Australian Medical Council Exams and Resources - Medical Qualifications and Exams - Resources - LibGuides at South Western Sydney Local Health District

AMC Examinations and Resources

The Australian Medical Council Limited (AMC) is an independent national standards body for medical education and assessment. Its purpose is to ensure that the standards of education, training and assessment of the medical profession promote and protect the health of the Australian community.

The AMC is appointed under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law Act 2009 as the external accreditation authority for medicine. They operate under the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (NRAS) working with the Medical Board of Australia and AHPRA.

International medical graduates wishing to practice medicine in Australia have various pathways to registration. The AMC manages the assessment process for the Standard Pathway. In order to obtain an AMC Certificate candidates must pass the AMC CAT MCQ Examination and the AMC Clinical Examination or Work-based assessment (WBA).

See the AMC website for Resources for international medical graduates

Aboriginal and / or Torres Strait Islander Health and Cultural Safety

See the AMC website for relevant websites and online resources

Aboriginal primary health care : an evidence-based approach, 3rd ed. by Sophia Couzos and Richard Murray
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780195551389
Publication Date: 2008
The third edition of Aboriginal Primary Health Care is an invaluable advocacy tool for students and practitioners of medicine and aboriginal health. Using a primary care approach, it aims to help general practitioners, nurses and aboriginal health workers to manage the important health problems faced by aboriginal people in the community.
Australia's Rural, Remote and Indigenous Health by Janie Dade Smith
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780729542418
Publication Date: 2018-01-31
A practical guide to the delivery of health care in rural and remote Australia. Drawing on personal experiences of rural and remote practitioners, historical accounts, literature analysis and epidemiology. This frank and engaging text examines the economic, social and political forces that shape healthcare in rural and remote Australia.

General Practice

See the AMC website for relevant websites and online resources

Clinical Cases for General Practice Exams, 4e by Susan Wearne
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781743767450
Publication Date: 2019
This fourth edition continues with the role-play style of the highly regarded previous editions. Inspired by real-life patient presentations, the cases allow learners to practise their clinical examination skills. Each case includes instructions for the exam candidate, role-playing patient and case facilitator. The text is perfect for medical students and doctors training to be general practitioners. All cases have been reviewed and updated. Problem-based learning scenarios encourage critical thinking, communication and compassionate care in consultation, treatment and management. Case Commentaries and Common Pitfalls reinforce key points and important issues raised by cases.
John Murtagh's General Practice, 8th ed. by Murtagh
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781743768235
Publication Date: 2022
Widely recognised as the gold standard reference for general practice and primary health care. Its emphasis on the importance of clinical reasoning, early diagnosis and treatment makes this the essential reference for medical students, trainees and general practitioners.
Murtagh's Practice Tips, 8th ed. by Murtagh, John and Coleman, Justin
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781743767429
Publication Date: 2019
Murtagh's Practice Tips is a collection of basic diagnostic and therapeutic skills that can be used in the offices of general practitioners throughout the world. The application of these simple skills makes the art of the profession more interesting and challenging, in addition to providing rapid relief and cost-effective therapy to patients.

Medicine

See the AMC website for relevant websites and online resources

Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine by Ian D. Penman (Editor); Stuart H. Ralston (Editor); Mark W. J. Strachan (Editor); Richard Hobson (Editor)
Call Number: WB 100/DAV/24
ISBN: 9780702083471
Publication Date: 2022
Now in its 24th Edition, this thoroughly updated textbook describes the pathophysiology and clinical features of the most frequently encountered conditions in the major specialties of adult medicine, and explains how to recognise, investigate, diagnose and manage them. Taking its origins from Sir Stanley Davidson's much-admired lecture notes, Davidson's has endured because it keeps pace with how modern medicine is taught and provides a wealth of trusted information in an easy-to-read, concise and beautifully illustrated format.
Talley & O'Connor's Clinical Examination : A systematic guide to physical diagnosis - 9th ed by Nicholas J Talley, Simon O'Connor
Call Number: WB 200/1c - 2 volumes
ISBN: 9780729544382
Publication Date: 2022
The text takes an evidence-based, patient-centric approach to conducting a clinical examination. In Volume 1, readers follow a logical framework ordered by body system, covering history taking, clinical examination and correlation between physical signs and disease for each system. Volume 2 focuses on medical specialties.

Prescribing

See the AMC website for relevant websites and online resources

Australian Medicines Handbook
Available via CIAP with a NSW Health staff login. A national formulary - independent, evidence-based guide for Australian practitioners.
Therapeutic Guidelines
Available via CIAP with a NSW Health staff login. Therapeutic Guidelines are written principally for prescribers to provide clear, practical, succinct and up-to-date therapeutic information for a range of diseases. Widely respected and an accepted part of the Australian medical culture.

