to test the reader's knowledge of conceptual changes to DSM-5 (e.g., autism spectrum disorder), specific changes to diagnoses (e.g., the integration of childhood disorders within main disorders), and diagnostic criteria (e.g., the diagnostic criteria for major depressive disorder and bipolar disorders).* Questions about each diagnosis in DSM-5, including the proposed diagnoses in Section III, which enable readers to teach themselves about new and potential future diagnoses.* A contrast of DSM-5 diagnoses with DSM-IV-TR to assist readers in quickly learning about the changes in diagnostic classes and criteria.* Short answers that explain the rationale for each correct answer (diagnostic criteria sets from DSM-5 are included as appropriate, and readers are directed to DSM-5 for further information).* Question answers containing important information on diagnostic classifications, criteria sets, diagnoses, codes, and severity, dimension of diagnosis, and culture, age, and gender. Straightforward, practical, and illustrative, DSM-5 Self-Exam Questions: Test Questions for the Diagnostic Criteria will successfully test and broaden the DSM-5 knowledge of all mental health professionals.
Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry by
Already a foundational resource in the field, Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry has been updated in the third edition, including the latest research and clinical advances. An expanded chapter on telehealth acknowledges the changes and challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic and also discusses e-mental health options that support primary care providers, who are often the front line in mental health treatment. Two completely new chapters on pediatric consultation liaison psychiatry examine the history, clinical practice models, scope of interventions, and pharmacological considerations that are relevant to treatment of medically ill children and those seen in primary care--more important than ever, with the significant increase in the number of children with mental health care needs who are seen by pediatricians. In addition, readers will find thorough, DSM-5-aligned insight from dozens of experts on: * Neurodevelopmental and other psychiatric disorders, including disorders affecting somatic function, with clinical descriptions, epidemiology, risk factors, diagnosis, treatment options, and more* A full range of psychosocial treatments, including those focused on both individuals and families, as well as therapeutic milieus and systemic models of care* The principles and application of psychopharmacology, from antidepressants to antipsychotic medications to mood stabilizers and medications for ADHD* Specialized issues, including cultural and religious considerations, gender and sexual diversity, and legal and ethical issues Each chapter features summary points for ease of reference and extensive references for continued study. Working with young patients, who are changing and evolving with age throughout the course of treatment, and their families presents very real and distinct challenges. This latest edition of Dulcan's Textbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry provides child and adolescent psychiatrists, pediatricians, family physicians, general psychiatrists, child neurologists, psychologists, advanced practice nurses, psychiatric social workers, and other practitioners the depth and breadth of knowledge needed to treat children and adolescents effectively.
Kaplan & Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry 12th ed. by
Accurate, reliable, objective, and comprehensive,it has long been the leading clinical psychiatric resource for clinicians, residents, students, and other health care professionals both in the US and worldwide, including sections on diagnosis, psychopathology and psychiatric conditions, treatment across the lifespan, and therapy and other interventions.Includes numerous case studies and presents the most current treatment methods including descriptions of all modern psychotherapeutic techniques.
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry by
50th Anniversary Edition The cornerstone text in the field for 50 years, Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry has consistently kept pace with the rapid growth of research and knowledge in neural science, as well as biological and psychological science. This two-volume Tenth Edition shares the expertise of over 600 renowned contributors who cover the full range of psychiatry and mental health, including neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacology, and other key areas. It remains the gold standard of reference for all those who work with the mentally ill, including psychiatrists and other physicians, psychologists, psychiatric social workers, psychiatric nurses, and other mental health professionals. New authors bring a fresh perspective to many topics, keeping you at the forefront of current developments in the field. Thoroughly updated coverage of neural sciences, with new sections on epigenetics, the microbiome, systems neuroscience, the Human Connectome Project, neurodevelopment, and many more.
