The following source is a thorough guide on the training programs and exam resources and recommended Readings list for Anaesthesia trainees.
The educational material within BJA Education is provided by the British Journal of Anaesthesia and it is accredited by the Royal College of Anaesthetists as an approved CPD activity.
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide by
Edited and written by leading educators, this popular book for the anesthesiology rotation has been thoroughly updated and retains its distinctive case-based approach. The Second Edition features a thorough revision of the discussion of ventilator management, improved coverage of extubation criteria, and the latest guidelines and algorithms for preoperative assessment. Considerations for quality improvement and patient safety have been expanded throughout the book. Anesthesia Student Survival Guide provides a complete introduction to the specialty and is aimed at medical and nursing students as well as practitioners in critical care who seek a succinct overview of anesthesiology. From reviews of the First Edition: "...an excellent resource for the student wanting a deeper understanding of what is essentially a post-graduate subject, for example, an elective student." --British Journal of Anaesthesia "This is an excellent introduction to the specialty for third-year medical students, covering a broad range of material at a sufficient depth to be useful, and providing a good structure for a comprehensive course of self-directed study." --Doody's Review Service "The writing style is uniformly strong, which makes the book easy to read....[It] serves not only as an excellent resource for students and other learners seeking an introduction to anesthesia but also as a platform for teaching the basics. It will be a welcome addition to the libraries of teaching departments." --Canadian Journal of Anesthesia
Anesthesiology: a Problem-Based Learning Approach by
This new volume for the Anesthesiology Problem-Based Learning series reviews topics in general anesthesiology utilizing the PBL approach. Each chapter deals with conditions and problems in anesthesia practice presented as a case stem with questions to encourage critical thinking, followed by an evidence-based discussion and multiple-choice questions for self-assessment.
Anesthesiology in-Training Exam Review by
Focused on rotations in regional anesthesia and chronic pain, this book provides a structured review of the concepts covered in the American Board of Anesthesiology in-training exam. The first section of the book covers regional anesthesia with dedicated chapters on basic science, acute postoperative pain, and nerve blocks for neuraxial, lower and upper extremity blocks, and head and neck. The second section on chronic pain includes chapters on basic science and common pain conditions - including craniofacial pain, CRPS, neuropathic pain, and cancer pain. This section closes on multimodal analgesia and other treatment approaches. Each chapter presents a common clinical topic and is organized by indications, preparation, technique, complication, prevention, clinical pearls, and related ABA key points. Highlights must-know information in bold throughout the text. Concise, practical, and easy-to-read, this book will aid anesthesiology residents, certified nurse anesthetists, and medical students in their study regarding patient care practices on regional anesthesia and chronic pain. The book will also be useful to residents going into regional anesthesia and pain medicine subspecialties during the year of their anesthesiology training.
Anesthesiology Resident Manual of Procedures by
This book describes in concise yet detailed step-by-step instructions on how to perform common procedures, including complex airway management, vascular access, neuraxial blocks, and nuanced anesthetic techniques; it not only covers this breadth of procedures, but presents them in an accessible manner. Chapters follow the format of the indications for a particular procedure, a list of equipment required, step-by-step instructions for performing the procedure, common complications, and troubleshooting techniques. The book is designed intentionally for the busy physician to be able to easily read the essential information, including lists of equipment necessary, numbered steps to perform the procedure, tables of common errors and methods to troubleshoot, indications and contraindications for procedures, detailed photos of equipment setup, and handmade diagrams and images. Anesthesiology Resident Manual of Procedures is comprehensive and written with the physician-in-training in mind, as well as those who are completing their residency or fellowship in the fields of anesthesiology, critical care medicine, and emergency medicine.
Basic Anesthesiology Examination Review by
Basic Anesthesiology Examination Review is a high-yield, streamlined study aid specifically designed for Anesthesiology residents preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) Basic Anesthesiology Exam. Chapters deliver succinct and efficiently communicated summaries of all contentlisted in the ABA exam outline, plus highlighted key facts, mneomnics, and relevant images and diagrams. Chapters conclude with board-style practice questions and annotated answers, followed by key references and further reading. With this book as a guide, readers will be able to efficiently preparefor the Basic Anesthesiology Examination and master the key facts and concepts that provide the scientific roundation for the practice of Anesthesiology.
