The objective of the Vocational Training Program (VTP) is to produce a specialist ophthalmologist who, on completion of training, is equipped to undertake safe, unsupervised, comprehensive, general ophthalmology practice.
The College envisages an “ideal training system” in which the best Trainees are selected and appointed, and then undergo high quality training experiences. Systems have been developed to capture feedback to and from all parties involved in training and assessment. This feedback enables continuous quality improvement of the training system. Read more
The College conducts a progressive assessment throughout the training process comprising formative and summative components. This includes comprehensive examinations that trainees must satisfactorily complete to progress through each stage of the Vocational Training Program (VTP). Each examination is aligned with one or more of the curriculum standards.
Curriculum performance standards underpin all training and assessment. These standards document the skills, knowledge and behaviours that a trainee must attain by the end of the Vocational Training Program (VTP). An overview of the VTP and its assessment requirements and all other standards, including examination standards, can be found here.
Case Reviews in Ophthalmology by
The case study format used in Case Reviews in Ophthalmology, 2nd Edition has been proven to be a highly effective way to incorporate medical knowledge with clinical judgment - resulting in the best possible results on practical exams. More than 140 relevant cases cover every aspect of the field: optics/refraction; neuro-ophthalmology/orbit; pediatrics/strabismus; external disease/adnexa; anterior segment; and posterior segment. Large photos highlight each case, enhancing your knowledge and reinforcing key aspects of diagnosis. Covers the most important and relevant aspects of each topic in a concise, bulleted format for easy recall and effective exam preparation. Highlights the text with hundreds of clinical and histological images, OCT and other current imaging methods, anatomic details, common ophthalmic test findings, and more. Presents the findings of key clinical studies with which you are expected to be familiar. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Expanded to include 30 all-new cases bringing the total to more than 140 illustrated scenarios. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Clinical Evidence in Ophthalmology by 
The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology by
Offering current diagnostic and therapeutic guidance to manage ocular disorders, The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Illustrated Manual of Ophthalmology, 5th Edition, remains the most comprehensive ophthalmology manual available. It provides practical information for efficient diagnosis and treatment decisions in a succinct, quick-reference format. Lavishly illustrated with more than 700 full-color images, this outstanding manual covers clinical descriptions, imaging and testing methods, treatment guidelines, and more, making it useful for ophthalmologists, optometrists, and ophthalmic allied health professionals. Utilizes a highly templated format that includes chapters organized anatomically, in addition to key boxes and highlighted emergency management boxes. Features new sections on infectious uveitis, refractive procedures, toxic maculopathies, color blindness, limbal stem cell deficiency, neurotrophic keratitis, Terson syndrome, age-related choroidal atrophy, Norrie disease, Aicardi's syndrome, and many others. Includes new images throughout, including OCTA images, as well as two new videos on ocular motility testing and one-and-a-half syndrome. Provides diagnostic and therapeutic updates on dry eye, diabetic retinopathy, age-related macular degeneration, hereditary retinal diseases, ocular tumors, idiopathic intracranial hypertension, and more. Contains bonus appendices that provide a wealth of supplemental information helpful for the non-specialist, including guidance on the basics in examination methods, differential diagnosis, common medications, abbreviations, measurements and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Ophthalmology Review by
This new edition provides ophthalmologists and trainees with the latest information and advances in their field. Presented in question and answer format, the book begins with discussion on optics and refraction, followed by genetics and embryology. The next chapters cover the diagnosis and management of disorders in different parts of the eye. The third edition has been fully revised and updated, and new topics added. Authored by a recognised team of experts led by Prof Myron Yanoff from Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, the text is further enhanced by clinical photographs and illustrations. Key points Comprehensive review of latest advances in diagnosis and management of ophthalmic disorders and diseases Presented in question and answer format, fully revised third edition with new topics added Internationally recognised author and editor team Previous edition (9789350255766) published in 2012