The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry by
The Maudsley® Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry The new edition of the world-renowned reference guide on the use of medications for patients presenting with mental health problems The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry is the essential evidence-based handbook on the safe and effective prescribing of psychotropic agents. Covering both common and complex prescribing situations encountered in day-to-day clinical practice, this comprehensive resource provides expert guidance on drug choice, minimum and maximum doses, adverse effects, switching medications, prescribing for special patient groups, and more. Each clear and concise chapter includes an up-to-date reference list providing easy access to the evidence on which the guidance is based. The fourteenth edition has been fully updated to incorporate the latest available research, the most recent psychotropic drug introductions, and all psychotropic drugs currently used in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Japan. Several new sections cover topics such as deprescribing of major psychiatric drugs, prescribing psychotropics at the end of life, the treatment of agitated delirium, the genetics of clozapine prescribing, the use of weekly penfluridol, and the treatment of psychotropic withdrawal. Featuring contributions by an experienced team of psychiatrists and specialist pharmacists, the new edition of The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry: Provides succinct coverage of drug treatment of psychiatric conditions and formulating prescribing policy in mental health Covers a wide range of psychiatric conditions including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression and anxiety, borderline personality, eating disorders, and many others Provides advice on prescribing for children and adolescents, older people, pregnant women, and other special patient groups Offers new sections on genetic prescribing, long-acting injectable formulations, ketamine administration and uses, and dopamine super-sensitivity Includes referenced information on off-label prescribing, potential interactions with other substances such as alcohol, tobacco, and caffeine, and treating patients with comorbid physical conditions Whether in the doctor's office, in the clinic, or on the ward, The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry, Fourteenth Edition is a must-have for psychiatrists, pharmacists, neuropharmacologists, clinical psychologists, nurses, and other healthcare professionals working in mental health, as well as trainees and students in medicine, pharmacy, and nursing.
New Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry by
Over its two editions, The New Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry has come to be regarded as one of the most popular and trusted standard psychiatry texts among psychiatrists and trainees. Bringing together 146 chapters from the leading figures in the discipline, it presents a comprehensive account of clinical psychiatry, with reference to its scientific basis and to the patient's perspective throughout.The New Oxford Textbook ofPsychiatry, Third Edition has been extensively re-structured and streamlined to keep pace with the significant developments that have taken place in the fields of clinical psychiatry and neuroscience since publicationof the second edition in 2009. The new edition has been updated throughout to include the most recent versions of the two main classification systems---the DSM-5 and the ICD-11---used throughout the world for the diagnosis of mental disorders.In the years since publication of the first edition, many new and exciting discoveries have occurred in the biological sciences, which are having a major impact on how we study and practise psychiatry. In addition, psychiatry hasfostered closer ties with philosophy, and these are leading to healthy discussions about how we should diagnose and treat mental illness. This new edition recognises these and otherdevelopments.Throughout, accounts of clinical practice are linked to the underlying science, and to the evidence for the efficacy of treatments. Physical and psychological treatments, including psychodynamic approaches, are covered in depth. The history of psychiatry, ethics, public health aspects, and public attitudes to psychiatry and to patients are all given due attention.
Psychiatric Interviewing by
- Print purchase includes enhanced Expert Consult eBook with over 7.5 hours of streaming video; quickly search text, figures, references, and videos on laptops, tablets, and smart phones - With time at a premium, today''s clinicians must rapidly engage their patients while gathering an imposingly large amount of critical information. These clinicians appropriately worry that the "person" beneath the diagnoses will be lost in the shuffle of time constraints, data gathering, and the creation of the electronic health record. Psychiatric Interviewing: The Art of Understanding: A Practical Guide for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, Counselors, Social Workers, Nurses, and other Mental Health Professionals, 3rd Edition tackles these problems head-on, providing flexible and practical solutions for gathering critical information while always attending to the concerns and unique needs of the patient. Over five years in the making, this classic introduction to the art of clinical interviewing returns, updated, expanded and innovatively designed for today''s reader with over 7.5 hours of streaming video integrated directly into the text itself. Readers now also become viewers, acquiring the rare opportunity to see the author both illustrating specific interviewing techniques and subsequently discussing effective ways in which to employ them. The founder and Director of the acclaimed Cape Cod Symposium, Rob Guerette, describes Dr. Shea''s skills as a speaker as follows, "Dr. Shea is an extremely gifted teacher, whose vibrant story-telling skills and compelling videos have led to him garnering some of the highest evaluations in the 30 year history of the Cape Cod Symposium. In short, readers are in for a rare treat when viewing the book''s video component." Within the text, Dr. Shea deftly integrates interviewing techniques from a variety of professional disciplines from psychiatry to clinical psychology, social work, and counseling providing a broad scope of theoretical foundation. Written in the same refreshing, informal writing