Paediatrics

See the AMC website for relevant websites and online resources

Paediatric Handbook, 10th ed. by Kate Harding (Editor); Daniel S. Mason (Editor); Daryl Efron (Editor)
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781119647072
Publication Date: 2021-01-05
The Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne Paediatric Handbook is a trusted guide to managing common and serious childhood illnesses and disorders. This bestselling resource provides students and practitioners across medical, nursing, and allied health fields with authoritative and up-to-date information on a comprehensive range of paediatric topics, enabling readers to make the appropriate decisions at the point of care.
Practical Paediatrics, 7th ed. by Michael South; David Isaacs
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780702042928
Publication Date: 2012-07-25
**Note date ** This is the seventh edition of a highly regarded, major textbook of paediatrics. Empahasis on differential diagnosis from a presenting-problem point of view.. Covers the social and preventative aspects of child health Covers the common diseases of childhood and their treatment with a presenting-problem approach Contextualises the disease in description of social, genetic and epidemiological factors.

Professionalism and the Australian health care system

See the AMC website for relevant websites and online resources

Good medical practice: professionalism, ethics and law - 4th ed . by Australian Medical Council
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781938182679
Publication Date: 2016
The primary purpose of this book – published by the Australian Medical Council – is to provide, in a single source, information that is central to the professional, ethical and legal requirements of being a doctor. It covers a core curriculum for medical students, doctors in training and international medical graduates coming to work in Australia.
Understanding the Australian Health Care System by Louise Reynolds; Deborah Debono; Joanne Travaglia
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780729544825
Publication Date: 2024-06-03
A sound understanding of Australia's complex health system is essential for all health professionals who work and collaborate with others in delivering health care. The fifth edition of Understanding the Australian Health Care System provides a comprehensive and accessible overview of the structure of the health system, its various functions and the various roles within it.

Psychiatry

See the AMC website for relevant websites and online resources

Foundations of Clinical Psychiatry by Michael Robertson; Sidney Bloch; Stephen A. Green; Aleksandar Janca; Philip B. Mitchell
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780522870954
Publication Date: 2017-01-03
Foundations of Clinical Psychiatry is the trusted introductory text for students of medicine and other health professions, including psychiatric nursing, psychology, social work and occupational therapy. It has also been the essential reference for family doctors for over quarter of a century.
A Guide to Psychiatric Examination by Carmelo Aquilina (Editor); Gavin Tucker (Editor)
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780729543972
Publication Date: 2021-11-07
This concise multidisciplinary guide is for anyone working with people with mental health conditions, covering the techniques needed for a good psychiatric interview and preparing them for specific groups, presentations and settings. Covers key topics such as risk assessments, managing difficult encounters, home visits and practising safely. Includes insights into how it feels to be interviewed written by a patient.
Kaplan and Sadock's Concise Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry, 5th ed. by Robert Boland; Marcia Verduin
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781975167486
Publication Date: 2022-03-22
It contains the most relevant clinical material from Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry, 12th Edition, including the foundational chapters on assessment, the disorder specific chapters, and all of the treatment-specific chapters among other essential topics such as emergency psychiatry, ethics, and palliative/end-of-life care.
Management of Mental Disorders by Gavin Andrews; Kimberlie Dean; Margo Genderson; Caroline Hunt; Philip Mitchell; Perminder Sachdev; Julian Trollor
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9781490463018
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
An innovative book that provides practical guidance in recognizing and treating mental disorders. Outlines the steps required for proper assessment and focuses on how to implement the many effective treatments that are now available. This book also includes resource materials, such as outcome measures, worksheets, and information pamphlets for individuals with mental disorders and their families. Management of Mental Disorders is a publication of the Clinical Research Unit for Anxiety and Depression (CRUfAD), University of New South Wales (UNSW) School of Psychiatry at St Vincent's Hospital, Sydney, Australia.
A Primer of Clinical Psychiatry, 2nd ed. by David Castle; Darryl Bassett; Joel King; Andrew Gleason
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780729541572
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
Provides a broad overview of the major topics in psychiatry and provides the clinical skills necessary for competent clinical practice. It also includes an up-to-date overview of the scientific literature behind this fascinating and challenging medical discipline.