Faust's Anesthesiology Review by
Authored by current and former physicians at the Mayo Clinic, Faust's Anesthesiology Review, 5th Edition, combines comprehensive coverage of essential anesthesiology knowledge with an easy-to-use format, reflecting the latest advances in the field. This outstanding review tool offers concise content on everything needed for certification, recertification, or as a refresher for anesthesiology practice, covering a broad range of important and timely topics. Save valuable time with this trusted resource as you master the latest advances, procedures, guidelines, and protocols in anesthesiology. Provides in-depth, yet succinct clinical synopses of all topic areas found on the ABA/ASA exam, with the perfect amount of information to ensure exam success. Contains 28 new chapters, including Blood Product Conservation, Tranexamic Acid Use in Orthopedic Surgery, Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation, Cardiovascular Opioids, Anesthesia for Patients with Rheumatoid Arthritis, Neurointerventional Anesthesiology, and the Perioperative Surgical Home. Features a new chapter on Sugammadex, the neuromuscular reversal drug that is changing anesthesia practice; a new chapter on Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) protocols; and up-to-date information on opioid dependence. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management: Self-Assessment and Review by 
How to Survive in Anaesthesia by
The first few months as a trainee anaesthetist are a daunting prospect, filled with new information, skills and terminology. This concise reference, now in its fifth edition, provides doctors with a clear introduction to the practice. Fully updated and split into four key parts for quick consultation, the reader can recap on the airway and anaesthetic equipment, and find crucial advice on crises such as cardiac arrest, haemorrhage and blood transfusion. Part III focuses on subspecialties, with new chapters on obstetric anaesthesia, common regional nerve blocks, and laparoscopy, while the newly added fourth part provides information on intensive care and peri-operative medicine. Written in an accessible and often humorous style, How to Survive in Anaesthesia is an essential resource in learning the safe fundamentals of the practice for trainee anaesthetists, as well as operating department practitioners, physicians' assistants and anaesthetic nurses.
Miller's Anesthesia, 2-Volume Set by
Covering everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and current clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia, 9th Edition, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of global experts who bring you the most up-to-date information available on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day - whether you're preparing for the boards, studying for recertification, or managing a challenging patient care situation in your practice. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature. Addresses timely topics such as neurotoxicity, palliation, and sleep/wake disorders. Streamlines several topics into single chapters with fresh perspectives from new authors, making the material more readable and actionable. Features the knowledge and expertise of former lead editor Dr. Ronald Miller, as well as new editor Dr. Kate Leslie of the University of Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of anesthetic drugs, guidelines for anesthetic practice and patient safety, new techniques, step-by-step instructions for patient management, the unique needs of pediatric patients, and much more - all highlighted by more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos. The initial printing of Miller's Anesthesia, 9e contained a dosage error in chapter 26, "Intravenous Drug Delivery Systems," on page 771, Table 26.5 (Manual Infusion Schemes). A maintenance infusion of Dexmedetomidine was mistakenly reported as 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/min instead of 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/hr (or 0.005-0.015 mcg/kg/min). As of October 2, 2020 all stock has been corrected. If you find that you have a book with this error please contact publisher for correction sticker.
Miller's Anesthesia Review by
Encompassing all anesthesia topics from basic to advanced, Miller's Anesthesia Review, 3rd Edition, by Drs. Lorraine M. Sdrales and Ronald D. Miller, is an ideal study guide to assess your knowledge and deepen your understanding. This easy-to-use resource is conveniently cross-referenced to the newest edition of Miller & Pardo: Basics of Anesthesia. Hundreds of questions cover everything from physiologic and pharmacologic principles through anesthetic machine systems, anesthetic delivery in a variety of settings, and anesthesia administration for a full range of disease states. Corresponds to Miller & Pardo's Basics of Anesthesia to help you make the most of your study time and learn more efficiently. Provides immediate feedback with detailed answers to each question at the end of every chapter, cross-referenced to specific pages in Basics of Anesthesia. Includes new chapters on Neurotoxicity of Anesthesia, Palliative Care, Sleep Medicine, and Perioperative Surgical Home. Brings you fully up to date with revised questions throughout, progressing logically from basic to advanced topics. Covers hot topics such as Implantable Cardiac Pulse Generators, Anesthesia for Robotic Surgery, Perioperative Blindness, Human Performance and Patient Safety, and Civil, Chemical, and Biological Warfare. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Yao and Artusio's Anesthesiology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Case-based and easy to use, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management is the bestselling study and review reference preferred by both residents and practicing anesthesiologists. The revised Ninth Edition prepares you for the oral and written boards with more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management. Fully revised throughout, including new coverage of hypertension geriatric anesthesia, enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), postoperative cognitive dysfunction (POCD) and updated references for further study and clarification. A consistent chapter format includes: presentation of a case; questions on medical disease and differential diagnosis, preoperative planning and preparation, intraoperative management, and postoperative management; and complete answers and discussion of the case. Problem-based approach emphasizes critical thinking, collaborative decision making, and problem-solving skills. Ideal for oral board and continuing education preparation. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
