RACS Education and Training page includes information on eLearning Courses and Resources, Skills training courses, Professional development courses, ... .
RACS conducts examinations for pre-vocational doctors, Surgical Education and Training (SET) Trainees and Specialist International Medical Graduates (SIMG). Information on each of the examinations including how to apply and prepare for them is included in the links below. Potential candidates are urged to contact the relevant specialty training board to ensure they are aware of the requirements of entry, their SET program or SIMG Specialist Assessment and their eligibility to present.
Click RACZ clinical examination to find more about the types of the exams structure, recommended Readings and Trainee resources.
Bailey & Love's short practice of surgery, 28th edition, by 
Churchill's Pocketbook of Surgery by
The Fifth Edition of this highly-praised and bestselling pocketbook continues to deliver a concise and didactic account of the essential features of all common surgical disorders. The book covers fundamental principles as well as providing basic information on aetiology, diagnosis and management, including pre-operative and post-operative care. The text includes an overview of history-taking, relevant physical signs, differential diagnosis, investigations and practical treatment. The book provides comprehensive coverage of general surgery but in addition covers the basic needs of the medical student and those in the early years of postgraduate training as far as the surgical specialities are concerned. Presented in portable small format in two colours with line drawings and radiological images. The text is succinct and clearly structured with extensive use of headings to guide the reader. Covers all the major surgical specialties. Contains outlines of common operations such as appendicectomy and thyroidectomy. Contains an introductory chapter on consent, medicolegal issues, statistics and clinical audit. Contains a checklist of emergency situations for quick reference. The text has been extensively re-written by a team of senior specialist surgical registrars or newly appointed consultants. Over 50 new illustrations of line drawings are included as well as updated radiological images. New hints and tips sections have been added.
Clinical Problems in Medicine and Surgery by
Clinical Problems in Medicine and Surgery is a departure from traditional medical textbooks in that it deals with the real problems of clinical medicine through scenarios encountered in the emergency department, on the wards and in outpatient clinics. The book comprises 55 real-life medical scenarios to illustrate important everyday principles in clinical medicine. For this new Third Edition the successful format of case presentation, interspersed with questions and answers, and a final synopsis of key material, has been retained, while new cases have been added and the many useful web-links updated.
Fundamental Skills for Surgery. 3rd edition by
A comprehensive manual on the key principles and techniques in basic surgery, explaining the uses of different surgical instruments as well as presenting step-by-step methods of how to apply them. This second edition updated in conjuction with the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons to be use as a recommended text.
Hunt & Marshall's Clinical Problems in Surgery by
Is surgery required? Is the patient effectively communicating symptoms to make the correct clinical diagnosis? Clinical Problems in Surgery, 3rd Edition supports medical students in applying clinical reasoning to problems they encounter in a clinical setup.
Individual chapters are dedicated to specific regions of the body where surgeons encounter most of the problems. The content structure follows the logical step-by-step process of introducing a clinical problem; seeking history and conducting physical examination; diagnosing the patient and devising a treatment plan based on this informed diagnosis.
MCQs and EMQs in Surgery by
With over 1000 essential questions, MCQs and EMQs in Surgery is the ideal self-assessment companion guide to Bailey & Love's Short Practice in Surgery, 26th edition. The book assists trainee surgeons as they prepare for examinations and enables them to test their knowledge of the principles and practice of surgery as outlined in Bailey & Love. Divided into 13 subject-specific sections and written by expert contributors, the MCQs and EMQs provide comprehensive coverage of the current surgical curriculum as well as the core learning points as set out in Bailey & Love. The book is ideally suited for the MRCS exam as well as for the first part of the FRCS (General Surgery) and the new Intercollegiate FRCS (International) exams. The book emphasises the importance of self-assessment within effective clinical examination and soundly based surgical principles while taking into account the latest developments in practice. This new edition includes many new contributors and enhanced chapters with answers provided in much greater detail. While the book is closely aligned with the content of the celebrated Bailey & Love, it also performs well as a standalone self-test guide and may be used independently. MCQs and EMQs in Surgery provides an invaluable revision tool for all candidates studying for the MRCS and FRCS exams.
MCQs and Short Answer Questions for Surgery by
This text has been designed as a supplement to the Textbook of Surgery to assist readers in their preparation for examinations and to test their knowledge of the principles and practice of surgery.
Principles and Practice of Surgery by
This comprehensive textbook is the surgical companion to the international bestseller, Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine. It provides an overview of core surgical topics encountered in an integrated medical curriculum and, later, in the clinical setting. The book takes a succinct and practical approach to the understanding of surgical disease and care of the surgical patient. It offers comprehensive coverage of the key surgical specialties and includes emerging issues around patient safety and the critical importance of clinical human factors in surgical practice. Fully updated to reflect changes in understanding and evidence-based practice, this is a text that keeps the student up to date and that no trainee surgeon should be without. Easy to read, logical to follow Summary boxes and evidence boxes throughout to complement the text Superbly presented with line drawings, high quality radiographic images and colour photographs to help in exams and in the clinical setting. Aligned with undergraduate and postgraduate surgical curricula New chapters on professional and ethical responsibilities, global surgery, patient safety and clinical human factors Comprehensive information on global surgical practice Full online and eBook version available as part of Student Consult
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery by
For more than 80 years, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice has been the go-to text for trainees and surgeons at all levels of experience for definitive guidance on every aspect of general surgery. As the oldest continuously published textbook of surgery in North America, this fully revised 21st Edition continues to provide the key information, essential teaching pearls, and completely updated content needed to make the most informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for patients. Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips. Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Features more than 2,000 superb illustrations and intraoperative photographs and 25 procedural videos that facilitate quick comprehension of surgical techniques. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Shares the expertise of dozens of new authors and includes two new chapters on robotic surgery and fetal surgery. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Textbook of Surgery by
Textbook of Surgery is a core book for medical and surgical students providing a comprehensive overview of general and speciality surgery. Each topic is written by an expert in the field. The book focuses on the principles and techniques of surgical management of common diseases. Great emphasis is placed on problem-solving to guide students and junior doctors through their surgical training.