style that made the first two editions best sellers, the text provides a compelling introduction to all of the core interviewing skills from conveying empathy, effectively utilizing open-ended questions, and forging a powerful therapeutic alliance to sensitively structuring the interview while understanding nonverbal communication at a sophisticated level. Updated to the DSM-5, the text also illustrates how to arrive at a differential diagnosis in a humanistic, caring fashion with the patient treated as a person, not just another case. Whether the reader is a psychiatric resident or a graduate student in clinical psychology, social work, counseling or psychiatric nursing, the updated third edition is designed to prepare the trainee to function effectively in the hectic worlds of community mental health centers, inpatient units, emergency rooms, and university counseling centers. To do so, the pages are filled with sample questions and examples of interviewing dialogue that bring to life methods for sensitively exploring difficult topics such as domestic violence, drug abuse, incest, antisocial behavior, and taking a sexual history as well as performing complex processes such as the mental status. The expanded chapter on suicide assessment includes an introduction to the internationally acclaimed interviewing strategy for uncovering suicidal ideation, the Chronological Assessment of Suicide Events (CASE Approach). Dr. Shea, the creator of the CASE Approach, then illustrates its techniques in a compelling video demonstrating its effective use in an interview involving a complex presentation of suicidal planning and intent A key aspect of this text is its unique appeal to both novice and experienced clinicians. It is designed to grow with the reader as they progress through their graduate training, while providing a reference that the reader will pull off the shelf many times in their subsequent career as a mental health professional. Perhaps the most unique aspect in this regard is the addition of five complete chapters on Advanced and Specialized Interviewing (which comprise Part IV of the book) which appear as bonus chapters in the accompanying e-book without any additional cost to the reader. With over 310 pages, this web-based bonus section provides the reader with essentially two books for the price of one, acquiring not only the expanded core textbook but a set of independent monographs on specialized skill sets that the reader and/or faculty can add to their curriculum as they deem fit. New and Expanded Content: Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices Bonus chapter on advanced aspects of cross-cultural interviewing, including approaches for recognizing clinician biases and exploring the client''s spirituality and framework for meaning Bonus chapter on motivational interviewing Bonus chapter on transforming patient anger and moments of potential disengagement Bonus chapter for prescribing clinicians -- such as psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse clinicians -- on how to collaboratively talk with patients about their medications Includes over 7.5 hours of video illustration and instruction Brings to life the pain and phenomenology of people coping with severe mental illnesses, such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and major depressive disorder An entire chapter on engaging patients with difficult personality disorders, such as borderline personality disorder and narcissistic personality disorder A new and unique chapter covering often overlooked areas, such as positive psychology and methods for uncovering client wellness and strengths Extensive chapter on nonverbal communication, including the complex challenges related to interviewing on the web by text and/or tele-psychiatry A comprehensive introduction to facilics (an innovative supervision system for helping clinicians learn how to transform interviews into naturalistically flowing conversations), including an interactive web-based self-learning module on facilic supervision schematics for both faculty and students Practical tips for creating a good EHR/write-up, in addition to sample clinical forms for EHR/written documentation A specialized appendix for faculty, which includes four complete articles from the Psychiatric Clinics of North America that address educational topics including: effectively designing interviewing training courses and macrotraining suicide assessment skills
Shorter Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry by
Widely recognized as the standard text for trainee psychiatrists, the Shorter Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry stands head and shoulders above the competition. The text has been honed over seven editions, displaying a fluency, authority, and insight rarely found in textbooks which makes theprocess of assimilating information effective and enjoyable.The book provides an introduction to all the clinical topics, sub-specialties, and major psychiatric conditions required by the trainee psychiatrist. Throughout, the authors emphasize the basic clinical skills required for full assessment and understanding of the patient. Discussion of treatmentincludes not only scientific evidence, but also practical problems in the management of patients in a family and social context.Full attention to ethical and legal issues is given within the evidence-based approach to practice provided in the text. Introductory chapters focus on recognition of signs and symptoms, classification and diagnosis, psychiatric assessment, and aetiology. Further chapters deal with all the majorpsychiatric syndromes, as well as providing detailed coverage of pharmacological and psychological treatments. The book gives equal prominence to ICD and DSM classifications - often with direct comparisons - making the book relevant to the practice of psychiatry throughout the world.Boasting greater use of summary boxes, tables, and lists within a new modern design, the Shorter Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry remains the most up-to-date secondary level textbook of psychiatry available. The extensive bibliography has been brought up-to-date and there are targeted reading lists foreach chapter. The Shorter Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry fulfils all the study and revision needs of psychiatric trainees, but will also prove useful to medical students, GPs, qualified psychiatrists, and those in related fields who need to be kept informed with current psychiatric practice.