Surgery

See the AMC website for relevant websites and online resources

Basic Science for the MRCS by Michael S. Delbridge; Wissam Al-Jundi
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780702085406
Publication Date: 2022-05-03
A concise revision guide to the core basic sciences for all surgical trainees preparing for Part A of the Intercollegiate MRCS examination. Covering the essential facts for anatomy, physiology and pathology, with indications of both their clinical relevance and importance. Focusing on the recurring examination themes for initial surgical training, this title is designed for the basic surgical trainee as well as proving useful for those in higher surgical training and for the surgically-inclined, well-motivated student.
Pocket Companion to Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease by Richard N. Mitchell; Vinay Kumar; Abul K. Abbas; Jon C. Aster
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780323653909
Publication Date: 2023-02-14
Offering rapid, portable access to key concepts and principles of pathology from Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease, 10th Edition, this up-to-date Pocket Companion makes it easy to locate essential information on the go. The condensed, at-a-glance format, organized to parallel the parent text, is ideal for quick review—anytime, anywhere.

Women's Health

See the AMC website for relevant websites and online resources

Beischer and MacKay's Obstetrics, Gynaecology and the Newborn by Michael Permezel; Susan Walker; Kypros Kyprianou
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780729540742
Publication Date: 2015-09-11
Beicher & MacKay's Obstetrics, Gynaecology and the Newborn, 4th Edition is an update of the highly acclaimed Obstetrics and the Newborn, 3rd Edition and Illustrated Textbook of Gynaecology. It is the most up-to-date resource in Obstetrics and Gynaecology targetting those with fundamental understanding of ;this subject area and is written from the Australian perspective with incorporation of the latest RANZCOG guidelines. Experts throughout Australia and New Zealand have contributed content on the most prevalent topics encountered by obstetricians; gynaecologists and neonatologists today, ranging from global and indigenous reproductive health; sexual assault; gynaecological oncology through to neonatal assessment, malformations and transport.
Llewellyn-Jones Fundamentals of Obstetrics and Gynaecology - 11th ed, by Jeremy J. N. Oats; Jacqueline Boyle
Call Number: Print book
ISBN: 9780702083013
Publication Date: 2022-12-28
Regarded as the leading textbook in obstetrics and gynaecology for over 50 years, Fundamentals of Obstetrics and Gynaecology is an ideal introduction to the basic principles of this specialty for medical students, trainees, midwives and nurses. Intervention rates continue to climb; women in the developed world embark on pregnancy later in life and with more complex medical disorders. The need to know and apply the best available standards of care is ever more critical.

Medical journals

AMC advice regarding journal articles [Accessed 10/3/25]

"While candidates may find it useful to review the major textbooks in the key clinical disciplines, the questions in the MCQ examination are oriented towards the more common clinical applications, differential diagnosis and therapeutics, and candidates should take care when using major reference type textbooks.

Candidates may find it more useful to review medical journals that contain useful review articles and summaries of the identification, treatment and management of the more common clinical conditions in the Australian community."

SWSLHD staff have access to key journal databases via CIAP including Pubmed, Medline, Embase and others. SWSLHD Libraries subscribe to additional journal resources, particularly the ProQuest Hospital Collection and CINAHL full-text. You will need an Athens account to access SWSLHD resources and there is a link from the Library website to request one. Your friendly Library staff can help you find relevant journal articles.

Finding journal articles via databases

Have you tried our new CLIN Libraries website - our improved one stop shop to search across all the Libraries' and CIAP's online resources?

Access from a personal device:
You can use your StaffID to access NSW Health CIAP resources off-site.
SWSLHD CLIN Library subscriptions are accessed via an Athens account.

CIAP Databases This link opens in a new window
CIAP provides access to a number of databases which enable NSW Health staff and students on placement to conduct literature searches. These include:
* Medline (Medicine | Nursing | Dentistry | Preclinical Science)
* Embase (Biomedical | Pharmaceutical | Health Policy | Nursing) - particularly strong for European content
* Emcare (Nursing | Allied Health)
* PsycINFO (Psychology | Education | Behaviour)
* Proquest (Nursing & Allied Health)
* PubMed (US National Library of Medicine - open access records)
* Maternity & Infant Care
* Lit Search (Lowitja Institute) (Aboriginal and Torrres Strait Islander focus)
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is an authoritative nursing and allied health database containing full text for many of the most used journals found in the index. Access via Athens - SWSLHD CLIN Libraries' subscription
Medline via CIAP This link opens in a new window
Medline is the US National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic medical database that contains more than 28 million references to journal articles in life sciences. Articles are indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MESH) which enable sophisticated and precise searches.
Proquest Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes books and journal articles relevant to medicine, nursing, allied health, psychology, health management and administration and public health. Access via Athens - SWSLHD CLIN Libraries' subscription.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.