The RACGP Fellowship exams assess a candidate’s competency for unsupervised general practice anywhere in Australia.
The links within this page guide candidates through the resources available to assist them to prepare for the exams, learn about the exam policies, enrol in the exams, and understand the results.
The Doctor's Communication Handbook by 
The General Practice: Clinical Cases by 
The General Practice: Written Exams by 
Oxford Handbook of General Practice - 5th edition. by 
Abuse and violence: working with our patients in general practice, 5th ed.- (White book) by 
General practice management of type 2 diabetes : a handbook for general practice by 
Guidelines for preventive activities in general practice - 2021 revision by 
National Guide to a Preventive Health Assessment for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People - 3rd ed, by 
Supporting smoking cessation: a guide for health professionals - 2nd ed. by 
Clinical Cases for General Practice Exams, 4e by
This fourth edition continues with the role-play style of the highly regarded previous editions. Inspired by real-life patient presentations, the cases allow learners to practise their clinical examination skills. Each case includes instructions for the exam candidate, role-playing patient and case facilitator. The text is perfect for medical students and doctors training to be general practitioners. All cases have been reviewed and updated. Problem-based learning scenarios encourage critical thinking, communication and compassionate care in consultation, treatment and management. Case Commentaries and Common Pitfalls reinforce key points and important issues raised by cases.
Clinical Cases for General Practice Exams, 4e by
This fourth edition continues with the role-play style of the highly regarded previous editions. Inspired by real-life patient presentations, the cases allow learners to practise their clinical examination skills. Each case includes instructions for the exam candidate, role-playing patient and case facilitator. The text is perfect for medical students and doctors training to be general practitioners. All cases have been reviewed and updated. Problem-based learning scenarios encourage critical thinking, communication and compassionate care in consultation, treatment and management. Case Commentaries and Common Pitfalls reinforce key points and important issues raised by cases.
John Murtagh's patient education (Ed. 8th ed.) by
In this book there are major updates to women's health topics such as domestic violence, the combined pill, endometriosis and comprehensive coverage of cervical cancer screening and HPV. Among the new topics are - the infections: listeria, toxoplasmosis and Zika virus; the genetic disorders: cystic fibrosis and spinal muscular atrophy (SMA); body mass index and BMI ready reckoner and fertility awareness, and family planning. A reorganisation of content has also created an expanded mental health section including drugs of addiction.
John Murtagh’s General Practice Companion Handbook, 8e by
This companion handbook is a condensed version of the parent text. It is written in response to requests from the many general practitioners, registrars and students who believed that it would be very useful to have a pocket-sized summary of General Practice, which could be carried around during work hours in particular. The companion gives an alphabetical presentation of the vast majority of common problems-especially the nitty-gritty problems presenting in routine practice.
Murtagh's Cautionary Tales (Ed. 3rd Edition.) by
To practise medicine is a privilege, to practise it well is a difficult challenge, but not to learn from one's mistakes is unforgivable.Cautionary Tales is a collection of authentic case histories encountered over 50 years of practising medicine, especially by John Murtagh and his wife, Jill Rosenblatt, during 10 years of intense yet wonderful, general practice in a country area of Victoria, Australia. It was their privilege to be the sole practitioners to a hard-working farming community of 2700 people. The practice was located in a small township with a twelve-bed Bush Nursing Hospital. The area, which was mountainous bushland with a snow resort, was popular with tourists. Many of the tales pertain to the experience of knowing their patients so well-both professionally and personally. They reflect the intensely human side of our calling and to share them is a special privilege. It is also appropriate to ponder on the humorous side of some of our experiences as well as the inevitable tragic outcomes for so many that we remember with sadness.
Murtagh's General Practice 8e by
John Murtagh's General Practice is the gold standard reference for established doctors and new graduates and students in the fields of general practice and primary health care. This new edition is completely revised and expanded, including * New diagnostic strategies for common presenting problems * Significant updates on sexual health and cervical cancer screening * Updated information on mental health diagnosis and treatment This seventh edition builds on its influential legacy and has been thoroughly updated by the experienced author team, including new authors who bring a new generation of knowledge and diagnostic expertise to this authoritative title.
Murtagh's Practice Tips (Ed. 8th ed.) by
Murtagh's Practice Tips is a collection of basic diagnostic and therapeutic skills that can be used in the offices of general practitioners throughout the world. The application of these simple skills makes the art of the profession more interesting and challenging, in addition to providing rapid relief and cost-effective therapy to patients.
